Ratings based on 2,135 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Enjoyed our short stay we will return next year for a longer visit
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel on beach

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Nice location. Hotel is in need of updating badly. Although the bathroom and kitchen were clean. The dishwasher was rusted and missing a knob. The furniture in the living area was uncomfortable to sit on and stained.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to see that your room did not meet expectations. We have already shared your comments with management and are working to make necessary improvements. Please accept our sincere apologies for your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Very convenient to several attractions

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We had a great time. We would stay again especially in the off season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. We hope you will return for a future stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Check in was SLOW...

Posted Nov 3, 2017
The check in was VERY slow. We had to wait in line for a each person to get the details about every inch of the hotel. There were no sheets for the pull out, just a pillow. The beds were hard. It's a nice enough place for a quick visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
We are terribly sorry to hear that you had such a long check in experience. This feedback will be shared with our management team so we can address the lack of promptness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from myrtle beach , sc

Great ocean view

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The room had a full fridge , stove and microwave . There was s small balcony that overlooked the beach that had a breath taking sunrise view
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with feedback about your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed the kitchen amenities in your room and the beautiful ocean views from your balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nauvoo, Illinois

The hotel was right on the beach

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel was in the middle of all the great things to do in Myrtle Beach. We loved walking the beautiful beach and all the fun things to do.
Cons: It needed a little updating, especially the beds. Also, the second floor of the parking garage seemed to be the place to dump all the trash.
Location: The location was perfect for us. We were able to walk to a lot of things and the beach just can't be beat anywhere - not even Hawaii. It was great.
Loved having the balcony overlooking the swimming pools and beach. We could have lived in the suite. It had everything including kitchen and all the tools for cooking. The part I didn't like was the bed. It was really bad. And we had to park the car on the 10th floor even though there seemed to be plenty of free spots on all the other floors. It takes what seems like a long time just to get the car on the street. Also, they need a new bartender. The one they had was on her phone all the time, even when taking orders.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your recent stay. We are happy you found your room well-appointed and our location convenient. The bartender at the pool bar is actually not employed by us as we lease the pool bar space. We will, however, have a conversation with the company that leases this so they can address the issue of her lack of attentiveness. We are also terribly sorry to hear that your bed was not comfortable. Again, we thank you for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

***BEWARE, READ BEFORE BOOKING***

Posted Oct 18, 2017
ROACHES! We had over 10 of them in our room. This hotel is absolutely filthy. We stayed only 1 night out of 6 and got the heck out. We called Expedia and their relocation department moved us free of charge to Paradise Cove. It was a much better and cleaner hotel. The night manager, James at Camelot needs to be trained more. I had a much longer review planned but it wouldn't let me write it all. Which is a shame. Just beware, this place is filthy and it has ROACHES! Remember, roaches can get in your luggage and travel back with you to your home. They are nearly impossible to get rid of. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. YOU'VE BEEN WARNED! It doesn't look bad from the pics but trust me, it's absolutely disgusting. Both rooms were nasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
We are terribly sorry to hear that you had to cut your stay with us short due to the presence of pests. This is obviously unacceptable and we will work hard to address this issue. Again, we apologize.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Closet doors were falling off and had no handles. Bed linens were stained including stains on pillows. Housekeeping didn't even put blankets back on the bed when cleaning. I had to ask the manager to send up clean linens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm terribly sorry to hear that there were maintenance and cleanliness issues in your room and will share this information with our team. Again, I apologize.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location&oceanfront view. Furniture stained

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Great location is was near Broadway at the Beach and the Boardwalk. The couch and chairs were stained all over, so I couldn’t sit down. New furniture is needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location but are sorry that the furniture in your room was in need of replacement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Overall a good experience. Hotel was nice and clean. Comfortable room, very spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Anna Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know you had a good experience and found our hotel nice and clean and your room spacious. We appreciate your feedback.