Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Not bad, relatively cheap for Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good clean hotel, one room had a completely new shower and bathroom. And the other room was needing renovation, shelf missing on wall, worn floor. Both rooms had awkward steps inside the room. For any disabled customers there is an elevator but also several steps at the entrance and seemingly no ramp. Other hotels have same problem in Amsterdam. So ask before you book. There is an extra charge of 5% for paying bill with Visa or Visa Debit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic. Hotel is in desperate need of updates - we stayed in a double bed room with pealing wallpaper, furniture falling apart. No handsoap in the bathroom, surfaces weren't clean, exposed sub flooring. Cigarette smoke was in all hallways, even though the facilities are nonsmoking. Overheard the manager talking about upgrades that are coming so that's positive.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LLSH

Good location near Vondel Park and museums.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The two reasons why I like about Blyss Hotel are near museumplein, where Van Gogh museum, Banksy Moco museum and Rijksmuseum are located. Second reason is the Vondel Park. I didn't like that the photos look better than the actual room. If the room upleeping is better, I'd strongly recommend. I didn't like that he toilet has no feature to place Toiletries. There is no kettle for hot water, you need to get it at the lobby. The breakfast cost 10 Euro, not that great a spread, but decent enough to start a day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location is good.

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I really can't think of anything other than it's location.
Cons: Read my comments and apply.
Location: Great location lots to do.
I arrived and checked into my room. The rug was wet with what may have been a cleaner. It smelled horrible. The shower area was a 18" space that even me, very thin, could not fit. I did not have a bed only a cot. The window was slightly open left by house keeping. The door to the common ground was about 12" from the window. I then went out. When i returned all of my possessions had been gone through.The door to the common area was unlocked. My tooth brush in the toilet. My money that i had left was gone. $2000.00. My clothing was rubbed into the cleaner in the carpet rendering it unwearable. My tooth brush was in the toilet and all of my other possessions were destroyed. Even my carrying bags were torn. There is much more, but i am sick from the experience and do not want to reminisce any more. I immediately gathered my possessions and left to find some place else to stay. The front desk did offer me another room but the employee that i had seen in the hallway said that i was in one of the best rooms. I am seeking a full refund for my room,my $2000.00 returned $175.00 for my possessions. Unfortunately I was so upset and traumatized by the experience that all i could think of is getting someplace safe and did not take any pictures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great position, super comfy bed, welcoming staff

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, welcome, peaceful & value for money.
Cons: Shower wasn't the best.
Location: Fab location, handy for all types of entertainment both during the day & at night.
Great position only 5 mins from great city atmosphere but without any noise. Room decor a bit tired but more that adequate as spent most of our stay out & about. Super comfy bed & friendly helpful staff. Would highly recommend as long as your not looking to stay in the Ritz. Will definitely stay here next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Really not a 3 star

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
Cons: Hygiene, furniture, decor, disabled access. Basically, needs a bit of money and firmer management of room staff put into it.
Location: Very central for museums, markets, canals and Leidseplein/Trams
No disabled access at front. Inside, the elevator only takes you halfway up stairs. Room was dirty, hairs on bed clothes, clearly from cleaning staff, dirty walls, broken furniture, no air con in room, incredibly hot at all times. Smell of dope permeating everything even though non-smoking hotel. Nice staff but they have little to work with. There are two stars nearby which are better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel is close to everything which is great But honestly this hotel lacked room quality Looks nothing like pictures!!! The room was the biggest problem all else was fine Just outdated !!!!! Wouldn't stay again for that one reason to many hotels to stay in places that don't advertise quality rooms !!!!
3 out of 5
by ali mohammad

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

central hotel-quite area

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: position
Cons: repaint walls change decoration
I took a single room for one night in August 2016. Booking through Expedia I chose a smoking room but when arrived at the hotel I discovered that they do not have smoking room at all. If I would have known I could have booked another hotel. The room was quite small and the overall conditions were not great. Staying on the ground floor was not the best because of lack of light and since I was facing the rear garden it was a little bit noisy in the late afternoon.