Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hinsdale Illinois

Fabulous hotel and staff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel a wonderful oasis quiet and elegant. We have traveled for 2 weeks staying in several excellent hotels but the Charles is a cut above the rest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Expedia. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to having you with us again when you're back in Munich. Yours sincerely, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Great luxury hotel very quiet location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Very beautiful hotel, great location in a quiet area in a busy city. Food at the restaurant is top and staff very helpful. Bikes are available if you want to tour the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Walkable to Centre of city

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Good hotel and very courteous and helpful concierge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much More than Expected

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We stopped in Munich for a day as an overnight before we headed home from our European vacation. We had 2 rooms and based on our short experience, I would strongly recommend The Charles Hotel for a stay in Munich based on room product and service. DETAILS What I liked... Room Product: very recently refreshed soft goods (we could still smell the new carpet) and a generous room size make The Charles Hotel's room Product stand out. A lovely bathroom (with one minor note in the next section) was perfect for 2 people to share. A large vanity, walk in shower, and separate tub make for a great bathroom. The room itself is just as good with new furnishings and a door to a Juliet balcony to get fresh air. Solid closet and shelf space are also available for those who have longer stays planned. Service: the bellmen, front desk staff and restaurant staff were all incredibly helpful from the moment we walked up. The hotel is close to the train station, so we decided to walk (about 5 minutes). The bellman ran to us to grab our bags, a great first sign of attentiveness. Our greeting at reception was just as attentive with a great escort up to our room--some of which was so recently refreshed that the woman showing us the room said some of it was new to her too! Location: Munich is a big city, so location is relative. Here's what I liked about the location of The Charles Hotel: first it's on a park, taking a bit of the edge off the big city feel. Second, a lot of things are within a 5-1
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The hotel located on the Sophie street , both side there is forbidden enter , I drove to the hotel , when I saw the sign of "-" forbidden , I made a round turn , the other side also the same forbidden sign , I have to stopped to go to the the hotel, ask the staff to find out , it took me more than 30 minutes to get in , it was not pleasant , hope that sign will be changed ....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay to explore Munich

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Hotel is in heart of Munich and most of attractions are close by. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and serve guests with smile. Max at concierge helped us with map and tickets. I will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by jorge

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Every thing excelent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Guest, We are truly pleased to read your kind comment following your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back again to The Charles Hotel in future. Kind regards, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by Amanda

A very chilled out exclusive hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Lived up to the standards of the other Rocco Forte hotels I have stayed in just excellent and luxurious. In a fab location on the edge of the park with a lovely outside seating area walk into city centre only 5 minutes and a great beer garden over the road and round the corner serving cheap and fab food. Spa is beautiful but lacking a jacuzzi which surprised me. A fantastic choice in Munich. All staff are delightful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a positive review about your recent stay at The Charles Hotel, Munich. We are very delighted to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our ideal location in town and attentive service. We look forward to your return in the very near future. Kind regards, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by gareth

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with great friendly service. A little pricey...... but worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Guest, We are so pleased to hear you had a memorable stay and thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincerely, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mayfair, London

Short historical visit to Munich with my son, 26.

Posted May 29, 2017
Loved the hotel. Perfect welcome, shown to our rooms by Johan (Austrian) who was excellent. Rooms were lovely. Large, clean, very comfortable. Great shower, v comfy big bed. Breakfast was lovely each of our 3 days, out on the terrace. We dined at the hotel on on night, delicious food, if a little restricted in choice. Really, truly, nothing to criticise about the Charles Hotel, and I would stay there again in a heartbeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughtful review and for choosing The Charles Hotel. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the comfortable guestroom and our Restaurant along with the attentive service of our staff. Johannes in particular, was thrilled to be singled out in your review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. With all good wishes, The Charles Hotel Team