Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anup Kumar

Feel the Munnar with Windermere....!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Well, What should i say ? :) The whole experience was "Awesome, Cherishing & Everlasting in our memories" if i should summarize in one sentence. Me and my cousin were looking for a honeymoon destination in munnar and were searching for our destinations. We contacted many hotels, enquired the details and facilities and finalised it to final 3. Then the only obstacle to decide the final 1 is up-to each one's taste. Well, we prioritised our destination to be nature friendly, more in scenic spot, Classic and typical-hand-architected cottages, good hospitality and calm & serene atmosphere, but still with latest techs., everywhere around. And if u are a person of our taste, there we don't have to do a double thinking; I strongly suggest "WINDERMERE ESTATE" for you. The location was made little exclusive, so you won't find any sign boards to this resort; - rely on your google map for this; The check-in, familiarisation and introduction to cottage/room amenities etc were good and descent. We stayed there for 3 days and i found it to be one of the best cherishing and lasting good memories in my life (especially if u are a honeymooner :D ). They won't confuse you with their food choices as it the menu is fixed. But u don't have to worry as the food is prepared with utmost care and designed to your taste. And finally i would say we would like to re-visit the resort some time later as a reminiscence of some good old days, when u turn back pages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P-D

Know its history to really 'get' this unique place

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Close to Munnar yet perched high above this slightly scrappy town gives this historical place a lofty view of the verdant valleys. The staff are very helpful and friendly on all levels. We felt it very important to know this place's unique history to really understand what the owners are trying to achieve. Its still a working coffee and cardommon plantation which makes the site feel very real and genuine. The coffee (naturally) is good as well as the food freshly prepared and locally sourced. I notice previous negative comment on the furniture, decor and building design but this is all part of its character and heritage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely peaceful property in the hills

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
A very warm welcome and superb, friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was superb. We really appreciated our room upgrade too-a lovely surprise when we arrived! Many thanks to all staff at Windermere for making our stay so enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In Gods own country with the mist on your face!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Gods own country on Gods own peak . Lovely holiday, no booze, and the food is average but well prepared. The resort is lovely- carry your own snacks and booze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tranquility itself!

Posted Oct 21, 2015
We stayed in one of the Planter's cottages - it was wonderful. Peaceful, comfortable and amazing views. The food in the dining room was second to none, we wish we had stayed longer!!!
5 out of 5
by Shalin from Boston

Flawless. Best stay in India.

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels
After hopping city to city in India, I was looking for a escape from the noise, pollution, and general chaos. Enter: windermere estate. The room looked over a valley carpeted in tea estates. A naturalist led a trek through the estate each day. Breakfast was sumptuous (who provides a fruit BASKET instead of a fruit cup? These Guys). I basically walked around the estate, breathed in fresh air, read on the lookout point or in the estates library, and got some solace before jumping back into Mumbai. And the best part: dinner. Don't go anywhere else. This is one of the best meals you'll have in India.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Beautiful peaceful place

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Its professionalism, relaxed atmosphere and attention to detail.
This was by some distance the nicest accommodation we stayed in during our 18 days in Kerala. We had a spacious cabin with a bathroom big enough to bathe a medium-sized elephant. It was beautifully-furnished in a very cool, understated way, and immaculately clean. The hotel staff were without exception friendly, courteous and professional. We liked the fact that there were some structured opportunities to mix and mingle, ie the excellent, free, guided walks, and the pre-dinner barbecues. Equally we liked the peace and quiet and the privacy. The reading room above the dining room was an unexpectedly lovely place, with views so distractingly lovely that I don't imagine anyone does much reading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Doha, Qatar

Nice hotel with a great view to relax

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: I especially liked the eagerness of the staff to make us as comfortable as possible
Cons: Firstly, the power is not stable till the generator is switched on at 6PM. Secondly, provide more options for dinner rather than a set menu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by IndianTraveller from Singapore

Excellent property and great staff

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: Pros – Beautiful surroundings, old world charm, excellent service from staff
Cons: Cons – Lights in the room was a bit dim, the room had brick type flooring and the coating was sticking our legs
Location: Excellent - but a bit way from the main town.
We stayed at Windermere for 2 nights and it was the highlight of our Kerala Trip. The estate is surrounded completely by plantations and is serene and wonderful. The views from the top most point of the resort are absolutely stunning. Most importantly the staff and the service level was exceptional. We were treated like royalty and the restaurant food (though a bit pricey) was just amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS from Sussex, UK

A great hotel

Posted May 12, 2013
The hotel was excellent. Staff could not have been more helpful. The food was quite limited but very good and as most people seem to only stay a few days it didn't matter. We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend it.