Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NC

Verify all of the Details

Posted Sep 18, 2015
My wife and I were at the Avista Resort 9/15/15 - 9/17/15. We have stayed there several times, with an ocean view, and overlooking the pool. This time we were given a room with very little ocean view, overlooking a parking lot next door, a trash container with constant activity and noise. We were extremely disappointed.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Nice hotel with a great view and fun pool area.

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Cons: The furniture in our room showed some wear and could use an update.
Location: It is in a great location, everything we wanted to do was close by.
We booked our room with little knowledge of the area,or the property, and were pleased. The room was clean and neat with a great view. The pool, with its indoor and outdoor lazy river, was great. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three Night Stay.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Reported to the front desk that the safe was locked & was unable to use. Also the microwave didn't work. Waited both times in room for some-one to come but after waiting over an hour for each problem, no-one came. You have a maintenance problem at this resort & would not recommend it to my friends..
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great stay at Avista Resort

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Very huge rooms and kept very Clean
Great stay only thing is when you book an Ocean view That's what you feel like you would be receiving but just before you arrive they let you know you only have a side or very small ocean view which can be deceiving .They should let you know once you book that there are different views to the ocean One is Front and one is side view ..Also they should make parking on the same side as the Resort not across the street Besides these things the stay as well as the Resort is Lovely
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but had issues

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Furniture not very comfortable, TV had a blown speaker. While unloading the car the staff insisted they help and followed us to the room expecting a tip. My thought is if I wanted help I would have asked. Furniture didn't seem clean.... Could have had better furniture on the deck rather then cheap plastic lawn chairs. Pool area looked dirty and not well kept. A/C didnt work in our hallway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elon, NC

Bad stay

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing, other than it was on the beach
Cons: Everything can be improved.
Do not stay at this hotel. Very unclean and the staff is not very helpful. Used to be a really good place when it first opened, not any more. Can't take coolers into the pool area, ran out of ice in the vending machines and didn't refill them.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Close to beach, walking distance to main street

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Staff very friendly. Room clean but drab. A few minors repairs needed. Seemed a bit over priced for what I got. It was in walking distance to main street.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newmarket, ON Canada

Great for families looking for quiet down time

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Size of the rooms and the efficiencies. As a family of four on a budget we appreciated the space and the ability to make our own meals.
Cons: More thorough housekeeping service. Upgrade/repair pool facilities (not to ridiculous waterpark style, just re-grout, descale, paint, repair ceiling)
Location: Walk to Mainstreet for small scale carnival style amusements. The beach! Wave riding by day, crabbing by night.
Very spacious. Staff was willing to correct small omissions in a courteous and timely manner (housekeeping could not remember to replace everything each day. One day no facecloths, ran out of toilet paper and kleenex, only had a dedicated bath mat one day out of seven) Loved the quietness of the resort (no drunken yahoos) and the area (30 mins north of the boardwalk in North Myrtle Beach). Place was reasonably clean, but it IS an oceanfront resort so it is well used. Housekeeping only changed linens and vacuumed during the week, they didn't clean the bathroom at all. Kids loved the pools, but they could use some upgrading maintenance from an adult perspective. I would return for the spaciousness, location (quiet), and the price.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, lousy housekeeping

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Cons: Housekeeping wasn't good
The resort is nice, great facilities, relatively clean and friendly staff. Housekeeping was spotty and showed up at different times in the day (sometimes never and other times at 4 or so in the afternoon). Part of taking a vacation is not having to worry about cleaning your place everyday...this wasn't the case with us. Everything else was great. The location is walking distance to Main Street and many amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean?!?! Not so much..

Posted Aug 12, 2015
We "checked in" at 3:30.. So they gave us the room keys that were active to the room and said that they would text us the room when it was finished for cleaning.. Awesome! We went exploring. When we finally got to the room.. There was a "brown" (hoping it to be chocolate) hand print on the wall.. At least 3 holes in the walls and the air vent from the all is sticking out and would easily cut someone. So I called the front desk so I could tell them this stuff.. And the "noted it" so I wouldn't get charged it.. Well.. I didn't get charged at the end of the visit but why didn't we get someone to come clean the room again.. And our fridge ended up not working properly either.. I guess it's our fault for not staying at the #1 resort and staying at the #3 hotel. Guess I learned my lesson. I will never stay here again. Very frustrating!