Ratings based on 1,473 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and Close to Museums

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The hotel is next to a beautiful park and many of the rooms overlook it, but all the views are nice. Cute rooms — small but very comfortable. The staff is wonderful and breakfast is a treat (although not cheap). There are good restaurants nearby and it is a short walk to many of the city's museums. I will be staying there again next time I'm in Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nothing special

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Very nice Entrance, staff not really nice a bit rude.. our room was not clean properly especially the toilette.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cozy, close to the museums.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Coziness and comfortable lobby
Cons: While the room is tight, it may be a way to have more hangers on the wall --- it rained a lot during our visit and we needed to hang clothing.
Location: Super for museums. Close to tram so you can go anywhere. Our favorite restaurant was Pompo Tapas at Willemsparkweg 6, great food!
Lovely lobby with very helpful staff. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the street. Nice room with good aesthetics, basically a bed with shower and toilet. The room had a curved shape and the layout required us to maneuver around our luggage to get to the shower, which was an Italian shower (walk in, no curtain). No seating areas inside the room, but the lobby was a great place to lounge. Hotel Piet Hein was exactly what we needed as we intended to spend our time touring Amsterdam. If you are an American, it may be a little surprising how small the room is, but this is standard for a large European city (not a complaint, just want to make sure those looking at the review are prepared for close quarters)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel in great location.

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Position. Staff and comfort.
Cons: Room was a little tired, could do with a fresh coat of paint.
Location: In the centre of all the museums, good restaurants and bars, lots going on.
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. Our room was very basic but very quiet and comfortable, very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay!

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Recommended. It was a great experience. Excellent hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Great location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Perfect location to walk everywhere. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly. Lobby great with small bar and cold drinking water always available. Triple room had clean comfortable beds and the walk in shower was great. Old carpets, paint chipped wall, view over backs of commercial buildings with building work taking place made it feel rather 'tired' but it was okay. We had a broken light which was fixed as soon as I mentioned it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Disappointing

Posted Oct 25, 2017
The hotel foyer and restaurant look exactly the same as the photos on the website, however, the room did not. Our room was tiny, it was obviously meant to be a single room originally as you could see where the original headboard was (it was still there, they hadn't bothered to remove it). The room was dark and dingy and very dimly lit. We were unable to unpack properly as there was no where to put anything. There was only a tiny wardrobe, the only other furniture was a desk and one small bedside cupboard. When we entered the room the first thing I noticed was the ripped and frayed carpet, the dirty looking walls and skirting that were in dire need of a lick of paint and the badly boxed in wiring. The small bathroom was adequate, however, if you turned the shower on full the drain couldn't cope and the floor flooded into the bedroom. The bathroom tiles were also covered in hair. When we went down to breakfast in the morning we were actually dreading it, however we were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and so were the lovely friendly staff. The only thing that spoilt our visit was the room. Shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
I loved this hotel. Yes, the rooms are small, but it was enough for two. That's Amsterdam, though: small room, big prices. Still, this hotel was in a fantastic location, the staff were wonderful, and it was overall a great stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Our economy room was understandably small. It's in Amsterdam and being walkable to many museums. It has everything we need to sleep and to shower after a full of action. If there is a kettle that i can make a tea in my bathrobe would be perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: Could do with some water in the room.
Charming hotel. Well situated. Clean and friendly staff. Bed large and comfortable. Hairdryer in bathroom and good number of towels available