Ratings based on 1,408 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night only

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Difficult to judge an hotel on a single night occupancy.Not fair to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amterdamn

Good base

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Good value
Location: Good location for museums, places to eat, waterways and generally getting about
Ideal as a base to stay while doing the tourist trail. Facilities were good and staff friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Love the location and warmth of the hotel, have stayed here numerous times on business trips
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, good location, really good breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Really great breakfast, good location. Staff was really helpful with some stuff we accidentally left behind.
Cons: The Expedia page mentions transfer service is available by contacting hotel, but when I inquired I was just told we could take a public bus.
Location: Close to Vondelpark, museums, walkable to downtown.
Booked five rooms for my family - no problems checking in, rooms are small, but clean and nice enough for this price. The location is great - quiet area next to the park, but walking distance from downtown and the museums. The staff were fine, and there weren't any issues except when the fire alarm went off several times quite early one morning. We dressed quickly, and went to the lobby, where the reception sort of acted like nothing happened and brushed us off, saying something about a hot shower?? My sisters room was way down in the basement and she mentioned there was a strange smell, and I didn't like that the staff were smoking right outside my room's window, but it wasn't a bit deal, and we didn't bring it up - so we didn't give the hotel a chance to fix it. The most important thing is the breakfast. I hadn't booked it initially because I thought the price was too much - but it is definitely worth it. There aren't many breakfast spots open early, even downtown, and the buffet at the hotel has lots of choices, hot and cold, and you can even have eggs and omelets made to order. I would go back again but maybe request a higher floor, away from the area where the staff smoke cigarettes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Perfect location. Disappointing rooms

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Perfect location, friendly staff
Cons: a few rooms need updating
Location: Right around the corner from bus/tram stops to get all around the city. Bars/restaurants in short walking distance. Perfect base
Myself and 3 friends stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. On arrival, the hotel looked to be very lovely, clean, cool water and glasses in reception for use of guests, a lovely looking little bar and comfy seating. Staff were polite and welcoming and check in was very speedy. On going to our rooms we were very disappointed with the standard as they were nowhere near the standard shown on the website (131 & 106). I would say avoid room 106 as it is in the basement, with a very small window facing onto the street, it was next to the lift shaft, toilets and offices. Not pleasant at all and my 2 friends didn't sleep at all in there the first night as it was very stuffy and very noisy. Staff changed their room the next day to a much nicer room, still not really like the ones in the pictures but pleasant enough. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. We had breakfast in the hotel on our first morning and it was good value 12 Euros. There were hot drinks, juice, water, cereals, full English, pastries, and more - Very nice. Having cool water available in reception at all times was a very nice touch. Location was perfect. We purchased a 3 day travel card which was useful but we walked so much as lots to see. We would definitely stay here again but would not accept room 106.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and good location

Posted Aug 6, 2017
I stayed 3 nights in this hotel with my friends and the location was perfect, right next to vondelpark and just a 10 minute walk from bars/ clubs and shops, you can get the 2 or 5 tram into town in just 10 minutes and the staff were very helpful in showing us places on a map, the room was comfortable and kept clean, would definitely stay here in the future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

Overall pretty good

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Lovely looking hotel and right by a park, room was tiny but clean, couldn't have stayed in that room for more than 3 nights as too cramped. It is 30 mins walk from the main centre, but only 10 minutes from where the shops and restaurants start. Google maps does not give proper walking directions so took us a while to locate after getting off the 197 bus. Overall, pretty good but wouldn't stay here again purely cause the distance to the main centre was too far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Lovely hotel but the room we were given was very dark and had barely any natural light in. It was also near the door to a smoking area which was very noisy with people and the door banging. The staff were friendly and location was fine. I still would recommend however if I went again I would ask not to be in that room again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Great location. Lovely hotel. Tiny rooms. Limited amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in a quiet area

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Beautiful hotel, attention to detail, helpful staff, close to museums.