Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mayfair, London

Short historical visit to Munich with my son, 26.

Posted May 29, 2017
Loved the hotel. Perfect welcome, shown to our rooms by Johan (Austrian) who was excellent. Rooms were lovely. Large, clean, very comfortable. Great shower, v comfy big bed. Breakfast was lovely each of our 3 days, out on the terrace. We dined at the hotel on on night, delicious food, if a little restricted in choice. Really, truly, nothing to criticise about the Charles Hotel, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughtful review and for choosing The Charles Hotel. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the comfortable guestroom and our Restaurant along with the attentive service of our staff. Johannes in particular, was thrilled to be singled out in your review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, The Charles Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the Museums- not a great part

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: convenience to Museums and large rooms
Cons: better concierge service
Location: museums- no cafes or restaurants nearby
no early check in given even in low season- cold have offered coffee while we waited rooms nice- quite large
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Terrific staff. Great location. Expensive but worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Fantastic Winter Break

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: spa, room amenities and decor, services
Cons: Keep the gym open 24 hours. The 10 pm closing is tough when you are out all day and would like to grab a late night workout.
Location: Perfect. See above.
My wife and I traveled to Munich to pick up our new BMW at the factory. While we only had 5 short days, they were spectacular. The Rocco Forte is a first class hotel. It is perfectly located in central Munich, thereby enabling us to walk or take short cab rides to various Munich tourist attractions, restaurants and shopping. The central train station is also very close. BMW is only 15 minutes away. We also spent one full day in Garmish skiing. It was only a 51 minute train ride. The hotel's spa is exceptional and very secluded. My wife and I took full advantage of it, free of charge. The concierge and front desk staff are extremely helpful. Their restaurant and travel recommendations were spot on. We look forward to going back to Munich and will stay here once again. Thanks all at Rocco Forte for a wonderful experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for leaving us such positive comments here on Expedia. We are most delighted to learn that our fantastic location, attentive service and our Spa was to your liking and that you enjoyed your Winter Break in Germany. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Absolutely outstanding

Posted Mar 26, 2017
By far the most beautiful hotel in Munich, giant georgous rooms, great service
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank very much indeed for taking the time to write this ovely review on our hotel. We are honoured to be your preferred choice of accommodation and looking forward to your next visit very soon. Best regards, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati ohio

Very comfortable and helpful

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Staff was great. Room was comfortable. Walk to most places like city center and train station.
5 out of 5
by Veronica

luxury

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, great service, so comfortable and perfect pool/spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel: I'll be back

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Location: Near Hauptbahnhof and lots of shops nearby.
First time I had stayed there. No complaints at all, and I hosted a function in the evening at the hotel which was beautifully set up and arranged. Five stars!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by PA to GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind remarks. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and function with us. Your comments are very much appreciated and they will continue to help us strive to be our best. We look forward to welcoming you back again. With all good wishes, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Smart but welcoming

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Good quiet and pretty location near the botanical gardens and near the main station. Not many restaurants nearby that we could find. The food in the hotel is good but expensive. Excellent room with good quality breakfast included. Only problem with the room was that there were no tea or coffee making facilities and we spent over £100 on room service cups of tea over 4 nights. staff very friendly and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by PA to GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for selecting The Charles Hotel, Munich for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your kind words. We are sorry to read that you missed coffee or tea making facilities. Kindly be advised that these items are available upon request without surcharge. Please contact us directly at the hotel so we can ensure that a special note is made of your preference in your guest profile. Nevertheless, we are delighted to hear that you overall expectations were met and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Orbitz
Centrally located hotel with great staff. Excellent breakfast. Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms. Great spa and pool.