Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

fabric needs a little care

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: The design/layout of the room and wash facilities, and the condition of the furniture. Walls are thin.
Location: Not too far from centre, close to tram and U-Bahn. Near the uni so lots of cool cafes and small restaurants. Try north on Türkenstraße
I've stayed in other Leonardo Hotels and have always been pleased. This hotel was fine and ok for the price but I was a little disappointed as I don't think the premises lived up to the brand's usual standards. The WC and shower are pretty small and all separate from the sink - this is just a design that I don't like so I got over it. But water from the shower did leak into the main room quite a bit. One half of the bed was broken or something, and was quite slanted and low. Also- the walls are quite thin. You will hear people talking, moving and TVs in the next room pretty distinctly, so just home that your neighbours have similar schedules to yours! Very friendly and helpful staff, however.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

excellent location,bad sound isolation,small rooms

Posted Feb 17, 2017
it is excellently located in Schwabing, which is next to the university buildings in the centre of the city. however the building is very old, very this walls, neighbours are almost literally part of your room. they give you ear plus though lol. the rooms are very small, especially the ones not overlooking the street and the bathrooms are tiny too, and closed by sliding glass doors which provide no isolation at all, quite transparent too. there was mould on the windows. hotel staff are very pleasant but the building is too old and renovations are purely cosmetic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dublin

Nice hotel perfect for short break

Posted Dec 2, 2016
10min walk from the city, clean and helpful stafff. Would stay again but only for short break max 2/3 days. 8/10
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
photos online do not truthfully represent the hotel. Rooms are small and cramped, noise travels through the walls
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your feedback. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, we had to realize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our main objective to offer a friendly and individual service to all our guests. You are right that our rooms are small but cozy. However, we hope you had a good time in Munich and we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to one of our hotels. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norcal

Boutique hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Recommend getting a larger room with a tad more space. Some of the rooms are small and awkward. Ours was great, very friendly staff, helpful and accommodating. Great breakfast -make sure to add to your stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear rp, Thank you for your valued feedback. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Munich stay memorable and enjoyable. Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it! We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our Leonardo Hotels and wish you all the best. With best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

wrong room key and downgrade to first floor

Posted May 20, 2016
They gave the wrong room key, and as I entered the room I realised someone was already there. I literally opened their room door and entered. Poor people were sleeping as I arrived late at night. I was supposed to be on 5th floor and got a second room in the first floor which was next to cleaning closet and breakfast salon so it got really noisy early in the morning. The toiletries was a nice detail but overall experience wasn't great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Aino, Thank you for your feedback. I deeply apologize for this unpleasant mistake with the wrong key cards. I can assure you that this is not our standard and we talked to our team especially to our trainee about this situation. My colleague did not downgraded you but it is right that you got a room on the first floor but with the same category. Unfortunately we were fully booked and we did not have any other rooms available. Also I am sorry that you were disturbed by some noises. Our breakfast room is also on the first floor but on the opposite of the floor to your room. I would like to thank you once again for your feedback. It is very important to us that our guests feel welcome, well cared for and comfortable all the time. We truly hope that these incidents have not tarnished your image of Leonardo Hotels, Munich and that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you again to one of our hotels. All the best and kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Funky decor, super clean, exceptional staff

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Great location, great room and lobby, wonderful staff. A very feel-good experience. The downsides were the tiny bathroom (although it is at least well-designed enough to just barely get away with it), and the lack of sound insulation, so you can hear what is going on in other rooms. But despite that I would definitely stay again. The front desk were always so charming, quick and welcoming, the decor is very funky and modern and new, and the room was extremely clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Anon, Thank you for your valued feedback; every review is important for us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Munich stay memorable and enjoyable. Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it! It is very important to us that our guests feel welcome, well cared for and comfortable all the time. We are looking forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to Munich and we wish you all the best. Kind regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel..but book the larger room!!!

Posted Dec 12, 2015
We booked Thais for a trip to the Munich Christmas markets. We booked a Queen sized room. The room We got was cramped with a shower and a toilet cubical but no actual dedicated bathroom..it was 'functional'. A number of the lights didn't work and the lift broken down one evening which was awkward as we were on the 4th floor and I was on crutches due to a slipped disc! HOWEVER..the lift was repaired by the next morning and having spoken with reception they gave us a room upgrade to the 2nd floor, with a HUGE room and bathroom with a bath! Loved it. Staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Note: the photos of the lobby are very deceptive...it looms large and funky...its tiny and funky!! I'd go back again BUT would get a larger room upfront and pay the extra!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Munich Stay

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Nice hotel with great staff, good breakfast and good ambience. Rooms are very small though...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location.

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Cons: Not too keen on the see through bathroom doors or the way the room doors bang when someone leaves the room.
Very clean hotel with lovely staff. Breakfast is very good. Located close to underground. Easy walk to city centre shopping. Only negative is the doors do bang closed so you get up with everyone else. We would stay there again.