Ratings based on 1,492 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Close to the main station but with easy connections to the rest of the town. Friendly staff, good food for breakfasts and a clean comfortable room. Public areas a bit shabby but not to distract from a comfortable stay - my third here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S. Pasadena

The hotel is next to the train station.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Next to train station.
Cons: More training for the staff.
Location: Walking distance to old town.
The hotel is next to the train station. Easy to access all the transportation. The room is small, the in room safe did not work. The toilet leak water one night and they did not had any person can take care of. The staff don't check the record and did not know if it was that repaired or not. The towel was hung behind the toilet, one day when we can back, they were all felled to the toilet. There is no air condition in the room, avoid to stay there in summer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Close to the main railway station

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Proximity to train station.
Cons: Maybe clean the rooms with more precision and diligence.
Location: Close to almost everything in the city center.
I had an early flight from Munich so I booked here. It was a little bit more low-budget than I had anticipated. It had the feel of a hostel and would probably appeal most to travelers in their twenties. I thought the staff were very pleasant and I, unfortunately, missed the breakfast because of the early flight. My main criticism was the condition of the room. The wall near the bed was stained with something that looked like coffee or coke. I cleaned it up myself but thought that the cleaning staff should have taken care of that. There also was hair and debris on the floor and it looked like it needed a good sweeping and mopping. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom, although extremely small, was clean and functional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This Hotel Stole from my Bank Account~Beware!!!

Posted Jun 14, 2017
I had to cancel my booking on June 11, 2017. I contacted Hotel Amba AND Expedia around noon to notify them. The hotel's policy says that cancellations must be made before 6 pm, in order to get a full refund. Well, Hotel Amba reported me as a "No Show," and charged me the full price of the room. I've spent HOURS going back and forth from this hotel and Expedia to get my proper refund, to no avail. Americans, don't give this Hotel access to your debit or credit card!!! They will take what they want, and you can't fight it. Totally unethical. I'm disgusted with Hotel Amba, & I will never use Expedia again (and I've always been happy w/Expedia in the past. Hotel Amba scammed me and Expedia did not have my back!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Hotel AMBA, Hotel Management
Dear guest, your claims are totally unjustified. Although you knew how to book a room on Expedia, you were not able to cancel it within 6 hours (as you sent several mails on that day, you obviously were online). Your direct contracting partner was Expedia, not the Hotel. Best regards Hotel AMBA
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Australia.

Hot stuffy room.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Close to station.
Cons: Air conditioner or fans in the rooms would make this bearable.
The room was very hot and stuffy. Convenient location close to the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location; walk to the center of the city.

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast; good location. They offered parking.
Cons: Not sure how to reduce noise.
It was noisy at night; street noise due to the city.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Great little place to stay

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is right across street from Train station. Friendly check in. The only issue and this was my fault. No AC. I didn't look ar description of hotel that closely. Most places don't have it, but will look better next time. If just myself traveling I'm staying there again. We kept window open all night. You would think being across street from train station it would be loud, quite the opposite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel badly needs a renovation. The only good thing about this hotel is its convenient location to the Munich train station and tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Had a great stay here. May not be suitable for a long trip, but my 2 nights here were great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the central station, easy to access

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Together with my kids, we stay for one night. The location is great as it is 3 minutes by walking to the central station. The continental breakfast is great, especially for kids. The room and toilette could have been cleaner.