Ratings based on 1,930 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Hotel was adequate for such a stay. Lacked luxury I had experienced in near by same standard hotel. Bedroom rather clinical and cold feel to it... the corridor outside had a softer tone and warmth. Food ok in bar, as restaurant closed on a Monday. Would have preferred more fine dinning instead of burger environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect!

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Room staff location
It was in an ideal location for walking about. The staff were so attentive and dealt with our broken safe immediately, really apologised and gave us chocolates! The room was perfect for three daughters and a mum's weekend away. Great hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Istanbul, Turkey

City Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Excellent location. Nice and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Recommend to families and tourists to Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel for families

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Great for families. Good location. Clean and friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No comment

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Terrible incidents happened to me. The hotel has compensated me for 1 night for all the hassle happened to me
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good hotel in great location

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: location, rooms and staff.
Cons: the breakfast price.
really good hotel with great access to all the attractions in Amsterdam. Good transport links, excellent bus service to airport virtually outside the hotel. The room was spacious and had everything you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent uk

Weekend in ‘Dam

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Booked this hotel for 2 nights as friends wanted a ‘name’ hotel. Great position just to south of the canal ring. Couple of minutes walk to all main attractions Check in excellent - very friendly Aussie lady - room good. Disappointed no dressing gown in room and bottled water was on there for one night. However bed was v comfy and tv had all channels needed. Could have done with more sound proofing as although on side of hotel road noise was considerable through the night. Also noise from corridors as people opened and closed doors. No milk for tea or coffee but we left note for this and it appeared second night. No breakfast included in my deal so overal a little expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend In Amsterdam

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Great location
Location: Near Leidseplein with a great choice of bars and restaurants.
Overall ok. This is a 4 star not a 5 star hotel. Bar at front of hotel taking advantage of passing trade means the hotel loses exclusivity. So the first impression when entering is a busy public bar open to the public. Clean and tidy room, not big but adequate. Over priced for what it is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Honestly I was expecting a better junior suite ; my wife and i stood for 3 nights in this Hotel in a Junior suite where the least I could say that it would be considered as a normal room in another hotel . Imagine u can find no drawer (not even a small one ) in the whole « Suite » . Bathroom is too small to be in any « Suite » room ... I would rate it Maximum 2/5 ...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Modern hotel, excellent location.

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds. Excellent location for museums and park.
Cons: System for breakfast should be tighter.
Location: Great for Vondelpark and museums. Easy access to canal and tram transport. Cafes and shops accessible.
This was our second stay at the hotel but we probably won't have a third. It is "ok" . The best thing in a Marriott is always the comfortable bed and levels of cleanliness and this was largely true of the hotel this time too. We were in Amsterdam with our elderly mother, treating her after a hard year of illness but a few issues made it less than relaxing. We were unfortunate in having to change rooms due to a disgusting smell in the bathroom pipes; people came quickly to try to fix it but a quick clean and caustic soda were not the answer. Having been told the hotel was full, a room was "magically" available after our third phone call, which we were grateful for but we didn't sleep well afterwards. Day 2 was great! When we came to check out our bill was wrong and we found ourselves at the reception, explaining that we hadn't had extra breakfasts but had pre-paid for breakfasts each day. Our previous stay included use of the Executive Lounge: we didn't need that this time but we didn't feel we were treated with the same courtesy by all the staff. Although these issues are not huge, supporting someone around Amsterdam is hard work and additional things to sort out at the hotel don't help. Little stresses add up!