Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Good high class hotel. Maybe a little better room service would make a difference for business traveller. Other than that, recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Lothian

High Standards

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Location,home from home atmosphere ,everything about this hotel is perfect.
Cons: nothing.Keep doing what you are doing.
Location: Main Square minutes walk.Easy access to train station,a lot of restraunts in the area.
Check in quick and pleasant & personal;Room twin bedded as booked,very nice bathroom with toiletries, lovely soft towels,I pad for sole use if required. Location excellent but quiet round the corner from the Christmas markets ,ideal, and main square.Train station 10 mins walk.S bahn to airport 5 min walk. Breakfast very,very good,excellent choice displayed attractively.Loose leaf tea readily available brilliant . Thank you to all staff who made our stay so lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jaki, Thank you so much for your great review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and felt comfortable at our Platzl Hotel. We would appreciate to welcome you, again. With best regards from Munich.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Eine Oase mitten in der City!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel mit Stil, sehr sauber, freundliches, kompetentes Personal und eine gemütliche Atmosphäre in der Lobby. Die Bar nicht zu vergessen- tolle Cocktails!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Liebe Mia, vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es freut uns wirklich sehr zu lesen, dass Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben und eine angenehme Zeit hatten. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in München wieder bei uns im Platzl begrüßen zu dürfen. MIit besten Grüßen aus München, Heiko Buchta - General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Allgemein gut aber....

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Die Lage.
Cons: "kostenlose Stadtplan" von den Innenstadt anbieten
Location: Ein paar Staßen weg vom Marienplatz in München.
Die Lage ist wirklich ideal. Besser kann man nicht wünschen. Allegemein war die Angestellt ganz nett. Was mir nicht so gut gefallen hat war, dass auf der Website stand "kostenlos Mineralwasser", und tatsächlichhieß kostenlos nur eine 0,5 Liter Flasche Mineralwasser pro Zimmer (wir waren zwei Erwachsene in einem Zimmer). Ich habe für ein paar kurze (weniger als 1 Minute lang, weil die Geschäfte nicht geöffnet waren) ortliche Telefonanrufe gemacht und das Hotel hatte 55 cents pro Anruf verlangt. Ortliche Telefongespräche sind normalweise kostenlos und 55 cent pro Minute kommt mir als sehr üppig vor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es freut uns zu lesen, dass Sie einen angenehmen Aufenthalt in unserem Haus hatten. Das Wasser, welches wir kostenlos anbieten, wird täglich wieder frisch angeboten. Eine weitere Auswahl ist in unserer Minibar zu finden, sowie als Roomservice zu bestellen. Bezüglich der Telefonkosten tut es mir sehr leid, das Sie mit den Gebühren nicht gerechnet haben. Dieser Service ist bei uns im Haus nicht gratis mit Inbegriffen. Vielen Dank für das Kompliment zu unserer Lage, dies ist definitiv ein Punkt, der schwer zu übertreffen ist. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie ein weiteres Mal bei uns im Platzl Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen. Beste Grüße aus München
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Marvelous Location!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location / comfort / Hotel staff was wonderful.
Cons: Not that I can think of.
Location: Location is everything and this hotel has it...... much to do in Munich.
Loved the hotel. Many years ago I attended the Platzl Theater while learning German. Love the Bavarian language and the theater was a great way to learn Bavarian!!! Munich was always one of my favorite cities - I lived in the area for 40 years and worked in Munich for 30 years. Too bad that Munich is so crowded now.......Still a charming city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Ellen, Thank you very much for this great review. I am glad to read that you had a good time in Munich and felt comfortable at our Hotel It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest. We would appreciate to welcome you at Platzl Hotel, again. With best regards from Munich
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mohrsville, United States of America

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Perfect location for walking almost everywhere, staff was very helpful and friendly, room was super spacious (king bed jr. suite), breakfast was very good, cozy bar for late night-cap...can't think of any reason we wouldn't stay at the Platzl every time we're in Munich!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you very much for your great review you posted on Expedia. I am glad to read that you had a good time in Munich and felt comfortable at our Hotel. We would appreciate to welcome you, again. With best regards - Heiko Buchta, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Excellent, one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at! Very clean, friendly staff, and great breakfast!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Matthew, Thank you very much for this great review. We would appreciate to welcome you at Platzl Hotel, again. With best regards from Munich
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from johannesburg

What a pleasure to stay at the platzl

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: The location couldn't be more central for all the tourist spots
Very efficient staff. Lovely soft king size bed.always felt very welcome
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear Mark Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, which made me smile. I am glad to see that you had a great time in Munich and did a lot of sightseeing based on the very good location of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great care to make every guest feel welcome and at home here at the Platzl Hotel and it always delights us to hear when we are successful. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Best wishes from the Platzl Hotel! Heiko Buchta - General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Platzl Hotel Munich

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Well placed for all main sights in Old Town and easy to get out further afield with trams and underground - very efficiency linked service
Please Note Report Related to Stay 26-29 Oct 2016 Room 219 Pros: Good location for Old Town and underground/tram system for further afield Staff very pleasant, always helpful, courteous and with a happy demeanour in all areas of hotel activity Good size room Very comfortable and spacious bed (firm, but not hard) with comfortable feather pillows Good number of power sockets Good sound proofing to windows Good size shower Good bathroom lighting Good quality toilet paper Good breakfast room and plentiful and large selection Restaurant Pfiftermuhle - excellent service, food and wine Cons Smell of cigarette smoke on second floor corridor - reported but informed this will change next year as there will be no more smoking rooms ( at present there are two rooms for smokers on the second floor) Restaurant Ayingers - Difficulty getting a table unless booked ahead, would have been useful if on arrival notified re booking a table
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Heiko Buchta, Hotel Management
Dear BC We truly appreciate you taking a moment to write about your experience with us at the Platzl Hotel. Thank you for recognizing our excellent location, being situated directly in the city center of Munich, we are indeed very proud of. The short distances to many attractions of the city makes the location of the hotel quite convenient for Munich visitors. An big advantage here is that the transportation connection is very good and our guests are able to reach all the important parts in Munich very easily. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and I can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts. Your remark about our restaurant in particular delighted us very much as we put high value on providing our guests with unique dishes with an impeccable service and for a reasonable price. By way of information, we are in the planning stages of a total rooms renovation which, barring any unforeseen obstacles, we hope to begin late this year. We will be excited to provide our valued guests with a new rooms product. After the renovation we won't offer smoking rooms. We hope you had a great time in Munich and that you'll come back soon. Best wishes from the Platzl Hotel! Heiko Buchta - General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel in convenient location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Near shopping, historical locations, good food
Comfortable bed, great breakfast, safe area, quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for this great review. We would appreciate to welcome you at our Platzl Hotel, again. With best regards from Munich