Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Convenient and cozy

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: I was able to walk to everything in the city center without paying as high a rate.
Cons: The decor is dated but still clean.
Location: The street car is just outside and the Underground metro is just a few blocks. There is a very long greenway just two blocks away that is excellent.
The hotel is in a very good location. It sits right on the light rail and an easy walk to the city Underground rail. The rooms are typical European (smaller than USA) but had everything I needed. The staff is friendly and speaks fine english and there is a bar just off the lobby!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca.

Wonderful friendly hotel near the middle of town

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: Near the center of town it sits right between Bogenhausen and Heidhausen by the Friedensengel. Everything to see in München is a few u-bahn tops away.
From the great little bar to the extremely kind and helpful staff to the amazing breakfast there is nothing not to recommend about this place. Sadly it will be gone by April 2016 and probably turned into apartments so go now! Easy access by public transportation to anywhere in Munich. Did I mention the breakfast is amazing !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
När vi anlände så hade receeptionen slarvat bort vår bokning på 5st dubbelrum. Bara 4st fanns kvar. Detta gjorde att vi fick boka ett extra rum samt betala för det. Ej bra. Annars ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, Texas

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Cons: My only suggestion would be to place a shelve in the shower to allow placement of shampoo and such being that the shower is quite cozy.
Location: Tram and metro service a 15 minute walk to easy access to old town, city center, October Fest, and main train station.
Visited Munich to celebrate our son's 40th birthday at October Fest and enjoyed our stay at Prinzregent. A very good breakfast buffet with the choice of ordering eggs cooked to your way. The staff was very helpful and even allowed us to store luggage overnight while my wife and I made an overnight visit to Nuremberg. Also enjoyed friendly service at the bar for our nightcap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Antwort Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you very much for your detailed gratifying description about your stay at our hotel. We thank you once again for your advice regarding our bathroom.- we are working on a solution. Best regards F. Vonavka - Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We had not planned to be in Munich at Oktoberfest

Posted Sep 28, 2015
And probably as a result we paid a very high premium for a room in a hotel which was not fully booked! Bed comfortable. Room very uncomfortable--furniture hard, old, useless except to look at. Breakfast the same every day. Staff helpful and nice little bar at entrance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2015 by Antwort Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel, Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for mentioning our helpful staff. It's really a pity that you didn't like our historical style. We must agree with you that the room rates during the Oktoberfest are comparatively high in whole munich. Also thank you for informing us about your further impressions-we try to offer a typically bavarian, multicultural & healthy breakfast every day. Best wishes D.Wardyn-Marketing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro

Klein, fein, bayrisch

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Pros: Bayrisches Ambiente
Cons: Nein, rundum zufrieden
Location: Ganz in Naehe Bogenhausener Hof und Kaefer, 2 ganz hervorsgende Restaurants. Villa Stuck als ein Muenchner Kulturmuss 2 Min entfernt
Ausgesprochen freundliches und kompetentes Personal. Foyer, Bar, Fruehstuecksraum und Zimmer in angenehmem barischen Stil ohne zu uebertreiben. Typisch bayrisches Fruehstueckbuffet. Zentral gelegen - mit der Tram in 10 und zu Fuss in 25 Minuten im Zentrum. Werde wiederkommen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The dining room is quite pretty and the breakfast is good.
Cons: It's an expensive hotel for what it is - small rooms, ordinary bathroom and generic toiletries. Having to pay for internet is a bit of an insult.
Location: The location is okay - not that much to do within easy walking distance.
Hotel was pleasant enough but the room was small. Difficult to open closet, veranda and bathroom doors. Good breakfasts but could be crowded. To be honest, I would probably try a different place next time for comparison.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Antwort Hotel Prinzregent am Friedensengel, Hotel Management
Because of your commentation day it seems that your stay was during a trade fair, so it's possible your room rate was higher than daily. It's a pity that you couldn't enjoy your stay in munich completely. Please tell us about your wishes before arrival. It would be a pleasure for us, if you would try another room category next time. F. e. our Studios. Many Thanks. F. Vonavka - Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego, ca

Great location, needs remodeling

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Great location, just two stops from a very good beer garden. Hotel staff was awesome! The hotel itself need a lot of remodeling while keeping its quirkiness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruth N.

Angenehmer Stadthaufenthalt als Paar

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Ebookers
Sehr nettes Personal, sehr gutes Frühstücksbuffet, angenehmer Ausklang an der Bar. Sehr empfehlenswertes Hotel.