Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Convenient and clean

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient and clean.
Cons: The shower which flooded out the bathroom.
Location: Very close to Central Station and good restaurants.
If you like Premier Inns in the UK, then here is the German equivalent. Friendly reception, clean room and so close to Munich Central Station and restaurants. Just what we needed for an overnight stay on our way to Schwabia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel but rude staff

Posted Dec 21, 2016
I wasn't given the room I had booked and while two members of staff were very helpful and apologetic, one member (Sarah) was incredibly rude and didn't process our room change correctly so we didn't get the room I had booked and paid for. The room I got was small and not what I had booked, but it was clean and in good condition. The room was freezing when I first arrived and took an hour of the heat cranked right up before it warmed up enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Dayna, Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate your stay at Leonardo Hotel München City Center. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. Unfortunately, we had to realize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. It is our main objective to offer a friendly and individual service to all our guests. We would like to apologize for all the inconveniences you have received throughout your stay. We try to fulfill all the wishes of our guests. Unfortunately, in your booking no explicit room request was deposited, which is why we could not consider this. In addition, these are only inquiries and can only be granted upon availability. We can understand your displeasure about this situation and we try all our best to find a satisfactory solution for you. Our colleague had tried to explain the facts, which unfortunately was not possible. We sincerely hope that our front office manager has been able to accommodate you with the compensations and that these impressions have not tarnished your image of the Leonardo Hotels. We would be very happy if we could get another chance to show you that we can do better. Until then we wish you all the best and a Merry Christmas Season. Best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Knight-Germany 2016

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Convenient to inner city and Christmas market. Close to train station, parking in basement garage, secure, but not free
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Terry, Thank you for your great review. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you were able to visit a lot of Munich because of our great central location and looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved our stay at this hotel. Standard was unable to fault, wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were to visit Munich again. Room was just what we needed and facilities were amazing! Loved our stay here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great hotel with easy city access

Posted Nov 18, 2016
A great hotel close to the train station, public transit and a 10min walk to the city centre. Newly renovated!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Emily, Thank you very much for your great review. We are more than happy to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and you liked our great location near the main station. We hope you were able to visit a lot of Munich and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Until then we wish you all the best and a great time. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good location for seeing Munich. Easy to get about. Quiet in rooms. Rooms comfortable and clean. Good restaurants near.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your valued feedback. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Munich stay memorable and enjoyable. Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it! We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our Leonardo Hotels. Best regards, Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient Tourist location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The Staff were excellent and always ready to be helpful
Cons: Bath towels very small and thin material. At times not enough front of house staff on duty and that they had to act as bar staff.
Location: Close to Main Railway and easy walking to city centre. Immediate area around hotel somewhat seedy
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your valued feedback. Every review is important to us as it allows us to look at our Hotel with guest’s eyes and helps us to detect areas need to be improved, finally to reach our ultimate goal: guest satisfaction. We are more than happy to read, that we could add a bit to make your Munich stay memorable and enjoyable. Your opinion is a big motivation for our Hotel Team members to continue with the efforts, thank you for it! We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our Leonardo Hotels and wish you all the best. Kind regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Photos show much bigger rooms

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Centered, good internet and clean room, the hotel is accesible through public transportation and easy to get to
Cons: very small room, no space at all, specially for paying over $350
Location: Centered, main train station next to the hotel but a lot of drunk people in the area
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Giancarlo, Thank you for your feedback and the time you have taken for it. We are pleased that we were able to welcoming you as our guest and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Pity, that we could not convince you with our rooms. Please feel free to contact us at any time if we can do something for you. It is very important to us that our guests feel welcome, well card for and comfortable all the time. However, we hope you had a good time in Munich and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to one of our hotels. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Would check around and read reviews

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location is convenient to walk to Oktoberfest, and close to train station.
Cons: Breakfast bad. Park $30 in garage $19 if in hotel lot of 6 spaces. Noisy. Didnt refresh daily shampoo, c etc. 1 towel. Rates are high.
Location: 20.min walk to Oktoberfest, decent restaraunts close.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Guest Relation , Hotel Management
Dear Jo, Thank you for your valued feedback. We are happy to see that you liked our great central location. It is a perfect starting point to explore the city. Pity, that we could not convince you with our rich breakfast buffet for 13,00 €. Also you are right that our parking cost 19,00 € per day. Due to the central location, it is very difficult to find a parking lot, so we are glad to be able to offer our guests this opportunity. We are sorry, that your shampoo was not refreshed. We informed our executive housekeeper about it and she will pay more attention for it. Please feel free to contact us anytime on the spot if we can do something for you. However, we hope you had a great time in Munich especially at the Oktoberfest and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to one of our hotels. Best regards - Melanie Brandenburger / Guest Relation