Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel near the Museums

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Hotel Van Gogh is located very near to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum & many more other museum. There’s a kindergarten nearby but the noise doesn’t bother me since I’m not in my room in the afternoon. There’s a supermarket near the hotel and many trams stop nearby to travel to the middle of the town. Enough space for a single concer room, but the desk space is too small. One-third of the desk is occupied my a coffee machine. Overall, 4 out of five stars
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo BC

Lose to everything

Posted Dec 5, 2017
We booked this hotel very last minute and couldn’t of been happier. We were able to walk to everything, the beds were very comfortable, room was clean and all the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. I will stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

great rooms

Posted Nov 18, 2017
rooms were nice and clean but the manager on duty lacks some empathy with the customers with concerns not to mention customer service skills. overall the rooms and location were ok but for the price you could afford a 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Location, location, location

Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
The location was what we looked for in our booking, and we were not disappointed. The breakfast at the hotel was plentiful, and it was easy to walk out the door and get to sites within several minutes. Even though there were a lot of young people's groups in and out, we never heard noise. Our room was on the 4th floor, with an elevator, and we felt separated from all else up there. The room was rather small, but we spent little time there, so it didn't matter.
4 out of 5
by dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Mark

Terrible value for money

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Four stars is pure fantasy. There is nothing really wrong with this hotel, but it looks and feels like a backpacker hotel for undergraduates. It is absurdly overpriced for what you get. This is an 80 euro per night hotel, not a 200 euro per night hotel. It is outdated and cramped. Good location, though.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Az

Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum Steps Away

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Friendly staff and nice hotel. I was impressed by the gentleman that checked us in as he spoke great English to us and then helped the next customers in perfect Spanish and I expect he speaks Dutch as well. There was a long line to the Van Gogh museum and he helped us reserve a time and skip the line. The hotel room was very comfortable and had a tram stop right outside making it very easy to get anywhere in Amsterdam. The breakfast was only 5 euro, basic, but definitely worth it.
4 out of 5
by Alfredo

Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
it was small room, very clean,comfortable and efficient. Great shower!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Tired Property

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Furniture is shabby. Bed was very comfortable and linens lovely. Breakfast was adequate. Location was perfect for museums and high end shopping. Would not return.