Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Gem of a hotel at great location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location. The friendliness and efficiency of staff. The breakfast. The comfort of the room.
Cons: Air conditioning (which seems to be an issue at most hotels in Germany!).
Location: Several beer houses and restaurants on Worthstrasse. For daily necessities, there is Lidl opposite hotel and DM inside Ostbahnhof station.
A spotless, immaculate hotel with arty internal decor and run by very friendly and efficient staff. Housekeeping was not only efficient but also thoughtful. The breakfast was not huge but it had the perfect mix of food and drinks, hot and cold. The breakfast room is managed by only one person but we never had to wait 30 seconds before being greeted and served coffee. The room is spacious and very comfy (though the noise of the traffic gets in if windows are opened). Overall, it's an extremely comfy and pleasant hotel. This was our first visit to Munich and the hotel played a big role in making it a success. The hotel is located right outside the Ost Bahnhof, which is a major transport hub with direct links to the airport, city centre and main line trains to regional cities like Innsbruck. There is a tram stop outside the hotel and no 19 takes you to the historical old city centre of Marienplatz in 10 minutes. Or you can walk to the centre through the lovely Haiderhausen neighbourhood and over the Isar river in about 25 minutes (all day trip buses start from outside the huge Karstadt dept store next to Hauptbahnhof station, which the no 19 tram reaches in 15 minutes). Despite having a such major transport hub there, the hotel is in a quiet leafy neighbourhood, dotted with restaurants, bars, ice cream joints and cafes. The station itself is packed with shops and eateries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Boutique hotel located 30min from airport by train

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the clean boutique hotel with modern decor with the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: I would have movie channels and HBO channels offered in English speaking or other channels offered with subtitles in the language required for guests
Location: The location is great for taking the train to and from airport or getting to other locations in Munich. This area is where the locals hangout.
This boutique hotel has modern decor conveniently located next door to the subway with a direct line to the airport by train. It is a 30 min walk to Marienplatz but a short subway ride. The rooms are a good size with great layout and nice decor. Our room didn't have any English channels but my daughter's room had additional channels along with the English speaking channels. The staff are very helpful and friendly. They have a wonderful breakfast offered from 6:30am- 10am. We found it noisy even on the 4th floor with the windows closed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Price per value, it was expensive. Staff was helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel close to transportation

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Stadt Rosenheim. The decor is interesting and they've done a great job bringing new life to an old building. The room (comfort double room) was a bit small, but well designed. However, our room was directly across from Ost Bahnhof - the windows looked out onto it. Because it was pretty hot and there is no air conditioning in the room, we usually had to open the windows to sleep at night, which meant TONS of noise! The room was almost silent with the windows closed, but that wasn't really an option. If you're going in the cooler weather and don't need to open windows, it would be fine. It was convenient to be steps from so many transportation lines, but not worth the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Convenient to travel around Munich

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and clean environment.
Cons: English TV channels and english newspaper to be supplied
Location: Nice neighborhood, beer hall and cafe.
Located near subway & train station. Very nice neighborhood and cosy restaurants around the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location to subway.
Cons: Air conditioners.
Room was nice but nothing like photos. No air conditioning but thankfully it was cool (mid-May) during our visit and opening the windows was sufficient. However, the radiator in the bathroom was on and could not be completely turned off. The hotel breakfast was not worth the 10€. Very continental - minimalist in fact. Best part is that the hotel is directly on top of the Ostbanhof subway stop - very convenient to get around - if you don't get lost down in the subway (very confusing).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Hotel very close to the Ostbahnhof train station

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: An excellent buffet breakfast and welcoming staff. There was not a mini bar in the room but guests had access to free soft drinks.
Cons: General decor make over to modernize the rooms - or at least the room we were in. Blind/curtain in the bathroom required
Location: The location was very handy for the S-Bahn and Ostbahnhof railway station which was just across the road, supermarket and restaurants close by.
The room was very spacious with high ceiling. It included two wash sinks in the main bedroom as well as a large bathroom. The hotel is an old one with large rooms and whilst our room was clean enough it was in need of a makeover. The walls and ceiling were covered in heavy embossed patterned wallpaper. The bathroom was clean but had a huge mottled glass window without blind or curtain. The room had one single bed and two other singles which were pushed together to make a large double. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep since the room was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2015 by Wolfgang Schlicht, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you did like your stay with us. However, we were saddened, that you did not like the Charme Rooms. These specially themed rooms, have retained the charme of the 70ties, with original (!) wallpaper and original (!) furnishings. We would recommend to book a Komfort Room next time, which are our completely renovated rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location. Close to trains , buses and subway

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Free water, soft drinks and snacks.
Location: Close to S trains and U Bahns. One train ride takes you to all the major sites.
The reception staff was amazingly helpful. Very patient and pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great place

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Really nice hotel, fantastic access to the station across the road, staff were friendly and rooms were big and clean. It's about 8 mins by train to the Marienplatz where there are shops, restaurants, local sights etc, so we didn't have an issue catching the train when needed. There was not much to see locally near the hotel. Recommended for a stay in Munich.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city, Utah

It was in a very nice upscale neighborhood.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, price.
The staff was great, and fluent in English. Many nice restaurants close by. Just a 15 - 20 minute walk to Marienplatz & old town. I was very pleased.