Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Mary from Baltimore

Perfect location!

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely beautiful hotel! Located near the Marienplatz and Sbahn/Ubahn stops. Easy to get to from the airport on the S8 line (38 minutes). Also, near the Hofbrauhaus, and many other restaurants. Service was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Heiko Buchta HotelManager, Hotel Management
Dear Mary Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review! Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with my team. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Best wishes from the Platzl Hotel! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Great location in heart of old City near train station. Stayed in two rooms. First room hot and HVAC did not work properly. Second room perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for taking time to evaluate your stay with us. Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. We are sorry for the inconvenience we have caused concerning the AC. One of our important generators broke down and it wasn't possible to fix it immediately. Please be sure that our technical department did its best to solve the problem as soon as possible. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and service, poor A/C

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Perfectly fine stay. The only problem was the air conditioning which was not effective. We couldn't open the windows since our room faced the noisy street. That wouldn't have been a problem if the air conditioning actually cooled the room -- which it didn't. The website does not mention that all the rooms in the lower priced category face the street which is very noisy. Very nice and helpful front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Heiko Buchta HotelManager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us! It's great to read that all in all you liked your stay and enjoyed your time in Munich. We are sorry for the inconvenience we have caused concerning the AC. One of our important generators broke down and it wasn't possible to fix it immediately. Please be sure that our technical department did the best to solve the problem as soon as possible. Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with my team. We would appreciate to welcome you at Platzl Hotel again soon. Best regards from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zagreb/Boston

secret pearl

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: I like it because I think every guest feels welcomed there. Nice staff, spacey, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, hidden from the noise of the town
Cons: We had two rooms, one had good internet connection the other one not but I doubt it depends of the hotel...
Location: Excellent location,close to the main city shopping area but even not so far you can find nice souvenir shops, great restaurants, interesting boutiques
We are coming to Munich regularly 2-3 times a year last decade. My husband and me agree this is the best Munich hotel. It is like a secret pearl, situated in a historical, quiet neighborhood, with comfy rooms, very clean, quick enough elevators, helpful and nice staff, excellent breakfast, cozy lobby. We tried one of the hotel restaurants and the food was very good, served in 10 to 15 minutes. You can walk everywhere and enjoy the spirit and hospitality of this beautiful German town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Daniela Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us! Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with my team. Your remark about our restaurant in particular delighted us very much as we put high value on providing our guests with unique dishes with an impeccable service and a reasonable price. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Julie from Corona del Mar CA

Crisp Review

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Awesome location and great service. I would update the workout room, add an EFX Machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Heiko Buchta HotelManager, Hotel Management
Dear Julie Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with my team. Our hotel is in a constant state of optimization, so we are very thankful for every recommendation for improvement. We will discuss to upgrade our small fitness area. We hope you had a great time in Munich and that you'll come back soon. Best wishes from the Platzl Hotel! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Adrienne from Dublin

A great place to stay

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a great location, staff very friendly, room spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast, if I ever visit Munich again I will definitely stay at the Platzl!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Heiko Buchta HotelManager, Hotel Management
Dear Adrienne Thank you very much for taking the time to write this short review! We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest degree possible, and that you enjoyed elements such as our individual service and the varied breakfast buffet. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Best wishes from the Platzl Hotel! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the facilities and the location.
Cons: The room service menu and Wi-Fi performance.
Location: The hotel is located in the heart of the tourist section of the city.
My wife and I, vacationing in Munich and Vienna, stayed at the Platzl Hotel for four nights. The hotel is lovely and located only blocks from the Marienplatz, the center of the old city. The hotel is relatively small, the staff are pleasant and extraordinarily helpful, and the room was charming. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom included a large bath. The room service included, however, a very limited and generally expensive menu. The Wi-Fi, though free, wasn't particularly robust.
4 out of 5
by Henry from London

Amazing location and a clean, spacious room

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and spacious room. The staff at reception were very friendly an helpful when we checked in. The buffet breakfast was rally good with almost anything you could ask for provided. The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the centre of Munich, and trying all the lovely beer houses and restaurants around the area.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Ventura

Highly recommend - would return again

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay - wish we had more time there - beautiful hotel & wondeful staff - great location in Old Town - very convenient pull up out of traffic & assistance provided with bags - very welcoming - wellness center (gym) excellent - valet parking (additional reasonable cost) very convenient - overall excellent hotel - only challenge: room not cool enough for good night's rest. Otherwise - outstanding