Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY metro area

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Nicely decorated, friendly staff, good location.
Location: Located in downtown. Lots of restaurants on next street, also a subway station. Marienplatz is a brisk walk away but subway (Sbahn) is better.
I have seen some bad reviews of this hotel but I was pleasantly surprised. It is a really nice hotel and the staff were as friendly as can be. My room was small but what do you expect in downtown Munich? All hotel facilities were nicely appointed and breakfast was excellent as others have described. Maybe it has been recently renovated but I don't think so. Maybe bad reviewers had a an to grind? I was hoping for an in-room coffee pot but hotels in Europe rarely have that. Room service would be good too but not practical in a small hotel anywhere. I expect small hotels to be friendlier than large ones and that proved to be true here as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Location perfect. Fabulous breakfast buffet. Lovely staff. Will return!
4 out of 5
by MICHAEL

Boutique Hotel in an Excellent Location

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
My family and I spotted this hotel during one of our walks through this particular neighborhood in Munich. We were eager to someday try out the hotel. This past month on a family city trip, we spent only one night here. It was a very nice experience. There is just something special about staying in a family-run boutique hotel. First of all, the location is perfect -- situated in-between the Deutsches Museum and the old town. Many sites and transit stations are only a five-minute walk from the hotel. The hotel serves a very nice traditional breakfast and has a couple of nice gathering areas, including an outdoor patio/garden. The decor and furnishings are tasteful with a hint of vintage charm, and everything is spotless. The hotel staff, most of whom I believe are part of the family, go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. As a minor side note, their underground parking garage is temporarily out of service; however, they provide several spaces in front of the hotel for unloading and a designated and secure parking service just around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicest people ever!

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Staff members made the difference, specially the manager Susan, they made everything easy and pleasent. We were with our 11 month baby and they really treat us well
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, MO

Delightful

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Two nice Resturaunts just down the street. Make sure to make a reservation as they are small Inside. A short walk to the main square and market place.
The staff was great! Answered all our questions about getting around the area. Made dinner reservations for us and called a cab for the following morning back to the airport. Breakfast was great, a very large selection. Unfortunately we were not able to use the patio,(rainy in October) but a very nice addition to the breakfast area. We had no problems with our room, quiet at night as it is in a residential area and office building across the street. Our wifi was fine for what we needed... Checking e-mails and fb. We would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SINGAPORE

Room dated.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
The room is dated, and has very small lift even for two person with luggages . Location is ok but face a road with traffic noise since the window cannot be closed as room has no air -con.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

4 stars?

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: Location.
Location: 15 minute walk to Marienplatz
Perhaps this was 4 star property in 1957 but not today. Compare this...while on holiday do you want to drive a new Mercedes or a classic 1957 Chevrolet? Remember..the 57 Chevy has no AC, no power breaks manual steering etc. Maybe nice for a day but not for a holiday. The Admiral's staff was very pleasant but the property lacks the necessities to claim 4 stars. The lift is just large enough to accommodate one adult with one suitcase. No AC..basic bfast. Decent location 15 minute walk from the main square and tourist spots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Wonderful location, fabulous breakfast, attentive staff and nicely appointed room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Old Europe

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Beautiful hotel, feels like an elegant European home. Staff so kind and helpful, justifiably proud of their property and service. Best breakfast ever! Location is perfect for seeing the sights of Munich. No air conditioning but big windows open and ceiling fans kept us comfortable. We look forward to staying there again!