Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Middle East

A good hotel with staff that go the extra mile!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The staff - Excellent. Can't say enough in this space. A quality of service uncommonly good in hotels across the entire price band.
Cons: More kids amenities which are in the works.
Location: It's a great base for exploring the area. The coastline and the city of Muscat itself are both very accessible but a hire car was a plus.
If you're looking for glitzy high-end opulence then this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a recently refurbished hotel in an excursion friendly location with a compliment of staff that goes the extra mile for their guest every single day then this place if for you. This hotel was refurbished some six months ago. It's a smaller hotel with comfortable, clean well-appointed rooms. It has a nice outdoor pool, excellent gym and spa facilities and a dining room that provides consistently good food and puts on events for guests most nights. The fish BBQ night is a local hot favorite and has been for years. The hotel works hard to cater to the needs of families and took great care of us and our high-octane two-year-old little boy with personal touches to the service rarely seen in a hotel. For those seeking a beach vacation or resort style vacation, this place may not suit you. It has a private beach a short trip from the hotel which we didn't use so can't comment. As a relaxing, comfortable and well-run base for exploring the area, business trips or a short weekend by the pool this is very hard to beat. The staff are all outstanding as I say, but I would like to make mention of the following individuals who truly made our trip memorable and special:- Sameh the Operations Manager, a career specialist in hotel management and a credit to the Sheraton brand. In the restaurant: Chamath (Asst Manager Restaurant) Sampad (Restaurant Manager) Kristel (‎Hostess)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta, canada

nice clean quiet business hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: business, clean, quiet and great staff
Cons: nothing
Location: on business, was not there to do other than business
it was pleasant, quiet, clean and the staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice but since on business did not get to enjoy them fully
5 out of 5
by Francois

One of the best hotel stay ever

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
Truly five star service, from check-in to concierge to poolside. Friendly and they are not faking it. Beautiful sparkly clean hotel, looks new. Close to the souk and the old town. Please please do not increase your prices so that we can afford to return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Tallest Hotel in Town...

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Nice facilities...recently remodeled, they did a great job!
Cons: Allow for complementry unlimited Internet for guests...we carry far more than 4 devices between the two of us on leisure trips.
Location: In a government district, you will need a car or taxis to see the sights of the Muscat area.
We stayed at the recently remodeled Sheraton Oman Hotel. The hotel was very nice with upgraded amenities that we have come to expect in our world travels...and the staff was also first rate. While they could do with more restaurant options, the food was good also with excellent service (though food prices were a bit high, even for the buffets). While there is no water view, get a room overlooking the Ministry of Commerce as there are some nice views to be had at sunset overlooking the mountains. Also, as this hotel is in the government area, be prepared to have either a rental car (they drive significantly more sane in Muscat as their highway system is relatively new with good traffic flows even during rush hour) or taxis to get to the old waterfront or malls. As this is the tallest hotel, if not building in Muscat, gathering something in the upper half of the building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Excellent hotel, the beds are the ONLY okay thing about this wonderful hotel, a bit pricey though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel in commercial area of Muscat

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The hotel is clean and the staff is very helpful. Room service is fast.
Location: The hotel is a bit isolated, separated from the city by a major highway. Taxis are needed to go to places of interest.
The Muscat Sheraton is a renovated hotel, recently reopened after 10 years. Very well run, comfortable, good food. It is a bit far from tourist attractions, and serves mostly business clients. However, the Muscat souq is a short taxi ride away, and is at the harbor with restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel for business travelers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable, friendly hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The staff, the room, the comfy bed, the outdoor pool, the 'signature' massage in the spa, the tea and coffee making facilities in the room, big TV.
Cons: Nearby traffic was a little noisy, at the same time I would like to have been able to open my window (in the daytime).
Location: A 10 minute taxi drive away is the Muttrah Corniche and walk along the sea front, the Souk is good, but the Fish Souk is better and very photogenic
I trvelled by myself for my birthday and had such a nice few days. The staff became like friends. My deluxe room had the most comfy bed ever, and loads of space, a nice bathroom too. A lovely outdoor pool and recommend a massage in the spa. Very helpful concierges that gave me great advice about trios and things to do...Muttrah was just a 10 minute taxi ride away.
5 out of 5
by Steve

A Stellar Experience

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The Sheraton Muscat exceeded our expectations and was one of our best hotel stays ever! The staff was OUTSTANDING. Kind, helpful, and personable. I felt like I had made new friends when I left. The restaurant was great, the food terrific and amenities top notch. I wish we'd have ahad more time to just enjoy the hotel and all it had to offer. I look forward to a day when I can return. In the meantime I will talk it up to all my friends and connections.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels