Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Despotiko Hotel is very close to the old town.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Pool is fabulous!
Location: Trip to Delos Beaches
Despotiko Hotel has a lovely pool and is close to the old town of Mykonos. Breakfast was ample and had good hours. Two less than perfect items are the road to walk down (less than a five minute walk) is hot and dusty and filled with traffic) and while the staff is lovely, they do not offer (or are not aware) of information on the various tourist activities. stay here if you know exactly what you want to do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Disappointing

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: The hotel is nicely located but still it does not explain the room price. Much better to rent a car/scooter and better hotel further away.
Cons: Low quality products, if you charge $10 for a "buffet" at least offer Nutella and no terrible orange juice made out of powder
Firstly, got in the hotel, I didn't even get a "good morning" or a "hello" just a rude blank stare. The lady was not very welcoming to say the least. Secondly, the room was very tiny even for two people, barely enough space between the wall and bed. -- > How can you charge 65euros more for a third person on a unsteady uncomfortable rollover bed ?! The bathroom was also very tiny. For 300 USD a night that's a little pushing it. No coffee in the room, no tea... you have to pay 3 euros for it. Thirdly, do not get the (also grossly overpriced) breakfast, at least if you don't want to get a cleaning lady pulling your plates and asking you to leave at 10.45 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Nice hotel close to center

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views from my room of the hotels garden and private balcony.
Cons: Wi-fi needs improvement.
Location: It was perfectly located from the Mykonos Town center. I could easily go to all the shops, restauraunts, bars and walk back to hotel.
Hotel was clean and convenient from noisy center, but the wi-fi was absolutely poor...weak and if being connected to wi-fi is important or necessary reconsider. It's a good 5 minute uphill walk on the road next busy cars and mopeds from town center (bus depot) so after a long night of drinking & partying be careful! Staff was helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Panama

Ok for one night if nothing else available

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: The facilities, rooms and bathrooms need urgent upgrading.
Location: The location is really close to the town and bus station BUT its on top of a steep hill. The area is safe.
The hotel is on top of a hill on the outskirts of town and very close to the bus station. The geographic location of the hotel is good BUT to reach the hotel, you have to walk a long and very steep hill with NO sidewalks and cars, buses and ATV's passing at high speed centimeters from you. Its a VERY dangerous and strenuous walk and if you have luggage, be ready for a real workout going up the hill. The rooms are large and old and the bathrooms need urgent retrofit. The lobby and its facilities are old and have not seen much retrofitting in years. I would stay here if there is absolutelly no other option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MAL

Fair enough

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Walking distance to the bus station. But walking up slope with the luggages could be a good exercise for the day. And, no lift inside the hotel....God bless you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ran from Israel

Great location. No private parking

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice little hotel right in the center
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Close to Mykonos town

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Despotiko Hotel is a short walk to the beginning of Mykonos town, meaning it's close enough to walk to a few times a day but far enough not to be amongst the constant noise of the town. The hotel lobby is a little dated, but the rooms are spacious and fairly modern. They have a good airconditioning, shower and a nice court yard if you prefer fresh hair. The pool is also a decent size and really nicely done. Our only issue is that we were room 1, which is very close to reception (never experienced this before). We were constantly hearing the reception phone ring, as well as the ins and outs of all the guests. If you know Mykonos well, you know that 6am is when most of the younger crowd arrive home from a night out. I'd stay here again but definitely request to be further from reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
I didn't have hot water throughout my stay and one evening I didn't have water at all. I was also not allowed to borrow a towel to take to the beach. The location was perfect though...2 minute walk to all buses and the center.