Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Pleasant Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2017
Pros: Its unusual architecture, being an old typical Dutch house and the location of the hotel.
Cons: It would be nice if the hotel could provide bottled water in room as well as cups and slippers. Also, breakfast needs to be improved. Lacked variety.
A nice and quaint hotel near to Musuem Quarter. A very convenient location with the tram stop nearby. Although there is only a tram No. 2, I could alight at the Musuem Quarter or at Leidseplein to change trams to get to Albert Cuypmarket or to Flower Market, Dam Square, etc. Also, the room is clean and the bed and pillows are very comfortable. The staff are polite, friendly and very helpful. As there is no elevator, the staff helped with the luggage up/down the flight of stairs. Because the stairs are spiral it could be rather daunting if you have leg or knee pain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2017 by Tessa Boon (Hotel Manager), Hotel Management
Dear Esther, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate this. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our location indeed very central; the museums are just 10 minute walk and the tram brings you further in to the city center. Regarding the breakfast; we provide a continental buffet with freshly baked croissants, breadrolls, hard boiled eggs, ham, cheese, variety of dutch sweet bread platter, muesli, conrflakes, dried fruits, nuts. We were just wondering what you have missed and maybe we can make arrangements to add this to our assortiment. You might see it when you visit us again! Kind regards, Tessa Boon
4 out of 5
by Esyllt

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2017
Hi, we appreciate your rating!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very nice and cozy hotel close to many attractions

Posted Mar 18, 2017
I spent 3 nights after my trip in Kenya and I was very pleased with this hotel. It is well located and stuff is very friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay again in my next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Magnolia Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review and we definitely hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming and pricy

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The rooms were big but not well equipped at almost 300 euros per night. They were fully booked so I can't blame them for jacking up the price during the fair. But at this price they will need to invest more in the quality of the bedding and pillows. No coffee machine in the rooms and the lighting was poor. Also there is no guest room management so you would have to go all around the big room to switch the lights on and off. And they are many. No lifts and steep staircases makes difficult to carry heavy stuff in and out. They did carry by bag though to my room and as I said the staff were friendly and the 24 room hotel was stylishly decorated but the rooms still felt old and gloomy. I would consider staying again at 125 euro a night only because the location is good and I love small hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Magnolia Team, Hotel Management
We are sorry to read your comments, however glad that the team ensured that our service was up to your business requirements. The concept of the rooms is that all facilities, including coffee are always available in the public areas, upon request we put a coffee machine even in the rooms. We will discuss internally how to better communicate this to the guests. Thank you for bringing this up. And with respect to your remark on the bedding, all superior and deluxe rooms have since this year CocoMat matrasses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome place, but the hallway traffic was obsurd.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The slamming doors and constant alarms at nights made this pretty much sleepless nights for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Magnolia Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We apologise for the inconveniences caused by your fellow guests. Unfortunately this is something we can not entirely control ourselves. But what we can do, and will do (!) is double check the closing system from all doors to ensure that the close with as little noise as possible. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. But it is good to see that the other aspects of your stay were fine and we do hope to see you again one day.
5 out of 5
by Lingyan

不错的一晚

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
非常舒服的一家店,员工很友好,热情的提供各种帮助。感觉就跟在家一样,非常棒。楼梯很陡,也是特色,哈哈哈!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
尊敬的Lingyan,非常感谢您的光临,感谢您对我们的感谢! 再见不久我们希望。 Dear Lingyan, great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the compliment to the team! See you again soon we hope.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Egypt

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
was a nice and quiet stay, i'm pleased with the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norwich

Convenient.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Its location.
Cons: Many things.
Location: Convenient.
Disappointing, after having read so many positive reviews on this website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Elvira, Hotel Management
Hi Al, sorry to read that your stay did not meet your high expectations. Hopefully you shared your disappointment with the team upon your departure. We strive to do out utmost for every guest and if we can do anything during a guests stay to meet expectations or make up for a failure in service we always do so. Hopefully you will stay with us again during a next visit to Amsterdam in order for us to prove that the reviews you have read are true.