Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Pleasant spot for a stopver

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Helped to break up the very long drive from Picton to Kaikoura. Very reasonably priced 2 bedroom apartment (all that was available) which meant our 8 month old could sleep in a seperate bedroom and we could use the kitchen - heaven. All nice and clean, easy walk to town for a bite to eat... as long as you time it for opening hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Murchison

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Book early if you want to break the journey between Blenheim and Christchurch. Nice clean and tidy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and quiet

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Enjoyed the space and the quiet, esp needed 2 separate beds as friend was sick, comfortable and spacious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellington, new zealand

Clean, basic, quiet motel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location being about midway between Picton ferry and Christchurch which is now a long drive due to Kaikoura earthquake.
Cons: Having decent bedside lights that enable reading; they look pretty but no good for reading in bed.
Location: Near to town centre.
Enjoyed the facilities; everything needed for a quick overnight stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Essentials for a good nights sleep

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Quiet, clean, good heat.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Murchison has a few places to eat, with friendly staff. I wasn't there as a tourist, I was just travelling through, but a pleasant town.
I only wanted a clean comfortable room, in a quiet location where I could get a good nights sleep. That's what I found at Mataki. Clean room, recently decorated, clean soft towels, great heater, comfortable bed, in a quiet place. I would stay there next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: the whole experience , comfortable rooms , excellent shower pressure
Cons: nothing was happy would stay there again and recommend to every one
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic Kiwi Motel

Posted May 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly manager, solved problems quickly and cheerfully (turned the internet modem on that covered our room that someone had turned off). While a classic Kiwi motel on the outside, there had been a lot of good work done on the room - very modern and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by David from Winchester UK

Clean but very small motel room

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our brief stop in Murchison but the motel room was small compared to all others we had used on our travels in NZ.
4 out of 5
by Julie from whangarei

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a room with a kitchenette, found there was only a microwave, for a fee we were given a kitchenette, not good. otherwise very nice.