Ratings based on 329 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford

Fantastic location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Its location Staff friendliness
Location: Less than 5 minutes walk to the centre of the city - perfect for Christmas markets and sightseeing Excellent restaurants close by, or great to eat in
If you want a hotel in the centre of Munich, look no further. Its location is great for sightseeing and getting about the city Hotel food is very good, but there are so many excellent restaurants close by, that there is too much choice Hotel it self is very good, it is very warm and welcoming.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Excellent hotel in a great location.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The staff were very good and went out of their way to help. The room was great and the breakfast was outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Jared Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, which made me smile. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and we can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts. As breakfast is undoubtedly the most important meal of the day, we attach great importance to a various selection of quality. We would appreciate to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best regards from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfetto

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Tutto
Cons: Nulla
L'albergo è in ottima posizione: in pieno centro, a 5 min a piedi dalla Residenz e da Marienplatz, circondato da ottime birrerie dove è possibile degustare piatti tipici bavaresi. Tutto il personale è stato estremamente cordiale e disponibile. La stanza assegnataci era spaziosa e pulita, il bagno confortevole. Pulizia impeccabile. Colazione ottima. Lo consiglio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you very much for this great review! Cleanliness and comfort are some of the essentials of a good hotel. Besides this our focus has always been on individuality, service and a high quality breakfast buffet – various and really good. We are delighted that you found these key offers during your stay. Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TA

NICE HOTEL WITH UNPLEASANT RECEPTION STAFF

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: STANDING WITH THE OFFERING AND NOT PLAYING WITH ROOMS ALLOCATED TO GUESTS - LIKE WE ARE STUPID OR SOMETHING.
Location: MARIANPLATZ
Great Location The staff is not helpful (rude with polite manners). Breakfast is nor fresh. small variety. Bread is too dry. A location is great. If you have an alternative - go to another place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Jakob Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. I have carefully read your comments and I am sorry to read that we could not win you as one of our hotel’s numerous friends. I am quite surprised about your feedback because our staff normaly gets a lot of praise. We will be happy if you contact us per Mail to understand what happened. It would be with more than great pleasure to welcome you again and having the chance to prove our vision and philosophy of great service according to our Platzl-Hotel. Let us provide an extraordinary Bavarian experience on the occasion of your next trip to Munich. Best regards Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Great location in heart of old City near train station. Stayed in two rooms. First room hot and HVAC did not work properly. Second room perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for taking time to evaluate your stay with us. Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. We are sorry for the inconvenience we have caused concerning the AC. One of our important generators broke down and it wasn't possible to fix it immediately. Please be sure that our technical department did its best to solve the problem as soon as possible. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zagreb/Boston

secret pearl

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: I like it because I think every guest feels welcomed there. Nice staff, spacey, clean rooms, excellent breakfast, hidden from the noise of the town
Cons: We had two rooms, one had good internet connection the other one not but I doubt it depends of the hotel...
Location: Excellent location,close to the main city shopping area but even not so far you can find nice souvenir shops, great restaurants, interesting boutiques
We are coming to Munich regularly 2-3 times a year last decade. My husband and me agree this is the best Munich hotel. It is like a secret pearl, situated in a historical, quiet neighborhood, with comfy rooms, very clean, quick enough elevators, helpful and nice staff, excellent breakfast, cozy lobby. We tried one of the hotel restaurants and the food was very good, served in 10 to 15 minutes. You can walk everywhere and enjoy the spirit and hospitality of this beautiful German town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Daniela Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us! Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of. We are very fortunate to be able to provide you with just a few minutes away from the town square and must-see attraction and modern- day conveniences as close by as it can be. Our guests’ satisfaction is what motivates our team to keep on providing outstanding service and offering such personal attention to our guests. So, you can be sure that I will share your appraisal with my team. Your remark about our restaurant in particular delighted us very much as we put high value on providing our guests with unique dishes with an impeccable service and a reasonable price. We are looking forward to welcome you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the facilities and the location.
Cons: The room service menu and Wi-Fi performance.
Location: The hotel is located in the heart of the tourist section of the city.
My wife and I, vacationing in Munich and Vienna, stayed at the Platzl Hotel for four nights. The hotel is lovely and located only blocks from the Marienplatz, the center of the old city. The hotel is relatively small, the staff are pleasant and extraordinarily helpful, and the room was charming. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom included a large bath. The room service included, however, a very limited and generally expensive menu. The Wi-Fi, though free, wasn't particularly robust.
4 out of 5
by Henry from London

Amazing location and a clean, spacious room

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Clean and spacious room. The staff at reception were very friendly an helpful when we checked in. The buffet breakfast was rally good with almost anything you could ask for provided. The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring the centre of Munich, and trying all the lovely beer houses and restaurants around the area.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Ventura

Highly recommend - would return again

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay - wish we had more time there - beautiful hotel & wondeful staff - great location in Old Town - very convenient pull up out of traffic & assistance provided with bags - very welcoming - wellness center (gym) excellent - valet parking (additional reasonable cost) very convenient - overall excellent hotel - only challenge: room not cool enough for good night's rest. Otherwise - outstanding