Ratings based on 1,112 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from myrtle beach

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Very friendly city... the weather was a little bad but dealt with it
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2018 by S, Hotel Management
Thanks! We love our city too!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fayetteville

Horrible

Posted Apr 7, 2018
No towels.. linen or comforter for the extra beds. The room was super small and not the condo I paid for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by T, Hotel Management
Please call us so that we can further investigate what the challenges were. Thank you for taking a moment to let us know, we appreciate you and your business and hope to make this right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alantica resort myrtle beach

Posted Apr 4, 2018
The housekeeper didnt change the linen and they didnt tell us that we had to walk across the street to another hotel also we paid an 85 dollar cleaning fee and a 100 dollar deposit that u dont get back for 5 days..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by T, Hotel Management
We're really sorry you weren't aware of the North and South buildings. We hope that you stay with us again soon and that you call us so we can make sure you have the best accommodations possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Condo on the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Pros: Location, convenience of the condo living - grocery stores nearby!
Cons: Housekeeping could be better.
Location: Very nice vibe in MB! Lots to do and lots to eat. Great beaches with lots of shells. Fun!
The location was fantastic. The condo size was perfect for a family of four. Front desk staff was good about letting us check in early upon arrival at no additional cost and allowed us to check out an our late as well as providing us with a courtesy key to be able to use the pools and facilities/lockers after we checked out. Our condo was well maintained, but not luxurious. Everything worked fine (dishwasher, coffee maker, stove/oven, etc.). There is no daily housekeeping. You need to request additional shampoo, coffee, etc. if you need it, but housekeeping usually left a clean stack of towels on each bed and removed the dirty towels daily. Overall, it was a great place to stay with family!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2018 by T, Hotel Management
Thanks so much! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Location is excellent

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Location and hot tubs
Cons: Outdoor pool could be heated
Location: Boardwalk is very close and there are many restaurants within walking distance
The location is excellent and the staff were very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Stacey B, Hotel Management
Thank you very much! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

- great location, right on the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Pros: - location, location, location
Cons: - owners need to better equip condo, understandably people do steal items, but for those that don't shouldn't have to buy the basics
Location: - could walk to restaurants and/or pubs/bars
- kitchen not well equipped at all -- only 1 fork (took 3 phone calls + 3 visits to front desk to get additional cutlery), no kettle, no cereal bowls, 1 fry pan, 1 dutch oven, no dish rack - only 1 TV (and a tiny one at that) although 2 were listed on website; took 3 days to get TV in bedroom - no broom/dustpan; floors were dirty; rug was not vacuumed once during 8 day stay - couch and chair were dirty and stained - table and chairs although were new, legs almost falling off - overall website details and pictures were misleading - murphy bed in living area was far more comfortable than bed in bedroom; chose to sleep there
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2018 by Stacey B, Hotel Management
We're sorry to hear that you were let down and hope that you'll call and reserve with us in the future. Please mention your previous reservation so we can make sure that we're able to provide the best rates and accommodations available.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff was nice,,,but,,,,,,,,,

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: the view
Cons: clean the rooms
Close to the beach, the room was dirty, the floor was sticky and the room stunk of bug spray and chemicals, the room was nothing like the picture on the web!!!! Very dark and very limited cable channels. Would not stay here again!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Nicole H, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear that you did not have the vacation you deserve. I assure you that we work hard to provide each of our guests with the best vacation possible. When we drop the ball, it is very hard to hear but it gives us a place to continue our training. I hope you give us another chance so we can show you all the changes we are making.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Very Bad Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Rooms was nothing like described, no rags or towels in the room had to go buy my own. Over charged my bank card then gave me the run around just to get a refund or what was charge & it still wasn’t the full amount!! Never again will I stay there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Nicole H, Hotel Management
Dear John, I am very disappointed to hear that we made some mistakes with your trip to the beach. I assure you that we fully stock our units with towels and washcloths and if this wasn't the case then we hope our guests let us know so we can immediately rectify. As for the refund please let us know if this has not been rectified correctly. It is never our intention to overcharge our guests and we will do everything we can to make this right. I hope you give us the opportunity to make this experience up to you and come back to the beach for the trip you should have had this time around.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted Feb 22, 2018
The reception very offhand and take more than 30 minutes to check in . Hallway and elevator was smell very reek, the apartment unclean very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Nicole H, Hotel Management
Dear An, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope that you give us an opportunity to show you all the great changes we are making.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Good experience need more help at building 1 WALKING BACK IN FORTH
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 4, 2018 by Nicole H, Hotel Management
We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will look into getting more help at building one. We hope that you come back again for another great trip to the area.