Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

In and Out in October

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Welcoming.
Cons: Only the weather. :-)
Location: Probably lovely in the summertime.
Efficient, friendly, clean, comfortable, quiet. We had dinner in the bar, very good food, excellent value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Three Rivers, MI

Would stay there again.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
We stayed two nights and were pleased with the accommodations. We were in the area for a fall color tour and did not really have plans for the evening hours. We were pleasantly surprised that the bar had live music both nights. One night was a blues band and the next night was a 1960's band. We enjoyed them both.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: It was a convenient location for our needs.
Cons: Staff training
Our check in clerk did not speak distinctly and seemed to jump from subject to subject as he remembered things. On our second day at the hotel we were out of the room at 7:30 am and did not return until 3 pm and our room had not been refreshed.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel right in town,

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: we liked the pool sauna and gym. and coffee in the room, and the bed was just great.
Cons: the breakfest buffiet could be more complete. and the toilet could be higher
the check-in was easy and the people were great . i needed to use the chair lift for the pool and they came and helped without complaint. the only problem we kept having was with our key card to get in the room.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Good central location, close to everything.

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: The staff, location and room.
Cons: The bar food
Location: The location: water and beautifully restored "up north" downtown. Art galleries, theatres, wine bistro across the street.
Staff was great. We arrived after 9PM and just wanted some drinks and appetizers at the bar. We were delighted to hear live music! The singer/guitar player was great. Our bartender worked the bar mostly alone on a Saturday night. The only problem we had was with the food that night. It was lukewarm and tasted like the kitchen was closing, which it was, at 10PM. Maybe their dinners are better prepared. Next morning's breakfast was good. We would stay here again. As for dinner, with other bistros, etc, on the same block, we would dine at one of those next time.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Federalsburg, MD

A nice place to visit - but not for a long stay.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Location was in good area of the city, access to points of interest was good.
Cons: List more local food and sights to see. Staff did not direct us to anything beyond what was on the map provided - they are locals could have told us
Location: Beach on the lake, Mrs. B's Breakfast
We were generally not unhappy with the hotel. The glaring items were the "Continental Breakfast" that was available was EXTREMELY disappointing. We were expecting a pleasant breakfast like when we had stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Somerset, PA just a few nights earlier. Instead we found cold danish, OLD bananas and fruit infused water - that was not what was expected. We had mentioned an issue with a vending machine on our floor, made a point of telling the hotel staff that afternoon, was told they would put a note on the machine - two days later at check out - still NO NOTE,
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Convenient, clean downtown hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Quiet, easy access to attractions.
Cons: Condenser in room A/C was leaking or just sweating a lot: damp carpet around unit. Some wear in tub/shower: needs to be re-enameled.
Very easy check-in: less than five minutes. Clerk gave me a choice of room on arrival: good view or quiet. We took quiet, which it definitely was. Barely heard a sound in a full hotel all weekend long. All staff in hotel and restaurant were friendly and helpful. Very convenient to Irish Music Festival grounds, as well as to a variety of downtown restaurants.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand haven mi

Nice hotel. Close to Irish music festival

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Great breakfast buffet. Bacon was crisp. Biscuits and gravy rich. French toast was yummy. Also have a nice bar
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, MI

Not as great as we expected.

Posted Sep 1, 2015
bathroom door was coming off hinge, pool was old and coming apart and continental breakfast was poor quality. Would expect better for pricy Holiday Inn.
1 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Briggitte from USA

Awful experience

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
The worst and most unfriendly staff I have ever encountered in my life!