Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Ok for one night if nothing else available

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: The facilities, rooms and bathrooms need urgent upgrading.
Location: The location is really close to the town and bus station BUT its on top of a steep hill. The area is safe.
The hotel is on top of a hill on the outskirts of town and very close to the bus station. The geographic location of the hotel is good BUT to reach the hotel, you have to walk a long and very steep hill with NO sidewalks and cars, buses and ATV's passing at high speed centimeters from you. Its a VERY dangerous and strenuous walk and if you have luggage, be ready for a real workout going up the hill. The rooms are large and old and the bathrooms need urgent retrofit. The lobby and its facilities are old and have not seen much retrofitting in years. I would stay here if there is absolutelly no other option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MAL

Fair enough

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Walking distance to the bus station. But walking up slope with the luggages could be a good exercise for the day. And, no lift inside the hotel....God bless you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to Mykonos town

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Despotiko Hotel is a short walk to the beginning of Mykonos town, meaning it's close enough to walk to a few times a day but far enough not to be amongst the constant noise of the town. The hotel lobby is a little dated, but the rooms are spacious and fairly modern. They have a good airconditioning, shower and a nice court yard if you prefer fresh hair. The pool is also a decent size and really nicely done. Our only issue is that we were room 1, which is very close to reception (never experienced this before). We were constantly hearing the reception phone ring, as well as the ins and outs of all the guests. If you know Mykonos well, you know that 6am is when most of the younger crowd arrive home from a night out. I'd stay here again but definitely request to be further from reception.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Comfortable, clean, helpful, great pool area

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: The pool was awesome!
Cons: Would be great if they could extend the pool hours to 7 or 8pm.
Location: walking distance to bus station 5-10 mins walk to town
I originally only had two days booked but loved this place so much I stayed for four. Great value!!! The pool area is great and a nice place to relax away from the busy town. The lady on reception was really helpful and recommended a great travel agency. The room was very comfortable, clean and secure (you have lockable shutters). The breakfast was one of the better choices I've had. Fridge in your room, aircon and TV. Some reviews have mentioned the walk up the hill. Yes you need to be careful as it's a busy road, but it's only 5 minutes so as long as you don't have any physical restrictions you'll be fine. So close to town and the bus station, but out far enough that it's not noisy. I'd absolutley stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Gorgeous hotel with pool

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Beautiful building with updated doors, fixtures. Excellent pool, beaches are not near Mykonos town. Accommodating staff, short walk down a steep hill to Mykonmos oldtown, good prices on shoulder season. Would recommend to all my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Friendly Hotel Staff, Good Location

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly, family run hotel, with its own church, pool, and central location.
Cons: Noisey near the street. Choose the room with view of the habour, which is also located away from the street noise.
Really enjoy the staff and location (it was close to my friends staying at Elysium & Rochari). The room was cleaned very well each day, and the pool was relaxing for a few days. The only downside was the fact the road was dangerous to walk down to get to the center of town (as there are no sidewalks). Great, friendly staff rents cars across the street also.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Staff were helpful
Location: Location is great close to bus terminus , windmills and little vencie
Hotel is clean and staff are helpful. It is located a few minutes walk from the bus terminus and 5 minutes walk from the windmills and little venice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Very convenient location to Mykonos town where all bars and restaurants are, as well as buses to all the beaches. The staff was very friendly and the place was nice (although we spent little time there). The only downside to this place is its a walk down a steep hill to get to the town (like less than 5 mins walk)--not advisable for those in poor health.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel all round

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: All of it really ! Of course your holiday is vastly improved if the staff are helpful which they were here.
Cons: Some of the rooms open onto a public right of way and you are encouraged to lock your shutters at night. I am not sure what they can do about this.
Location: Bank and pastry shop just up the road. Bus stop opposite. Mikonos town 2 minutes down the hill.
Contrary to a Trip Advisor report the staff are lovely. The pool area is very pleasant with a windmill poking over the wall. The rooms are clean and kept that way. The breakfast room is well decorated with a scary ming vase to catch out any wobbly guests from their night binges. There is a yard adjacent to the bar where you can quietly sup Mythos before heading out into the mayhem ! It is just far enough away from the noisy bustle of the town but still close enough to walk into the shops & bars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite hotel just walking distance to Main Street.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Great authentic hotel. Quite hotel just walking distance to Main Street. Very clean and beautiful grounds.