Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Conveniently located near shopping and restaurants

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Loved the location and bathroom counter space.
Cons: The first floor room near the elevator shaft should come with a warning about the screeching sound that happens every 15 minutes or so all night.
Location: Lots of shops in the strip mall next door to the hotel, plus lots of good restaurants. We enjoyed Olive Garden.
The hotel itself was a little dated. Check-in was okay, not super friendly. Breakfast was fair. The room was nice with a LONG countertop, perfect for all our toiletries. The bed was comfortable, and the location itself was quiet, but our room downstairs was next to a screeching elevator shaft that sounded like someone screaming all night. The location was excellent for driving right next door to shops in a strip mall. Plus, there were numerous good restaurants within half a mile.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Shelby Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post a review about your recent stay with us here in Muskegon. We love to hear about our guests pros and cons of their stay so we know how to improve in the future or ways we should continue! I am happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious bathrooms as well as our many local shopping and dinner choices! We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprised by a negative experience, usually good

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Clean bathrooms, usually clean bedding, clean pool, good breakfast, friendly accommodating staff, quiet, near stores, safe location. Fridge Microwave!
Cons: BEDS. PILLOWS. Making sure things are clean, double check for hair and things. I've stayed in other rooms and the beds have not been great either.
Location: Beach. Family. Shopping. Muskegon things.
This last time I stayed I was SO DISAPPOINTED..the room cleanliness quality was an issue. And the comfort of the bedding was just terrible. I should have asked to move. The bed kept sliding off the box springs sporadically, and since It was only one person in the bed, sleeping, not 12 monkeys jumping on it, that shouldn't happen. The other bed, upon pulling back the covers, had hair on it. The pillows were too soft, not a variety. I was just too tired to want to move, and then actually more tired the next day because it was to tough to get much sleep. I will probably stay at the holiday in next time in town. I'd rather the Hampton go through their rooms and test the mattresses for firmness and pillows for comfort and fix the issue, though. You're a great hotel - please fix things so people will keep coming. I'd like to come back but only if things are a bit more comfortable. I want to recommend your hotel to people again!
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis,IN.

Nice hotel close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. We had only one snaffle with the key card not working properly. The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The only suggestion I could make is the rooms could use better chairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for you kinda words about our hotel. We here at the Muskegon Hampton Inn work very hard to make sure our guest are comfortable and happy with there stay. And we always appreciate suggestions. I will pass that one. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast was lacking. Not worth eating.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Hotel was ok, clean. Staff was nice. Everything worked. A little overpriced for what you get.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
This has been a great place to stay this past year. The only complaint is that the beds seem kind of hard, not a soft as some other places. The workout room is great. Everything works. The breakfast was good the morning they had sausage..but generally it's good. My only request is that the desk staff keep the teas available at the front, and the variety available as that seemed to be very low everytime I was there. It's a good hotel. close to meijer and target and seems very safe. I appreciate this place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Just ok for the price

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff was great - even located us a wine bottle opener since we forgot ours. Water in the shower was nice and hot! Room was very spacious!
Cons: Toilet ran the whole time. Hot tub surround broken so looked bad! Hot tub missing a couple jets - and the on/off button stuck down when turned on. Shower needs work! The base is old and breaking apart. There was a greasy head mark on the headboard when we walked in.
Location: Harvey corridor of shops and restaurants is awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome Trip

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Shopping
Very clean and comfortable room (bed), friendly staff, good hot breakfast. Hot coffee at any time of day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by Hampton Inn-Muskegon, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. also that you for you great comments. We hope to see you again. Take care.