Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great staff small rooms

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Hotel is small - the room was very small with a drain smell in bathroom Location was excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Pray you don't get put in the basement

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Firstly the staff here are excellent. Very friendly and welcoming. The management on the other hand do not deal with complaints well or finding resolution to issues. They also refuse to give any money back for any issue or discomfort they are responsible for. I Feel like I was given a really poor deal compared to other guests due to the room.We were given the keys to 103. Which is a compact double bed (two twins pulled together) down in the basement. This room was clean. Shower pleasant but the paper thin walls, kitchen and reception to the hotel is located directly above resulting in a terrible nights sleep. We were unable to get a good night's sleep through our stay. The sound of the water system in the building, the banging from 5am and the terrible bricks supplied as pillows which left us both with pains in our neck and back. We requested to be moved. Which we were, to 106 which had less noise issues but had a very bad drainage issue leaving the shower room smelling of raw sewage. The smell was so bad we were unable to use the shower and avoided opening the door. On raising to management they appeared surprised this was a problem and failed to fix the issue and had no other rooms available. We had no choice but to stay in the room with the smell of sewage through the night. When I asked for my money back for the last night due to the grotesque conditions. I was told we do not give money back. Totally unacceptable, dreadful stay avoid or pray you don't get the basement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia, pa

Great hotel with very friendly staff.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We arrived early and staff stored our luggage and gave us advice on things to do in the area. This is in a great location near trains and restaurants. I Would highly recommend !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima

Perfect location!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Very nice building, very nice people! Near museums and local attractions!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and staying in our Hotel. We are looking forward meeting you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: The building is charming.
Cons: The outside could be improved with picking the weeds outside. Carpeting needs cleaning or replacing.
Right next to restaurants. Very pleasant staff. Next to the Vondelpark and close to the Museums. Breakfast is great but could be better with more choices of food. Maybe pancakes and waffles and other meat like sausages some days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Nice looking hotel but a bit shabby on the inside.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: New carpets, painting of woodwork and new furniture in the rooms. Uniform for staff and more attentive. Damp problem in lower level needs to be sorted
Location: A few bars in the vicinity and very close to the museums and the lovely park. Within walking distance of the rest of amsterdam - within 40 mins.
The hotel was nice and the staff friendly and helpful but not professional enough apart from the exceedingly helpful girl who checked us out on the monday morning. The hotel was rather shabby however. The rooms we had were on the lower level and smelt slightly damp and the corridor was dark and drab. The beds were comfy and the room was clean but they didnt replace the tea sachets and one day we came home and the back door was open which was rather disconcerting . The kettle plug didnt reach the socket either. We had 3 rooms booked and one of the rooms didnt have any headboards on the beds and they all smelled slightly damp.The breakfast was lovely but they didnt replenish the empty serving dishes quickly enough. We enjoyed our stay but they need to spend some money on it to improve the standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & neighborhood

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Excellent location off of central Vondelpark in a beautiful residential neighborhood near the Museum district. We stayed here twice within 2 weeks. The rooms are small and a bit funky as it is a re-hab of a beautiful old house, I think. The hotel staff is very friendly & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Friendly staff in a beautiful part of Amsterdam

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Hotel was in a great part of town. Felt safe and so close to all amenities.
Cons: Nothing, very enjoyable.
Location: Great for walking and just enjoying the area.
Had a wonderful stay thanks to the friendly and welcoming staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming older hotel in very good location

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
In very expensive Amsterdam, a pretty reasonable price. Charming, older hotel with character. Most of the staff is great--friendly, knowledgeable, good English (although one desk staffer was notably clueless). Excellent location, off quiet Vondel Park, easy walk to major museums, and reasonable walk to the rest of major Amsterdam sites. Tiny rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Home Counties, UK

Great Art Nouveau / Jugenstil period building

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, great location, interesting art nouveau/jugendstil architecture, good transport links
Cons: Steep stairs (not unusual in Amsterdam) but with a good lift. No evening meals, but plenty of local cafes, bars and restaurants.
Location: Bars, restaurants, cafes, park, museums, trams
Fantastic location with local bar, restaurant and coffee shop, right next to Vondelpark and within very easy walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Very convenient tram stops for central Amsterdam (also walking distance if you don't mind a half hour walk), airport and concert arenas south of Amsterdam. Very friendly staff. Comfortable room and pleasant ground floor lounge and dining salon.