Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Extraordinary Hotel in the Museum District

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Rooms are spacious, we had a loft design.
Cons: Full marks, no improvements required.
Location: We visited the Van Gogh and Rijx museums.
The Conservatorium is a well renovated Music Conservatory with all the modern amenities that still possesses the magical old world charm. It is steps from many museums which makes getting to early morning museum access very easy. Service was impeccable, the best of the best. This hotel made our Amsterdam visit memorable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the very kind review of your recent visit to the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted that you loved the location of our hotel as well as your spacious room and that our professional and conscientious staff took good care of you. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the center of amsterdam

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very nice place Exceptional services Friendly staff Great food Room spotless In The heart of Amsterdam
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the kind review of your recent visit to the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted that you loved the location of our hotel as well as our friendly and professional staff who hopefully took good care of you during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Luxury stay for family of four

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Everything! Stylish, serene, calm, welcoming with superior staff!
Cons: For a family with young kids, a pool with more flexible hours for families to use.
Location: Great location - on Museumplein, so all the major museums are 2-5 minutes away on foot! Also, tram stops across the street. Vondelpark 3 blocks away
The Conservatorium Hotel made an impression on us from the moment our car service pulled into their private courtyard. Getting out of our car into such a serene and welcoming environs just made us feel like we were on holiday. The staff was phenomenal, especially with hos they engaged our children, ages 6 and 9. To make our family feel more at home, they upgraded us to a larger suite than we had originally booked. The room was magnificent - a corner suite with gorgeous views, massive windows and soaring 14 foot ceilings. The earth tone colors combined modern lines with luxury finishes such as carmel color leather chairs, limestone flooring, separate soaking tub, shower and toilet. There is plenty of storage for a family of 4. Closets were spacious and we really appreciated the available Stutterheim raincoats; luckily the weather was gorgeous and we did not need them! We took advantage of room service a couple of times. They were accommodating and the food arrive quickly. The food was delicious. The Brasserie was also wonderful. The setting is tranquil and elegant but comfortable and not relaxing. We enjoyed dessert on the terrace a couple of times as well. The gym is also a decently equipped center. We understand that the spa pool is mainly for adults looking to luxuriate. We were glad that they had two 90 minute slots during the day when children could use the pool. For a family with young kids, this is the only thing I wish could have been different.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an amazing review! We are thrilled to hear of your delight in your spacious suite, our friendly and professional staff, Room Service, The Brasserie and the gym and hope that your children were not too disappointed in only having a couple of slots per day in which to use the swimming pool. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca.

Wonderful Royal Suite Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
When we arrived, we were given a tour of our room, and an explanation of how everything worked, and where everything was- light switches, room safe, etc. also, because we were traveling with our young daughter, they had kindly made the sofa downstairs into a bed for her. Because we were so tired from traveling, we ordered room service, the French fries arrived tasty, crispy & hot and the tuna sandwich was also delicious. Our room didn't include breakfast, but we paid for the buffet, and while it was expensive, it was really, really great. My husband gorged himself on fresh squeezed orange juice, and I loved all the amazing yogurts (in glass jars), cheeses & meats. They even had passion fruit among the fruit choices. Traveling out to the museums, it was raining heavily, but not to worry, they had full size umbrellas for all of us. It seems the Conseratorium has thought of everything. We truly had a wonderful stay and will certainly return next time we are in Amsterdam!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your spacious room and courteous, professional customer service and so pleased that you did not allow the inclement weather put a dampener on your exploration of the local museums. We are also thrilled to learn that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back on the next occasion. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and Staff

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The hotel it's old. Although, it's very nice and great service. Great for walking distance to a lot of museums
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the kind review of your recent visit to the Conservatorium hotel. It gives us great pleasure to hear of your delight in our hotel and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
The two story rooms are a huge safety issue especially in the middle of the night. The price is certainly not worth it at this hotel !! The front desk staff during the day is extremely nice and helpful. I ran out of Euros and the front desk was so kind as to let me know that the exchange rate was very high and she was kind enough to charge 30 Euros to my room. My traveling companion has the same issue later and the male desk clerk in the evening was very rude to her and said they were not a bank.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the review of your recent stay at the Conservatorium hotel. We appreciate your honesty and your comments regarding areas for improvement will help us to continually enhance the guest experience. We have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of promptly and efficiently handling our guests’ needs. We do hope you will return and stay with us again. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Beautiful hotel, used to be a music school/conservatory. Gorgeous architecture. Great staff, concierge etc. public spaces all beautiful, cozy upscale cocktail bar--really enjoyed! Easy in and our with sharp attentive valet team! Loft style room was really cool ie glass stair rails, gorgeous bathroom, TV in mirror....stayed two nights, wish it was longer. Would absolutely recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the very kind review of your recent visit to the Conservatorium hotel. We are delighted that you loved the architecture, bar, loft style room and the help from our conscientious staff and hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your 5/5 rating on Expedia and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Wonderful hotel with helpful staff

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The Conservatorium is in a great location across the street from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museums. Our junior suite was beautiful with unique architecture, wood arches, and tons of light through windows across the wall and as skylights in the ceiling. Staff was wonderful and helpful. They got us reservations at two top restaurants, which is difficult to do on short notice in Amsterdam. They also arranged several of our activities. A++!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely review of your recent visit to the Conservatorium Hotel. We are thrilled that you loved your room and that our helpful and diligent staff were able to assist you with arranging your activities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very shortly. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

An exceptional treat.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Excellent location across the street from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. Modern vibe and high-end service. Club sandwich!
Cons: Nitpicking: Upstairs hallways get warm and stuffy...open a window. Garbage cans in rooms are annoying..."light" garbage doesn't tilt the top.
Location: Van Gogh Museum is definitely worth the trip. Plenty of shopping nearby. Make dinner reservations early, because popular restaurants do fill up.
I loved this hotel! I spent three nights there in April while traveling with my 14-year old daughter. When we stepped out of the cab, the doorman probably saved our lives by hustling out of the bike lane. The check-in process was seamless; the hotel actually DID have a room for early check-in...a rarity and a welcome surprise after an overnight flight from the U.S. We checked in at the hotel atrium, a spectacular, enormous glass-ceilinged lobby which accommodates not only the check in desk and concierge desk, but also a lounge area and restaurant. The space is so beautiful and voluminous that most guests were moved to take photos (I certainly was). Our suitcases were whisked up to the room in seconds. The room was a spacious duplex with modern furnishings and amenities and a long wall of windows. We ate a couple of meals in the hotel (best club sandwich I ever had!) took advantage of spa services (well done), and relied heavily on the concierges for planning (very helpful). The indoor pool is a quiet dream-like oasis in neon blue. At every step I was impressed. It's not cheap, but it's a bargain for this level of service and luxury. I travel extensively in high-end properties, and I will definitely be back to the Conservatorium.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by CHA, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review of you and your daughter’s recent stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you both had a wonderful visit and were able to make use of our swimming pool as well as trying out the Brasserie. It’s very good to hear that you will visit us again next time you are in our neighbourhood as we very much look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen Hotel Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam