Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
A Swiss-style hotel a short tram ride outside the historic centre. Friendly staff and good facilities and reasonably priced for Bern
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and accommodating. The staff were very good.
Cons: Nothing in particular.
Location: No real knowledge.
The Hotel Sternen was a comfortable room. The staff were very agreeable. If the people next door had not talked from 2am to 5am it would have been an ideal stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice cozy country hotel near to the town

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
Sternen Muri is a very good located country hotel within reach of Berne town center by commuter train respectively public transport of the town of Berne. The restaurant is smashing with friendly staff and excellent cuisine! The reception area is new refurbished and reminds of an modern five star hotel. The late check-in was quick all was ready to sign, no long waiting. The welcome by the staff warm and friendly! The room was with personal welcome gifts and cards decorated and the cleanness was amazing! We found free water, a basket of fruits and Swiss chocolate waiting for us! The breakfast offers a variety of choices of beverage and food! Only disappointing issue was, for fright eggs you have to pay extra! The products however are all of first class quality! Check out was quick as well, we were even supplied with a day travel card for Berne Regional Public Transport! Overall a smashing experience! We will go back again and again! As Expedia is displaying “Free Carpark” we entered the underground parking of the hotel. But actually only the parking space around the hotel is free of charge, so we paid CHF 15.00 for 12h parking. Expedia should verify clearly the wording “Free Car Parking” by saying where this is applicable! Also one remark; The underground Car Parking has a very narrow entry and you can easily damage your wheels in curbs and at entry!
4 out of 5
by Val from AZ

Hotel in Beautiful Bern

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Proximity to tram into the old town. Lovely city.
Cons: Provide aid conditioning so you can close the windows at night and not be awakened by the clanging bell every quarter hour!
Location: 5 minute walk to tram taking you to the old town.
We stayed two nights in this hotel. Finding the reception desk when you first arrive is a challenge. You must climb a flight of stairs, pass the restaurant, and search for the desk. It is hidden. Once we found this, it was a nice hotel. The reception desk staff were nice, but not overly helpful. The waitstaff in the restaurant were wonderful and more helpful. The hotel lists free parking onsite. There are only approximately 5 free spots on the side of the hotel. Otherwise, the underground garage requires daily fees. There is no help with luggage. There is no air conditioning, although it is cool enough to leave the windows open during the summer. However, it is located very near a loud clock or church bell that chimed every quarter hour 24/7. Leaving your windows open at night means not much sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from Iowa

Convenient and well-kept place

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: Convenience to train, cleanliness and friendliness/helpfulness of staff.
Cons: AC or a bigger fan.
Our room was in the extension (new) area. It was clean and comfortable. We were only given a very small fan, though, (no ac) and it was HOT. This hotel is less than a block to the train and bus station, which takes you to Old Town in about 15 minutes. There is an onsite restaurant which was good for dinner, and breakfast is free and very good. They also validate your parking.
3 out of 5
by Eanna

Way far out of town

Posted Jun 16, 2013
The hotel was nice but I was expecting to be saying in a place like their pictures, thumbs out that just the front building. My room was on an addition to the back which was very 90's and not classic Swiss. For that price I was expecting an super nice room, it was nice and clean but nothing amazing. The bed wasn't very soft. And I was woken up at 7:30 by someone mowing outside. The food in the restaurant was really good, but again very pricy. It was so far out of town the taxi ride cost 34 CHF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rog from Lancashire, UK

Pleasing in Switzerland

Posted Mar 19, 2012
Pros: Excellent Evening Meal
Location: Good location on tram route and 5 mins from centre of Berne
Good clean hotel, and rooms well decorated. Excellent Evening Food menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Randolph, NJ

One of the best hotels around Berne

Posted Mar 19, 2010
The hotel lived up to its 4- star rating. The buffet breakfast was excellent. If you do not mind changing two connecting trams from the Berne station, it is an excellent place to spend your holiday here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Pukalani, Maui

Wonderful hotel and great location. Will definitely go back to Hotel Sternen.

Posted Apr 16, 2009
What a wonderful and charming hotel. Loved all the cow art and the large modern rooms. The breakfast was the best! The best scrambled eggs I've ever had. Right next door to the post office, train station and doctor's office. If I visit Switzerland again, will definitely go back to this hotel. Thank you Expedia for connecting us.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel, 10 min. Van centrum Bern.

Posted May 11, 2016
In 10 min. Met tramkaartje van het hotel in de stad Bern. Minpuntje internet steeds opnieuw inloggen, en dunne en te weinig kussens.