Ratings based on 760 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles ,CA

Nice room but lobby drab

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Very, very steep stairs to get to the lobby. Two men walking by helped us with our suitcases. The lobby looks a little like a youth hostel. But we had a pretty corner room with a small balcony and a delightful gas fireplace. Modern beautiful bathroom. The room was expensive, but spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great location. Will recommend. Great. Enjoy the breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Elevator available. Great Canal view. Tram and Cruise boats are close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Ok view of canal. Hotel needs lots of updating. Staff was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, England, Uk

A good central to the city hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Finding the hotel was difficult. Stairs to go up in the reception on the outside is a bit steep and narrow, same as stairs inside even it can't be helped because most of the buildings in Amsterdam are like that, but overall staff and hotel we're great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary,Canada

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Too much noise outside during the night. The wifi wasn't good. Overall the bed was comfy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely hotel right on the canal

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My room was super comfortable and clean. the staff were helpful however i required minimal interaction with them, which you could argue is a good thing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Lovely location, nearby tourist attractions but did not feel overcome by tourists even when visiting in busy summer period. Lovely staff and pleasant room. Would recommend as a base for exploring the city.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

BEWARE - STAY AWAY

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rooms need to be completely cleaned, renovated, updated, and everything else you can do to a hotel
Location: Location is fantastic as it is around the corner from Leidesplein. Plenty of food which are open late. Also walking distance to the museums
You definitely get what you pay for with this hotel. I would not give this place even one star. I am generally not picky with my hotels and do not heed most reviews but this time, I should have listened to the many negative reviews here. While a lot of the factors that caused discomfort were in the room description (small, one sided access to bed, etc), many other things were unexpected. The bed sheets and blankets were very dirty with hair and dust when we arrived and every night. The bed was very soft and you sink in when you lay down. The bathroom, easily the worst part of the room, did not function at all. The toilet is outdated and can't be flushed more than once every 20 minutes. The shower was basically nonexistent as it consisted of a floor drain, part of the bathroom floor, and a curtain. The floor didn't even pitch towards the drain so when you showered, the water just poured all over the bathroom. The hotel walls are paperthin. You can hear everything going on all around you early in the morning. Lastly, while we knew there was no air conditioning, the hot water pipes running throughout the room made the room extremely hot even when it was only around 60 degrees outside.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Only good thing is the localization. Otherwise the breakfast, rooms, elevator and beds are bad. Too much noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Steps to hotel v v v steep no breakfast on last day for our early flight staff said there would be and no staff to check us out. Very hot room not all windows could be opened. Last day unable to use lift not good using very narrow staircase with suitcase and my partner having a heart condition