Ratings based on 2,066 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: It's location
Cons: The hotel and it's decor feels very dated and very tired.
Location: We saw Future Islands at The Paradiso, which is in easy walking distance. The Museums are all easy walking distance. Great position to venture from.
We were placed in one of the black rooms. We didn't put our bags down. The staff were very accommodating in arranging a room more to our taste, i.e, not black!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Nicolette, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and review. We are happy to inform you that the hotel will be renovated beginning 2018. We hope to welcome you again in the near future to see the modifications. With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Beautiful room and great facilities. Lovely part of town, with easy access to tourists attractions and short walk to night districts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Ken, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and review posting. Good to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Superb city centre hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
A really excellent hotel with suberb attentive staff from the concierge to the desk staff and those in the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Ken T., Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and feedback. We are pleased to read that you've experienced a pleasant stay with excellent service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Great location for exploring the city. Close to Rijks and easy walking to cafe's, nightlife.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Ken T., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your visit and your positive feedback on your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McDonough, GA

Centrally located historical hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, though it was under renovation. Room overlooked the canals and was within good walking distance from everything. Wasn’t told there was no parking though, which cost us $80 USD/day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by Ken T., Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and feedback. Due to the rich history and architecture of this hotel an indoor parking is unfortunately impossible to realize. The Amsterdam Municipality makes parking within the city center rather expensive. Please contact us directly if you wish to know the available parking options. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

First rate great location

Posted Nov 4, 2017
This is a lovely hotel. You can see and feel the historical importance of this Art Nouveau location. The staff is friendly, helpful and always available while respectng the privacy of the guest. The breakfast buffet is delicious and plentiful, fueling us for the fun activities of the city. The location is perfect, allowing us to walk to museums, shopping, and other historical destinations in Amsterdam and come back to rest between adventures. Be sure to look at the artwork hanging in the hotel and do not miss the tiles on the way to the toilet from the cafe. We look forward to our next visit and highly recommend the Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Place and well located

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Location and the staff
It was very good I have expended 2 days at this hotel very well located, good staff and good food. the only issue is the noise that you hear when people walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Anniversary weekend

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Loved this hotel. In walking distance for everything. Lovely staff! We really enjoyed our weekend with you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Great location with excellent canal view. My only complaint or disappointment is that they set up scaffolding outside our window for the last 4 days of our stay which took away from the view and not being able to leaving our window open as workers were out there on the scaffold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fab Hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2017
A lovely hotel in a fantastic location in Amsterdam. The staff were all Really polite and couldn't do enough to help!