Ratings based on 1,383 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Reasonable stay for price

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Location: 40 minute train from airport to the central station and then a very short walk to hotel. Very close to many good restaurants, shops and sites.
The location is central but location not suitable for families. I felt saver in the daytime, but the evening is typical for a downtown with lots of bars, strip clubs and drunks. Our triple room was warn and in need of maintenance. There were cracks in the tub and curtains off their hooks. In comparison, our friend had a newly renovated room and said it was very nice. Perhaps this is compensation for their error in cancelling his booking in error.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Room was very nice, quiet. Great help from the desk staff.
Cons: Would love mini-bar available. Place to store snacks.
Location: Convenient to everything, inside Munich and outside.
This is the 2nd time I've stayed at Hotel Cristal. IT's a great location, easy to get around Munich and also to get to other areas, near and far, with easy walk to HBH.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Very nice, close to railway station and restaurants. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. U would stay here again. Walking distance to bus tours etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again a next time in our hotel in the heart of Munich. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The worst hotel experience I have ever had

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Difficult to review this hotel rather than the experience. When we arrived they told us they had no rooms for my colleague and I. Rather than deal with this professionally, the staff made out like it was quite funny and unlucky. They had booked us into separate hotels of a lower quality instead. The hotel I ended up in was so smoky and disgusting I literally slept in my clothes to avoid touching the sheets. The Hotel Cristal staff were unprofessional and, frankly, inept. I have asked for a full refund and have heard no answer to my emails or calls. The worst hotel experience I have ever had.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced and terrible bedding

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Staff was rude. Bedding was horrible. The only good thing was the bar tender
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Great location and price. Staff was very friendly and happy to answer questions about Munich and getting around town. Would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again a next time. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Hotel was in a good location for us as we were attending Oktoberfest. Rooms were nice and pleasant. You could argue its close to a busy street where there were a lot of emergency vehicles driving past with loud sirens, but the hotel itself was lovely and that's just unfortunate part of being in a busy city. Would visit again for sure, and recommend to others
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Alex, thank you very much for your review. We're looking forward to your next stay with us. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nice hotel close to oktoberfest

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: location and facilities
Cons: check in times and ques at reception
Location: Oktoberfest and Dachau concentration camp
10 min walk to oktoberfest 15 to the centre of town and 3 mins to central station. clean with good facilities. a tad noisy at night but not bad. only gripe is late check in of 4 pm and the check in process is slow with long ques (stood there for 20 mins)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you very much for your feedback. We hope you had a great time at the Oktoberfest and our hotel. Our team would be really happy to welcome you a next time. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Close to old town and the central station

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: So close to the old town
Cons: Not the cleanest street, but plenty supermarkets close
Easy to catch the train from airport to the central station and then a very easy walk to hotel. so close to the good restaurants, shops and sites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear heather, thank you very much for your review. Our team hopes to welcome you again soon. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Disappointing

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast. Quiet courtyard room in city centre location.
Cons: Service, re allocation of rooms.
On arrival we were provided with a (noisy) streetside room, when we had booked a 'comfort' (i.e. larger) courtyard room. The supposed pretext for this was that I had requested twin beds yet the beds in the comfort rooms were no different to those in the room provided. We were subsequently moved to an appropriate room, but this was clearly undergoing maintenance (bucket underneath an open roof hatch to the air conditioning and a broken glass lamp shade). We were finally moved to another courtyard room, but inevitably they had allocated all of the comfort rooms. The free breakfast that they provided was at least some recompense, but the whole experience rather took the shine off the stay.