Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Hotel Now Poorly Managed

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: In general, the staff is very pleasant and helpful
Cons: Upgrade your management team Replace Wifi and internet provider Replace all card readers in elevators and card writers at Reception Upgrade the beds
Location: English Garden - Christmas Markets (November, December) and Beer Gardens (warm weather)
I have stayed at this hotel four times and it is now poorly managed: 1. Under-staffed lobby during peak registration - long waits, forgotten orders, frustrated staff bickering with each other 2. Poorly trained housekeeping staff - our room had to be changed since we were booked into a room that smelled like cigarette smoke (non-smoking hotel). Either the staff is poorly trained to bring this to attention or they are too intimidated by management to report issues like this. Not acceptable. 3. WiFi is very bad. Do not plan on getting any work done at this hotel. Internet down for hours, sign-in page routinely not available, site bumps you off the network about once an hour, need to re-sign in every 24 hours, very slow speed. This is not the year 2000. Step up your game! 4. Beds are not as comfortable as before (four years ago) 5. Card key readers do not work in every slot in the elevators. In a previous visit, we had to change the cards 4 times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Garth, Thank you for choosing Hilton Munich Park as your hotel in Munich once again. We appreciate your loyalty as well as the time you took to share your open feedback with us via Expedia. I regret to be informed that you were not satisfied with the experience you made during your recent stay at our hotel and I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you described in your review. Please rest assured that I will take up your feedback with my colleagues from the Front Desk and with our Housekeeping team right away in order to make sure we achieve the necessary improvements for the future. Regarding your mention of the WiFi I would like to let you know that we are currently upgrading our entire system to provide our guests with a better connection in every corner of our property. I hope that you accept my sincere apology and it would be a pleasure for me and the whole team to get a chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future in order to change your opinion of us for the better. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, Uk

Nice hotel close to the English Gardens

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The hotel is a perfect base for a weekend away. Located in the English Gardens and a short journey into the city centre. The rooms are large, well maintained and clean. The staff are really helpful and the spa facilities are ok. The only real negative is the price of food and drinks in the hotel. Be aware it is very expensive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ian, thank you for being our guest during your recent trip to Munich. We appreciate the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am more than happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s location next to the English Garden and that you were liked your room. Moreover it was nice for me to be informed that you were content with the levels of cleanliness and service you experienced during your stay with us. I hope you were able to spend a fantastic time in Munich and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Ocktoberfest

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hotel was convenient due to the bus stop right outside the hotel entrance. Enjoyed the park that was very nearby. Beds were a little firm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Melody, Thank you for your recent stay at the Hilton Munich Park and for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am more than happy to hear that you liked our hotel’s location next to the English Garden as well as our good connection to the city’s public transportation system. I hope you had a fantastic time in Munich and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. With warm regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
We were very happy with the location and room. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in Munich. The bus stops right in front of the hotel which will get you to Munchner Freiheit in 10 minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Munich Park as your hotel in Munich and for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel’s location next to the English Garden as well as your room. Moreover it is great for me to read that you were content with our restaurant’s breakfast offer and with our good connection to the city’s public transportation system. I hope you had a fantastic time visiting Munich and it would be my pleasure to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. With warm regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stroud uk

