Ratings based on 400 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC, USA

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Problem with coffee pot and tv remote not working. We were there 3 nights and told the people at the desk right away. They claimed someone came by, but we weren't there. They said they were fixed. Fact is, we stayed in, awaiting a maintenance person. We even had extra batteries so exchanged those in the remote. It still didn't work. Beautiful hotel. Great location & near main train station. Just need to examine the female desk staff to keep a decent reputation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you very much for your feedback! We're sorry for any inconveniences during your stay with us! Friendliness as well as helpfulness and efficiency of our stuff are very important for us, so we will teach our stuff again to improve our service. We hope to welcome you again. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Good hotel in convenient location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Convenience, transport, location
Cons: Staff could be friendlier
Location: Easy transport via tram, train, subway to anywhere in Munich, and only 1km from old city center
Quet and comfortable hotel near central station, and close to the major sites and activities. Immediate neighborhood can appear a bit gritty, but is safe and with many conveniences, such as stores, bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Louie, thank you very much for your feedback! As a family-owned hotel, it is very important for us to offer a good service and friendly staff so we will teach them again. The area around our hotel is just a busy area near train station, like in every other city in the world. There is no reason to feel unsafe or uneasy. We're looking forward to welcoming you again. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The 'Welome' pillow on the bed needs to 'go'.
Location: Close to station.
Our room overlooked an adult play area that kept us awake. The pillow called 'Welcome' on the bed was a little old and needed cleaning. I received a bite that came up red on my face and took two weeks to clear due to sleeping on that pillow on my arrival as I was so tired I collapsed on the bed and slept immediately. Otherwise it was a pretty good place, really nice breakfast and I would recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We're sorry for any inconveniences during your stay! It would be a pleasure for our team to welcome you again. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worldwide

Decent place, but not great.

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: The breakfast, (16euros) was delicious. Room were clean, and housekeeping was professional.
Cons: Beds, pillows, stocking of rm fridge, wifi admin. Their customer info said they had wired internet, so I bought the cables, but it wasn't true.
Location: The location is sketchy. Erotic clubs and bars nearby, also gambling places. Too bad Expedia didn't make that clear.
Expedia failed with this booking to make clear that the internet provided wasn't free to Expedia customers. And the hotel failed to have (what should be basic) a good, up to date customer info booklet in the room. Their booklet was way out of date and gave incorrect info on the internet. Also the pillows inthat hotel have no substance, they "die" and go flat when you lie on them. And the beds were hard, a bonus for some, but a negative for others. We stayed on the back side of the 5th floor, and when you get off the elevator you have to go round a corner and up a few more stairs (with luggage) to your floor. Not ideal. That said, the breakfast (also not included- 16euro) was delicious. And the staff, while not helpful with the internet, was Friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, thank you very much for your rating! We're sorry for any inconveniences during your stay. You can get free Wifi for your next stay in our hotel, please ask our staff. Our team would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kettering UK

Munich Christmas Markets

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Hotel well situated, close to Hautbahnhoff central rail station trams buses and underground easy walking distance to Karlsplatz Marienplatz and Town Hall. Nice restaraunt on site very reasonably priced bar and room mini bar. Friendly staff and facility to leave cases securely on check out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Catherine, thank you very much for your review. It would be great to welcome you again. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Staff rudeness ruined the whole holiday

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Unfortunately the review for this hotel is not a good one simply because of the staff! Upon arriving at the hotel everything seemed fine but asking for simple things (for example an extra pillow) the reception staff were rude, their attitude was awful towards their guests and they acted as if we were a huge pain in their bum! After raising this complaint we were asked to have a meeting with the hotel manager early on the morning before we checked out however he didn't bother showing up. We had got up earlier to get ourselves ready and in reception by half 5 in the morning and he didn't even bother to show. We think it was just a way of them dismissing our complaint and not having to deal with it! For a 4* hotel this is very shocking and I personally would not rate the services you get as 4*, more of a 2.5/3•!! The attitudes of the staff and the management of the hotel is disgusting and I would seriously recommend you look to stay elsewhere when looking to visit Munich. There are plenty of other hotels with better services, better staff for similar pricing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Stephanie, thank you very much for your feedback! We would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Friendliness as well as helpfulness and efficiency of our stuff are very important for us so we will teach our stuff again to improve our service. Our team would be delighted to welcome you again. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you wand do sleep don't stay here!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Everything was in shambles. Don't stay heee. So loud. Terrible.,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We're really sorry for any inconvenience during your stay! Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Decent hotel, uncomfortable location

Posted Dec 10, 2016
The Hotel Cristal has many positives and few negatives, but the negatives are so strong that I DO NOT recommend this hotel. The rooms are spacious rooms especially for the price. The beds are clean and comfortable. I believe the rooms are recently renovated! The location in terms of a 10 minute walk to Marienplatz (Christmas Markets/Oktoberfest) and a 3 minute walk to the nearest train station. HOWEVER, the street in which the hotel is on feels unsafe. It's one street over from many other hotel chains, but these streets are very different. Many homeless people, sketchy strip clubs and a clearly marked erotic shop are a few of the establishments on the same street. I was back in my room every night before 7pm as I did not feel safe walking on this street. Also with the location, the security of the hotel is questionable. With all person with the ability to get onto any floor at anytime. The deadbolt in my room did not work as well. At first glance the rooms appear luxurious, but the smell of smoke, stains on the walls and the other furniture proved otherwise. While the damage and smell were minimal, it does not leave a good impression. Noise is also an issue. I stayed on weekdays and traffic/police cars/hallway noise were very loud. Wifi and breakfast are both expensive and I refused to pay for either. Overall, the hotel isn't bad but the street which it is located on wrecks the hotel experience entirely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, thank you very much for your review! We're really sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. The area around our hotel is just a busy area near train station, like in every other city in the world. There is no reason to feel unsafe or uneasy. It would be a pleasure for our team to welcome you again in our hotel. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mount kisco, United States of America

Nice hotel close to trains

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Hotel staff extremely friendly. Room was very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback! It would be a great pleasure for our team to welcome you again in our hotel in the heart of Munich. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Overrated

Posted Nov 3, 2016
When we arrived at the hotel, they gave us a room with one double bed and an extra bed which is a folding bed that they just put beside the bed. We went to front desk and told the staff that we booked for 3 adults, 1 double bed and single bed, not 2 adults plus extra bed. The staff said that a double bed and single bed which is in the site doesn't exist. we insists that we booked for 3 adults and i guess we deserve a comfortable bed and not a folding bed...So, they changed our room for 3 adults which has a single bed and not a folding bed. Sink not draining properly, hot and cold water not working properly as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Martina Kube, Hotel Management
Dear Marie, thank you very much for your feedback! We're sorry for the inconveniences with your rooms. It would be a pleasure for our team to welcome you again in our hotel. Yours sincerely, Hotel Cristal München Team