Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Superb City Centre Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The design of the public areas, the staff and the location
Cons: My only small issue were the pillows in my room. For me, they were too soft and unsupportive. But it wouldn't be enough to put me off staying again.
Location: Great for the train and tube network, with the central station being about 2 minutes walk. Also close to the main shopping areas and attractions.
An excellent hotel in the centre of Munich. Ideally located to explore the city centre shops and attractions. Also being located in very close proximity to the Hauptbahnhof, Central Station. The station here provides great links to the Munich underground train system, plus links to many major train services. The underground network from here provides a direct link to Munich Airport, Flughafen Munchen, The journey to the airport is around 40 mins and is reached using the S8 yellow line, on the underground network. The hotel staff were excellent. Everybody we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. The staff on the concierge desk were particularly helpful, with information on directions and attractions around the city, to assisting us on finding nice restaurants and actually making reservations for us too. The hotel had a nice bar, and the 3 nights we stayed, the bar was very busy, particularly with guests that appeared to be on business. But all the staff that served us in the bar were very nice and helpful, even at busy times. The hotel has a nice spa and leisure facilities. The gym is fairly small, but adequate enough to have a work out, running and bike etc. The indoor poor is rather unusual, but I liked it. It's a bit like going into and underground cave, and has some funky design features. I would definitely recommend staying at the Sofitel. Great staff, very good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noice hotel, good location.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very close to the Hauptbahnhof and a short walk from Marienplatz. Excellent hotel, very quiet, friendly staff. Really enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Conveniently near train station.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Comfortable and good bedding.
Cons: Air in room was quite dry
Location: A few minutes walk from the train station
Generally, an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Very near the station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Great location, friendly staff. Room newly refurbished to high standard, very contemporary but comfortable, plenty access to technology/comms etc. The beds were fantastically comfortable and snugly. The room we had reserved was with queen bed which we didn't realise at the time of booking but figured sharing would be ok. However, delighted to find that they were two large single beds together with individual duvets so worked out perfectly - couples or not. As with all women the bathroom is key! Great rainhead shower and Hermes bathing products, fluffy towels. Only draw back was didn't really get the hot loo seat thing...and couldn't work out how to turn it off! Language TV programmes mostly limited to 24-hr news & stock info even at weekend,not able to identify programming schedule or if there was one. No big one as only wanted it whilst changing prior to going out in evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.Paulo/Brasil

Nice hotel downtown Munich !

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, modern installations in a antique building.
Cons: The cleaning of the rooms ! It was not done properly ! And also small details, forgotten to take away empty bottles, replace toiletpaper,....
Location: Excellent location, few meters away from U-&S-Bahn.
Excellent reception, nice room. Very good location in the heart of the city, easy to reach everything with U- or S-Bahn from Hauptbahnhof, around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Center of everything in Munich.....next to the main train station so easy for travel to and from Airport and within walking to most things.
Great hotel with very cozy rooms and a nice spa! Staff were great although wanted 120 Euro for a late checkout which was a bit extreme.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

Modern flair in historical setting

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It was super quiet and nice bed. The staff is excellent. Accomodated all needs. Great breakfast. Recommend the room service Arabian breakfast. Easy walk from train station and Oktoberfest. Only complaints: For a luxury hotel the toilet paper was very cheap and felt like sandpaper! Also I paid for a "view" room and the view was the street and buildings (?) that was deceiving....website makes it look different...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

Great staff

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The location is just perfect, the spa is so nice, the guest relations team were great. Our only problem was the bed, the gave us 2 beds beside each other with 2 blankets and called it kings bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

CLOSE TO EVERYTHING

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very nice, clean and well maintained. Its right next to the Hauptbahnhof, so you are close to everything in the city center.
Cons: The food is not very good, especially for the amount of money they charge. If you smoke, plan on having to go a fair distance to get outside.
The hotel has a lot of facilities, but it's far too expensive. You can do better for far less. There are a lot of creepy people begging for money; mostly immigrants from Syria, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dana Point Ca

Great hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Best concierge and overall customer service we have ever experienced. Very convenient location and well designed rooms. O