It was a fantastic hotel, nice pool, great staff

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Close to Chinese beergarden and surfers. As it was a heatwave we swam with the current diwn the river. So much fun,
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Munich Park as your hotel in Munich and for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel’s location next to the English Garden and that you took advantage of our proximity to the Eisbach river. I hope you had a pleasant time in Munich and I am looking forward to welcoming you back already. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Munich stay but nothing German about it.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The room sizes were great and the bathrooms very clean! Overall, the hotel cleanliness was great. Patio area is beautiful.
Cons: The pool size The prices for the food and drinks Shuttle Service for guests Eliminate the VIP Lounge and let ALL of your guests enjoy the view.
Location: English garden, Münchner Freiheit, Shopping, Sight Seeing, Eating out, German cuisine! Balcony Furniture or even hooks to hang your swim suit up
The hotel has an excellent connection to the city with the bus stop right in front of the the door or the English garden for a beautiful walk. The lobby is big and clean, unfortunately the noise level and temperature aren't great. If you like experiencing a bit of ''hotel culture'' you have to be prepared to pay. 29.-€ for breakfast or 10.-€ for a drink, which for me made it unenjoyable. The shop in the hotel is completely overpriced! It's very much catered to the Arab community, which means you don't get anything from the German or European culture when you stay here. If you are looking for a nice quiet hotel stay, you are definitely in the wrong place here. Lots of kids and dogs running around, even in the hall ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Munich Park as your hotel in Munich and for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us via Expedia. I am glad to see that you liked our hotel’s location next to the English Garden as well as our good connection to the city’s public transportation system. Moreover it is great for me to be informed that you were content with the size of your room and with the level of cleanliness you experienced at our hotel. Unfortunately it seems that your expectations were not met completely and I am very sorry for that. I hope that you were able to enjoy your stay in Munich nevertheless and it would be my pleasure to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Next to the beautiful park. Great for cycling, walking and relaxing.
We've stayed here before and really love the location and the friendliness of the staff. The rooms we not as clean as on our previous stay which was disappointing. Overall though, we would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Munich Park as your hotel in Munich once again. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and would like to thank you for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am delighted to hear that you liked our hotel’s location next to Munich’s English Garden and that you were content with the level of service you experienced during your stay. Please let me express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you described regarding the cleanliness of your room and rest assured that I will take up this point with my colleagues from the Housekeeping team right away in order to achieve the necessary improvements as soon as possible. I hope you had a pleasant time visiting Munich and I am already looking forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

It was ok nothing special

Posted Jul 15, 2016
When I checked in I advised staff of issue they shrugged shoulderes then AC didn't work asked for it to be fixed no one assisted. Called a second time and he fixed in 5 minutes said he was never called by front desk. Over priced not great value and no wanting to help guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kjm, Thank you for being our guest during your recent trip to Munich and for the time you took to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. Unfortunately it seems that you were not completely satisfied with the experience you made during your stay and I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you described. Please let me assure you that I will take up your feedback with my colleagues right away in order to achieve the necessary improvements as soon as possible. I hope that you were able to enjoy your time in Munich nevertheless and it would be my pleasure to get the chance to change your opinion of us for the better during your next stay. With kind regards from Munich, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, advertising lived up to offerings

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: The people and atmosphere!
Cons: Your restaurant employees. Most were very accommodating, but one gentleman waiter, wears glasses and has beard was terrible!
Clean, pleasant surroundings. Easily reached by Cab, and convenient to visiting locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Munich. We greatly appreciate your decision to share your valued feedback with us via Expedia. I am more than happy to hear that you liked our hotel’s location next to Munich’s English Garden as well as the service our staff provided. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you described and let me assure you that I will take up your feedback with my colleagues from the restaurant right away in order to achieve the necessary improvements for the future. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Munich and it would be my pleasure to get the chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. With kind regards, Erwin Verhoog General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

It wasn't as expected. Not even a 3-star.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: nothing
Location: there is nothing near by.
the Hotel wasn't as I expected. I didn't know that a 5-star hotel could be this bad. The best thing about the whole stay was the breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2016 by Erwin Verhoog, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Naz, Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Munich and for the time you took to share your feedback with us via Expedia. Unfortunately it seems that you were not completely satisfied with the experiences you made at our hotel and I am very sorry to hear that. It is unfortunate that your expectations were not met but you would have certainly helped us to improve if you had included some more details in your review. Please feel free to contact us directly in case you want to catch up on that. I hope that you were able to enjoy your time in Munich nevertheless and I send my best regards from Munich. Erwin Verhoog General Manager