Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.3 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Damien

Very close to Leidesplien..

Posted Apr 25, 2012 on Hotels
Very confusing on arrival and not the De Lantaerne at all it was the Hotel Marnix!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

don't book this place

Posted Jan 1, 2012
the room was horrible and way too expensive, one of the worst places i've ever been
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cheap economy - get what you pay for

Posted Dec 27, 2011 on Hotels
Location is good, they're nice and helpful, and you get exactly what you pay for. It's cheap, the beds are uncomfortable, the rooms are small, the wi-fi didn't work very well but for what I paid for one night for a single i wouldn't dare complain. Even the breakfast is cheap and exactly worth that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

De Lantaerne - Amsterdam

Posted Aug 18, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is not where the map showed it to be - it is nearer to liedseplein and rijksmusem, not dam square. The location is fine, and it's just far enough away from liedseplein to be fairly quiet. The hotel is basic, but you get what you pay for, and it was comfortable and clean. The stairs are seriously steep though!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Lantaerne is not a hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2011 on Hotels
The Lantaerne has an incorrect address and street listed on hotels.com. They have from 6 to 10 bunks in a small room. There is only one toilet for 6 of these rooms. There is only one shower for this number of rooms. There are no elevators and the stairs are very narrow and steep. (I was on the 4th floor.) This is not a hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

a mouse in your pillow in De Lantaerne

Posted Jul 9, 2011
We booked for 5 nights. On the 4th night, a mouse jumped out of a pillow just as my wife was about to lie down. We asked for two mouse traps, sticky pads. Within 2 hours, we caught two mice, which had been seen crawling over the spare blanket in the wardrobe. We asked for two more traps, but then we only heard the noise, no more catch. We had a sleepless night. We realized that the dark stuff on the beds was mouse feces. We had to leave the hotel, but without getting any refund for the 5th night. The hotel's explanation is that the mice problem is a local problem, with all the hotels in the Centrum Canal area. We would advise anyone not to book this hotel, if finding a mouse in your pillow bothers you, not to mention the health hazards. I wonder if staying in a clean hotel outside the Centrum area would be a better choice. With the IAmsterdam Card for free transit, one can afford to lose the convenience for the sake of a sound sleep. But I also doubt if all the hotels in the Centrum Canal area have mice hidden in the pillow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

not impressed

Posted Jun 28, 2011
the size of the room was for 1 person at the most. No space to keep even a small baggage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

A bit too expensive for the quality

Posted Jun 24, 2011
A bit too expensive for the quality
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel De Lataerne...DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Posted Jun 1, 2011 on Hotels
The first thing that happens is that you arrive at the Hotel De Lataerne and then see a sign on the door informing you that you need to go across the street to register at Hotel Marnix. Then once you arrive there you climb the stairs to the hotel entrance to then find that the Hotel Registration is in the Internet Cafe on the ground floor. You then begin the registration process and learn that your room is not in De Lataerne across the street but in Hotel Marnix which you did not pay for! The evening service is inconsistent. I truly felt that the hotel staff was trying to make the best of a bad situation...but the "hotel" is unacceptable and a very bad joke! Especially at the price they were charging...much better can be found for less! This I found out personally.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

get wot u pay for

Posted May 9, 2011 on Hotels
resonable location, top floor, steeps stairs, room old and a bit grotty breakfast a "free for all". crisps eaten by something other than the occupants of the room ?? rats!!!!! usual standard for budget hotel in amsterdam