Ratings based on 2,365 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Lovely & comfortable very Helpful Staff

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Large rooms Very comfortable Bed very pleasant staaff
Cons: Nothing
Location: location accessible to all locations
Very enjoyable & relaxing Lovely surroundings very helpful staff even down to umbrella for a rainy day The Location is Perfect for getting out And About Lots of Places To walk I would And will recommend this Hotel to All Family And Friends
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale Arizona

Problem with my booking

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: I loved the design and architecture of this hotel. I loved the central location. I wish there wasn't such a bad issue with my reservation.
Cons: Expedia needs to honor what the hotel says is available. It was a major let down and I regret booking this reservation through Expedia.
Location: I loved the location for so many reasons. Great central location for all the incredible city options for activities.
I was excited to book this hotel because it looked fantastic with great reviews. When I arrived, I was told that the Deluxe room that I booked through Expedia was not available & that the only thing they can do was give me a free drink at the bar and provide me with a standard room. Although the hotel was pleasant, & I enjoyed my trip in Amsterdam, I would not have used my points to book this hotel had I known I would get a downgraded room yet pay for the Deluxe. I do not drink so the recovery method to offer me a free drink did nothing for my needs. I also had asked to be booked for two nights but was only allowed to stay for one night. After I booked the hotel, I called them to tell them I would be using Expedia (my points) for the first nights stay, and that I wanted to pay for my 2nd night. They not only told me the room I had booked was not available, but they told me I needed to check out and find another hotel the next morning. I would never had stayed in the hotel if I knew I only had one night because I was there for a wedding and I needed the convenience of staying in a room during my short trip. Because of the inconvenience, I scrambled to find another hotel in Amsterdam the next day which was a huge inconvenience. I rarely ever complain, but this was not handled properly and I regret using the Expedia platform because I was pretty much told "too bad" when I explained why it was important for me to stay both nights. I hope Expedia re-credits my points.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a really good location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Lovely room which was really quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california usa

Great location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I've been staying at this hotel for over 40 years Every 2 years or so and I live the location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Tres convenient

Posted Sep 8, 2017
My favourite hotel and location in Amsterdam I've been staying in this hotel for the past 45 years everytime i visit Amsterdam (Which is every two years)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Max Hermers, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Adam, thank you for all your loyal visits and review posting. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to your next visit! With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lONDON

Ideal situation in the museum area

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Near museum quarter. TraM STOP JUST OUTSIDE.
A most luxurious experience. We booked at the last minute and got s great deal. The staff could not have been more helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Max Hermers, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for y our visit and review posting. It is a pleasure to read that you had such a pleasant experience! We hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The concierge is awesome! The hotel is perfectly located. Trams stop right by the hotel. Museums are within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Max Hermers, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay and review posting. What a pleasure to read that you had such a pleasant stay! Thank you for your compliments for our concierge! Hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Great location.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Had a short stay, ideal location. Canal trips outside hotel, near museum district. Near bars and restaurants and round the corner from main tram line. Three perfect days of sightseeing, eating and strolling round the sights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Max Hermers, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit and review posting. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay and the location so much! We look forward to welcome you a again in the near future. With kind regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Helpful concierge and great location - wifi dodgy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not what I expected.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Wifi, staffing, updated correct size beds, make the promises you keep.
Location: everything one expects
You can do better. I waited awhile to stay here but afterward, it was really a lackluster experience. The location is great, but there are lots of hotels that have a great location. We've stayed at the Park Hotel, and it was comparable for less money. The same goes for NH Barbizon right by Central Station, but this hotel is slighty more money these days. What was the worst part of the experience? Arriving at 2:45pm when check in starts at 3pm, and being told your room wont be ready for about an hour. Seriously? The free wifi was terrible as well. The staff was buried in work as if there are not enough staff. The room was not as promised either in terms of the bed. It was not a king. It was two twins pushed together, which is not unusual at times in Europe (though I have slept in many king beds, they do exist) but these beds were separating during sleep. It was awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Max Hermers, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit and review posting. We regret to read that your stay did not had the comfort you had hoped for. We do have twin rooms as well as double rooms with either queen or king size bed. We have extra top mattresses available to create a king bed from a twin bed. We sincerely apologize for these mishaps, and will use your comments for re-training. With kind regards,