Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing castle hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Greatly enjoyed it. Room was excellent with great bathroom. Views superb. Restaurant dinner ok breakfast great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A real palace near the airport.

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
I chose it to be near the airport, but it is really a palace surrounded by gardens and greenery. Quiet. Good food. Excellent last night in Europe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely location shame about the golf

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful location on a hill above Bilbao is somewhat spoilt by the outlook over netting associated with the golf driving range. Residents are also not allowed to walk over the golf course and there is little other open space other than the car park around the hotel. A door which allows access to a patio outside the indoor pool is locked, and therefore drying of and sunbathing is difficult!
5 out of 5
by Brian from Wareham, Dorset

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed overnight but the hotel, it's staff and facilities, such as we used, were excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful place, very romantic. Staff is very helpful and positive. Only one comments - slippers should be in room
5 out of 5
by David Anthony from Tarragona

Super Country Hotel with Golf.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Anniversary weekend stay in this lovely, traditionally styled country hotel. Very nice people on the front desk made us and our pet dog welcome. We had a ground floor room with a small private garden terrace, perfect for the dog. We had our own transport and found that we could be in Bilbao city centre in about 10 minutes. We decided to take our anniversary evening meal in the hotel restaurant and we felt we had made a great choice, the food and the service were both excellent- Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2016
We enjoyed 2 lovely nights at this hotel prior to getting the ferry from Bilbao back to the UK. I booked this hotel from what I read on Trip Advisor and could not have been more delighted. Apart from the difficulty of not being able to enter the address into the SatNav so needing to call the hotel for directions - which were easy to follow- everything about the hotel was charming. We will definitely be back. Lovely views, staff & food.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Brighton, U.K.

Good value for money

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is grand from the outside although a little less grand inside. This is probably reflected in the price. The room sizes are great and lovely views. The bathroom was a little 'tired' but clean and specious. we asked for extra pillows as there was only one each and these arrived promptly. The staff are friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be an added bonus as there is no where near by and you only have the choice of the bar area.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Bicester

Pre-ferry overnight

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
Really very good on pretty well all points. The only slight niggle is that I felt for a hotel of this general standing, the dinner menu was rather thin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Excellent food in the bar, good value for money. Staff friendly. Ideally situated for touring the Basque region.