Ratings based on 1,428 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester Minnesota

Nice hotel very well located

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Began our three week European adventure in Oct.2017. Chose Piet Hein due to location near Museum section and ease of tram access from central station#'s 2 or 5. We had the budget queen room. Normal european size. Ample room for two airline carryon type luggage. We travel as a couple for three week trips with one carryon bag each. Anything more is a waste and two heavy for retirees on college age adventures we can finaly afford. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frindly, but innefectual

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Nice location.
Location: Museum quarter with restaurants and tourist attractions as well as Vondel Park.
Although the staff were generally friendly, they couldn't address our concerns effectively. Our shower was stuck on very hot, and although they sent someone to fix it twice, it was not fully resolved. They offered another room for an extra 20 euro, but I would have liked what I paid for to work effectively. This small room was also very small. There was also loud construction in the mornings. We stayed at two other hotels at "economy" prices and they both had functioning showers, were quiet, and had more room for LOWER prices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location near museums

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location of hotel was the best feature. Adjacent to park in Museum Quarter.
Unremarkable hotel with excellent most helpful staff. Room rather small but adequate. Breakfast ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Nice Clean but far from perfect

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: minibar room service
Location: tram to take u most places
nice hotel but for the price i got it for i wish i paid a little extra. no mini bar. no room service and a bit too far out of amsterdam central for my liking. although close to the tram so not horrible at all. i say its 3 star rating for me. room was clean and the shower wasn't that bad. no tea/coffee/kettle etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex UK

Very pleasant 3 night stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Great location ,very friendly staff, good breakfast and time,( up to 11am)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Close to public transportation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Close to airport taking into consideration that it is far from each hotel about 40min by bus but very easy to go to downtown. Public transportation very close by as well as restaurants and a beautiful park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Vernon, WA

nice hotel close to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: the location, and that it was not a chain.
This hotel is much larger than it appears. our room was small, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is additional, but we bought it because there did not appear to be anything else close...and it was an excellent breakfast. anything you would want practically. We walked to both museums and to our canal boat ride, so that was pleasant. They were able to keep our luggage on the last morning and called a cab for us. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

clean and good location

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Clean hotel with friendly staff, good location, walking distance to all main attractions. Only small issue, beds only have one pillow per person, when asked at reception for another pillow, staff advised that they didn't have any spare pillows. Overall, good hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, new york

Great location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Hotel is a cute boutique spot right across from vondel park. Staff was helpful and accommodating. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ok hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Best thing about hotel is the location.
Cons: Rooms need updating. Safes need to be in every room. Also toilet paper on a roll.
Location: Walking distance to really any part of Amsterdam.
Very modern lobby but rest of hotel very tired. Small room to be expected but the bathroom was exceptional small. Early check in was allowed which was a positive. Location is perfect.