Ratings based on 545 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Posted Dec 4, 2017
It is good and value added hotel. Clean and convinien
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Reception Hotel Roemer, Hotel Management
Dear vincent, Thank you for your review on Expedia. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied about how clean and comfortable our hotel was. Kind regards, Team Hotel Roemer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Very pleasant stay

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: The bathroom amenities, although adequate, could have been a little better.
Location: Located in a side street in the museum quarter. Also close to the park and Leidseplein with many restaurants, cafes and bars.
Good location, close to museums and lots of cafes and restaurants. Although on a seemingly quiet street, there was some traffic noise through the night/early morning as we were at the front of the hotel (no.24). Room was modern, clean and comfortable with a kettle and coffee machine. Honesty bar worked well although we only had drinks there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2017 by reception hotel roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Janet, Thank you for your recent stay with us and your feedback on Expedia! We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the staff, and the location of our hotel. If travels bring you back to Amsterdam you are more then welcome to visit us again! Kind regards, Team Hotel Roemer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Super sweet and cozy. Centrally located without being bombarded by the "tourist" sections of Amsterdam.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by hotel roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your good review. We are happy to read you liked our hotel and that you liked the location. We would like to welcome you again when your back in Amsterdam. Kind Regards, Team Hotel Roemer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eynsham, UK

Welcoming and quiet

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: location, staff and quality of room.
Cons: The bathroom---to hang wet towels. The basin is hi-tec granite---but does not drain properly. Soap and toothpaste marks are easily left.
Location: Good location. Easy short walk to Vondel park, the Rijksmuseum and the tram. But, beware of the cyclists!!
We read some negative reviews before we booked to stay here. The hotel is on a quiet street, close to the tram station and to shops and restaurants. We found the staff welcoming and very willing to help. The room was clean and well equipped, the food and drink prices comparable to other restaurants. The bathroom is fitted out to a high standard of design---in black granite.It has plenty of shelving for storage of towels and bathroom things---but nowhere to hang a damp towel. That is our only criticism.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you for your good review on Expedia. We are than happy to read you were happy with the central location close to Vondelpark and Rijksmuseum. Good the warn your fellow visitors for the bikers, it can be quite dangerous out there. Our staff is gratefull to read about that you find them welcoming and willing to help. Great to read you noticed the the bathroom is iftted to hThank you for you feedback about intoroducing somewhere to hang the damp towel. We will try to look for options of solving this problem. We hope that if travels bring you back to Amsterdam, you will come back and visit us again. Thank you for staying with us. Warm regards, Klein Team Hotel Roemer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, cosy room, great location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Only downside of my room was the AC/heating - it was a choice of hot or hotter. Luckily it was November so I could open the windows and col the room down with fresh air!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous. Thank you fo your review. We are more than happy to read that you were happy with the location and find it cozy on a great location. We are really sorry about the AC/heating problem. Our technical department has looked at the AC/heater and fixed it. We appericiate the feedback on this problem. The next you visit in Amsterdam, you are more than welcome to come to our hotel again. We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards, Klein Team Hotel Roemer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Typical small Dutch hotel close to canals

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: big room with high ceiling, great bathroom
Cons: the electronic entry system
Location: close to heart of the city, nightlife, and the great American Cafe, which is nothing like its name: it is very old Europe with chandeliers
The hotel is well located, and the rooms are large and airy, but the stairs are pretty steep for folks over 60 and the electronic door system is a bit of a challenge on arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by reception hotel roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Thank you for this rating. It is good to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel. the door is fixed right now. I hope it was no a big of a problem for you. Unfortunately, you find everywhere stairs in Amsterdam. This is because the houses are all built up. hopefully, we will see you again. Kind Regards, Hotel Roemer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel wasn't 4 star

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfortable
Cons: Staff. Toiletries in the bathroom.
Location: Good location, very close to the centre of the city and some good restaurants.
I ordered a queen bed for 2 people, first room they gave me had a double bed and a pair of bunk beds. Walls were filthy and the sink in the bathroom was dirty. Second room was a queen and a beautiful large room. There were no toiletries, the moisturiser container had soap. There was nothing to use to in shower, no basic shower get, shampoo, conditioner products. On check out the girl behind the counter accidentally checked me out of someone else's room and charged my card. She then charged me as well for my room but wouldn't give me any receipts or proof of refund to confirm she had reimbursed me for the incorrect payment. It was very frustrating as it was their error.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Central location to museums.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Lovely hotel, we (3)were in the annex across the road. Room was adequate for what we needed and had all amenities. The hand and body wash were not good and could not get a lather. Just be careful when you go up and down the stairs as they are very narrow steps and not for the infirm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Roemer, Hotel Management
Dear Carolyn, Thank you for staying in our hotel. We are satisfied to read you called our hotel a lovely hotel. We are happy to read you had everything you needed of amenities. Thank you for the feedback about the hand and body wash and thank you for sharing your opinion of the stairs. We appreciate your feedback and will try to fix those problems. If travels bring you back to Amsterdam, you are more than welcome to visit our hotel again. Warm regards, Team Hotel Roemer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel in a nice area of amsterdam

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Basic rooms are expensive for what you get but if your lucky enough to get an upgrade like we did you will be very happy. Our 2nd or 3rd stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Some good some bad

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Booked two rooms,one for myself and my wife and one for my son and his wife for four nights. Our room was very nice but my son's room was in the basement with a widow on a airshaft. When were leaving I commented that paying the same rate for the rooms seemed to be not right. The manager, who already had our paynent, smiled and shrugged, The staff were friendly. The location good, but be wary of which room you get!!