Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Handy stop on our itinerary

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Walkable to eateries in Murchison. Handy stop on our itinerary.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Not a lot going on in Murchison for us but handily only a couple of hours from Picton Ferry.
We booked this the day before arriving at Hotel. Convenient clean and comfortable. Good parking. Handy stop on our itinerary
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Motel Mataki

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: location and general condition of the rooms
Cons: customer service - needs a MASSIVE improvement.
Location: great location if travelling down south, and lots of cafes, and activities to do whle you are there.
Nice motel, good location off the main road. rooms well appointed with newly renovated bathroom. Staff were most unhelpful prior to our arrival, and were rude on the phone when we rung to seek a slightly earlier check-in. We were told that he couldn't kick people out prior to the 10am departure (we asked to check in at 1pm). We were greeted by a 3 year old and it took quite a few minutes for the 'manager' to come and assist. It felt like he didn't really want us there and made a comment about our family which I thought was extremely rude. Customer service needs serious improvement!
5 out of 5
by Warren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for one night stay

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Nice and cosy with heater and lots of bed clothes
Location: Murchison not a big place so nothing far away
Very very small room. Nice and quiet. Wouldn't recommend for more than one night stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Canterbury

Nice place

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Wotif
Just a quick overnighter. It was very muggy, so a fan woukd have been handy, but all in all a lovely place.
3 out of 5
by Lucy

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Small room, silly bathroom doors, should be sliders. Not overly great checkin service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Pleasant spot for a stopver

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Helped to break up the very long drive from Picton to Kaikoura. Very reasonably priced 2 bedroom apartment (all that was available) which meant our 8 month old could sleep in a seperate bedroom and we could use the kitchen - heaven. All nice and clean, easy walk to town for a bite to eat... as long as you time it for opening hours.
4 out of 5
by Elaine

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were just passing through and stayed one night. Everything was fine. Bring your own toiletries...only soap is provided.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Lastminute
Manager cancelled our booking- said he had overbooked
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Murchison

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Book early if you want to break the journey between Blenheim and Christchurch. Nice clean and tidy