Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh

Great hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great food and staff. Very helpful concierge. Near the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Friendly, attentive, clean, relaxing, and super close to Oktoberfest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Location is terrific - close, but not too close to the central strain station. Everything is within walking distance. Room was spacious and bathroom was especially nice. View over the botanical garden and into old town made for a welcome sight every morning. Beds could be a tiny bit softer but this is a tip-notch hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hinsdale Illinois

Fabulous hotel and staff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel a wonderful oasis quiet and elegant. We have traveled for 2 weeks staying in several excellent hotels but the Charles is a cut above the rest!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by PA to General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Expedia. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much look forward to having you with us again when you're back in Munich. Yours sincerely, The Charles Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by Sohrab

Amazing hotel in the heart of Munich!

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Loved it... will be definitely back!
5 out of 5
by andranik

Perfect stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Exceed expectation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal

Great luxury hotel very quiet location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Very beautiful hotel, great location in a quiet area in a busy city. Food at the restaurant is top and staff very helpful. Bikes are available if you want to tour the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Walkable to Centre of city

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Good hotel and very courteous and helpful concierge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much More than Expected

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We stopped in Munich for a day as an overnight before we headed home from our European vacation. We had 2 rooms and based on our short experience, I would strongly recommend The Charles Hotel for a stay in Munich based on room product and service. DETAILS What I liked... Room Product: very recently refreshed soft goods (we could still smell the new carpet) and a generous room size make The Charles Hotel's room Product stand out. A lovely bathroom (with one minor note in the next section) was perfect for 2 people to share. A large vanity, walk in shower, and separate tub make for a great bathroom. The room itself is just as good with new furnishings and a door to a Juliet balcony to get fresh air. Solid closet and shelf space are also available for those who have longer stays planned. Service: the bellmen, front desk staff and restaurant staff were all incredibly helpful from the moment we walked up. The hotel is close to the train station, so we decided to walk (about 5 minutes). The bellman ran to us to grab our bags, a great first sign of attentiveness. Our greeting at reception was just as attentive with a great escort up to our room--some of which was so recently refreshed that the woman showing us the room said some of it was new to her too! Location: Munich is a big city, so location is relative. Here's what I liked about the location of The Charles Hotel: first it's on a park, taking a bit of the edge off the big city feel. Second, a lot of things are within a 5-1
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wish the area were better

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is quite good but now located in an area full of homeless North Africans who drink, take drugs and use the old Munich botanical gardens as a "home". Hard to ignore.