Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Portland, Oregon

Home away from home

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Villa Vasilis. Our hosts Maria, Costas and Mr Vasilis were absolutely wonderful and they made our stay at the Villa feel like home away from home. The room is a good value for Mykonos and offered plenty of space for our family. We loved that we had a full refrigerator and kitchen which allowed us to off set the cost of Mykonos by having some meals in. The fact that you could catch the bus to town and the beach right from the end of the driveway also made our lodging convenient and a great value. Another bonus is the fact that the lodging it is close to a little grocery store and a fantastic Greek bakery. Be sure to visit the bakery! Finally the icing on the cake was that Maria and Costas also picked us up and dropped us off at the port. Lovely stay. We definately recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Scam

Posted Jul 4, 2015
We were put into a room that was in a house in Hornos in the basement, no curtains on shower, no windows, no safety box, even though we had reserved a room in Vila Vasilis. We came back that night and felt unsafe, as there was no hotel staff in this house nor any other guests to our knowledge. We left immediately. The house is on an extremely busy road and the cars pass by very fast, which was frightening and difficult to get to, especially at night. I don't know how Vila Vasilis is but we were not given the room we reserved and our stay in Mykonos was tainted by this experience. We felt like we were taken advantaged of and the moment we said we were leaving, somehow the management had 2 rooms open because they knew we were upset. Maria was very agreeable and reimbursed us for the two nights that we didn't stay in the hotel, but we were extremely disappointed with our experience, especially since we had read such positive reviews.
3 out of 5
by Mahdevan from Mtubatuba South Africa

Quiet Spot!

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Situated on a hill with a bus stop on the driveway with a nice view of the ocean.Maria is most welcoming and epitomises the friendliness of the people of Mykonos.On arrival,she met us at the ferry and the transfer is included in the package.She " upgraded" us to the main house.This is a 2 bedroom,5 bed,two bathroom unit with an open lounge,dining room and kitchen. The amenities are basic.No microwave or kettle.You can ask for a kettle and iron.There are utensils,a frying pan an large pot.It took some getting used to!The unit is clean.Any requests sent via mail are attended to. Blankets are heavy and may be found in the cupboard.Towels were old and mismatched but clean. There is a bakery,convenience store and cafe within walking distance.The bakery has freshly baked Greek pastries and breads. The showers have no curtains or doors.Ample hot water and good water pressure. Bus stop to Paradise Beach and Little Venice is convenient.Close to airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Very good value for Mykonos

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Nice owners.
Cons: Clarity relating to where the accommodation is located.
Location: ITS MYKONOS STUPID!!!
Villa Vasilis Mykonos Very good value for Mykonos. Three rooms: Bedroom, Kitchen Diner and Bathroom. The kitchen contains a very basic range of utensils and a hob. Also a very pleasant sitting out area with a table. The proprietors are currently covering all transfers to and from the airport and the two ports. This is included in the cost of the room. They appear to be working to all hours to achieve this at the moment. The lack of taxis on Mykonos forces them to do this. The service and individual attention given by Maria and Kostas to each customer was marvellous! But a word of warning: I booked Villa Vasilis because it appeared to be quite close to the airport on the map. However I was accommodated in Maria’s Rooms which are next to Ormos beach. Quite a distance from the airport. Of course this did not matter to me because I was transported to the airport on the last day. However if I was a little younger and had chosen Villa Vasili because it was “on the road to Paradise Beach”, I may have been a little disappointed. It may be worth checking by email where you are going to be accommodated. 4*
4 out of 5
by Shannon from San Diego, California, USA

Make yourself at home on Mykonos at Villa Vasilis

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The family who owns and runs this hotel are some of the loveliest people I have met in Greece. They picked us up at the port, took us to the hotel and immediately oriented us to our location. They recommended great beaches and restaurants, and explained how public transportation on the island works. In the end, we decided to rent a 4-wheeler to get around, and they helped us set that up too! On the 4-wheeler it only took about 10 minutes to get to either a beach or the city center. The hotel itself is basically equipped. Our room had a little kitchenette, although we didn't use anything but the sink. The hotel does not offer breakfast or room service, but there is a nice cafe next door to the hotel where we had our morning coffee and pastries. The bathroom is very basic, but also very clean. Housekeeping cleaned it daily and changed out the towels. All in all, this is a great hotel for a great price, and the family who runs it is great. I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I highly recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Caz from Australia

Brilliant Value!

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Just a short bus ride to wherever you want to go - excellent bakery very near!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable Hotel in front of the Bus Stop

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Customer Service, reasonable price.
Cons: Provide shampoos and soap for the guest. Upgrade your towels.
Location: The hotel is about 10 minutes drive to the old town but there is a shuttle service that stops right in front of the hotel.
I appreciate the service provided by Maria and Costa. They provide pickup and drop-off to and from the port or airport. The hotel itself has a stove and a fridge should you decide to cook. It doesn't provide soaps and shampoos so you should bring your own. The towels are almost threadbare. The air conditioner is in great condition though and the room is very clean. All in all, it provides very spartan facilities but it more than makes up for its customer service. The hotel is not in the old town itself but is accessible by shuttle that stops in front of the hotel. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel that's accessible via shuttle, then this hotel is worth considering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Lovely room, super-helpful & friendly staff.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff, room size.
Cons: Closeness to the city, hotel facilities (Swimming pool, etc.)
Location: It was quite close to the city - where the nearest things to do (restaurants, bars) are. But it was a bit of a walk at times, down scary roads!
A really pleasant, hassle-free stay. The rooms are a good size, and if you're looking for somewhere to stay before you fly from Mykonos airport the next day, look no further. The staff are absolutely lovely, and so, so helpful.
1 out of 5
by kat from vancouver canada

it was a dirty room, would never stay there again.

Posted Mar 7, 2014
the room was cold and dirty. garbage left from previous guests in the fridge. bugs everywhere and it smelled awful. the keys did not work well took for ever to lock/unlock doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff who went above and beyond!

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Hotel is well located to everything, the rooms are basic but very clean with fine beds. Place is beautiful overall and the staff are SO helpful with everything. I would come back!