Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect location

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Shuttle bus from airport stops right across the street - so it was an easy commute to and from airport. Train station across street. Close to Markets.
Location: A couple minutes walk to gate of old city. Lots to do in old city. Markets, take elevator up to top of new town hall, beautiful churches, beer halls.
We stayed at this hotel at the start and at the end of our Christmas market tour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: It is right at the centre of the efficient city transport system. It is clean, warm and comfortable.
Cons: It is beginning to look a bit worn,but we were told it is about to close for a year for complete renovation.
Location: An easy walk to terrific shopping and eating but right by the Tube to get about even faster!
We have returned to this hotel five or six times over recent years - that says says it all. Not luxurious, but comfortable and very well situated with excellent buffet breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Close to everything you need

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: Shopping, the train station, and the historic center are nearby.
This was my 2nd stay here and I would stay here on my next trip to Munich too. The hotel is close to the train station and a 10-15 minute walk to the historic center. The staff is exceptional. We needed to find a doctor and they helped us get to an excellent clinic. They also know the nicest taxi drivers, if you have the need for one. The rooms are clean, quiet and modern. Plenty of space to put your belongings. Comfy beds and extra pillows make for a restful night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Munich central

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Location: near train station
Good experience. The bathroom is ridiculously small - can barely turn around in it. Toilet is cramped behind the door. Shower has a half-curtain that allows water to spray everywhere. Not impressive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, United States of America

I wish we chose another hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2016
We are familiar with NH Hotels, but this hotel was way below the expectations. If we go back we would choose another hotel. Pros: 1. Stuff friendly and very helpful 2. Easy walk to Residentz 3. Close to main train, subway station Cons 1. The room had an odd smell 2. No coffee machine in the room 3. It was too hot in the room and the temp could not be adjusted too much. The air conditioning/heater was off or not functioning and the room was heater with a radiator. Even at the minimum it was too hot. And when we open the window it was too noisy. 4.The shower was outdated. The handle of the shower was broken. 5.The bed was super hard, very difficult to slip on. In contrast the pillows were too soft. I do not have problems sleeping, but I had hard time sleeping in that room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell
Location: Go to city center
The hotel is nice enough for European standards. There is a smell in the room that never went away, then we actually met the guy that cleaned the room and understood were the smell came from (his BO followed him like the reaper). The beds are comfortable, but it's just a couple of singles pushed together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Good location basic hotel. Ideal for train transportation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location to the train station.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Lacking staff at the front desk and bar.
Location: Good location for Oktoberfest.
Very slow check in. Hotel has no amenities. Wifi in your room is sketchy. The highlight is the location to the train station and Oktoberfest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great location

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Great location as close to everything although can be a little noisy with window open!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A functional hotel, devoid of charm

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly front-desk staff
Cons: The awful wi-fi provision
We stayed at the NH Muenchen Deutsche Kaiser during Oktoberfest, when all hotels in Munich increase their charges because of the influx of visitors. The hotel is one of the anonymous, unexceptional breed of business hotels but we ended up paying a premium price for it. The room was clear and functional; the bathroom cramped and a little tired. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only real downside was the WiFi. It comes in 2 tiers - a free service for e-mail and basic browsing and a paid-for 'high-speed' service. Both were pretty useless, which should not be the case in a major city in a business-oriented hotel in 2016.