Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Budget hotel, reasonably close to city centre.

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Not the best hotel but represents it's star rating well. Cheap to book and is pretty close to everything. You get what you pay for. I also left some stuff in the room which I thought was gone and they emailed me asking for my home address so they could send it back to me.
2 out of 5
by john

It will be a long time before I return to Amsterda

Posted Oct 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stairs are more like a latter. Price was too high. Loc action is the only thing good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great hotel for the $$

Posted Aug 24, 2017
If you're looking for 5 star accommodations this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a clean room, a comfortable bed, and Amsterdam outside your front door then book now! The stairs are steep, so I would not recommend for the elderly or families with young children. My brother and I, both in our twenties, had no issues. The only negative I can think of was our next door neighbor smoking on the fire escape right outside of our window, but after asking him to be quiet, he went back inside and it wasn't an issue again. The breakfast was very convenient in the morning before going out to see the city
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful Hotel - apathetic staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Cons: A lot. Cleanliness, fix the showers and actually give the customer what he paid in advance for,
Wanted a room with 4 single beds got 2 singles and a double Shower was broken and there were ants in the room. When I asked for the guy at the desk to sort the shower he came down with a drill and did nothing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value for money, should improve maintenance

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Good service, nice breakfast and coffee machine, good location and fair price. Bad room facilities: 2 out of 3 single beds were very uncomfortable. 1 shared toilets and 1 shared shower for approx 10 guests from 4 different rooms, where the toilet seat isn't mechanically attached to the toilet and the toilet door lock is broken (which causes more than few awkward moments). The shared shower is OK. Last - no elevator, very steep and uncomfortable climbing for 4th floor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast and coffee machine. Terrible beds. Stains on ceiling. Cold room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from israel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
The location is ok but the room was small uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tehran

Good Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a comfortable stay at Sphinx hotel. They staff were friendly and we specially liked the location. Rooms were clean and we enjoyed staying there.
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Wales

Sphinx hotel

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel room was on third floor,no lift. We asked for double bed,didn't get one,the room was tiny. Wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harwich UK

Well sited to City Centre

Posted May 9, 2016
Cons: Tea & Coffee making needed in rooms
Clean & Tidy rooms well worth the cost of stay, Good Customer service on arrival