Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to zoo and murrayfield stadium

Posted Jan 15, 2018
I booked here as we were spending a day at the zoo. We like walking and this was about 1mile from the zoo and 2 miles into the grassmarket area of Edinburgh. We also walked about 1 mile to a cinema complex and lots of places to eat around haymarket train station and murrayfield. The hotel itself seemed recently decorated,, smart and comfortable with pleasant staff. Good value stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington , NZ

Edinburgh Visit while on holiday in UK

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: as above
Cons: na
Location: Opposite Murrayfield Rugby stadium, Hop On Hop Off bus tours
Great hotel, on the bus route, bus stop just down the road , airlink bus dropped us there, Bus came every 10 or so mins both ways, excellent breakfast and restaurant meals, Also found a bar in the shopping area with real cheap and filling meals Edinburgh Castle, HMS Britannia and Castle Hollyrood are must visits.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Epsom

Murrayfield Hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Include breakfast in the room rate, reduce the price of the drinks at the bar and reconfigure the rooms to provide more space, with adult chairs.
Location: Location great, lots to do in Edinburgh, skating, museums, the castle, Mary king close etc.
This was a nice hotel in a great location for visiting Edinburgh, with excellent, friendly staff. However the rooms we stayed in were very small with a chair and desk set built for a Gnome, also the breakfast was not provided as part of the room rate (added extra) and the drinks in the bar were quite expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed at. I would recommend this hotel if visiting for a Rugby match at Murrayfield, as it is opposite, but not for anything else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincs

Very modern clean hotel

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Lovely hotel. Room was noisy at night when there was live music downstairs and a little bit further out of town than we expected but overall good hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elgin

few days away

Posted Dec 4, 2017
just back from a 3 night stay here,would highly recommend,the room are comfortable,spacious and nice and warm.Lovely breakfast in the morning although my husband had Salmon and scrabled egg 1 morning and the salmon was very tough which is so unusual for smoked salmon but all in all a very good stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

3 star hotel that deserves 5

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: the good food and bar and a very comfortable bed
this is my third visit to this hotel and I enjoy every minute. very comfortable modern rooms. great restaurant and bar with good food and very accomadating staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leeds

Posted Dec 4, 2017
We were in Edinburgh for a weekend break and booked into Murrayfields Hotel for two nights. We got upgraded on arrival into a big lovely room in 'the house'. Staff were excellent. Hotel was brilliant for busses into Edinburgh. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Rugby supporters - ideal

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Luxurious. It was a level (or 2) above the average with dressing gowns, slippers, better than average tea, coffee etcetera with huge beds.
Cons: Very little if anything
Location: Loads of things to do in Edinburgh, best to search the local websites if you're looking for something specific
Ideal for those who like the oval shaped ball (egg-chasers) Not too far fro Haymarket station and just a bus ride to Princess St
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Nov 24, 2017
I only stayed here for one night. I was surprised about the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, and the bed was very comfy. My only problem was that there was a noise coming from the top of the room, probably the boiler, it was a bit annoying but otherwise lovely room for a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr, Scotland

Lovely friendly hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We stayed here for a weekend of theatre and rugby. Knowing the hotel would be busy didn’t deter us. The hotel and staff were helpful and couldn’t do enough for us. One let down was the room was a bit on the small side. It was more like a single room with a double bed but still very comfortable. However, because of the rugby taking place there was a wonderful view of portaloos outside our window. But it wouldn’t stop us returning and hopefully it will be in the very near future.