Ratings based on 4,181 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Me and my family enjoy the hotel. It was four of us. There was enough of room for us all. We will be staying here again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston , MA

Won't go back again

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Our room was dirty, no privacy at all since it was adjacent to the restaurant terrasse , people taking their drink and steering at you inside you room. Cockroach was climbing the wall in 2 occasions, and bugs as well, not happy with our experience at all :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hickory, nc

Fun But Dated

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pools and kids area are wonderful!! People were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but it felt dated. The fridge had significant rust on the outside of it. Overall we had a GREAT time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Didn't get room that was paid for. They fixed the reservation and gave us a new room that had a dirty cloth in the shower. Large place. Lots of pools but not enough sitting for the amount of people at the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Kelli Howell , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feed back for it helps us to take ownership of our downfalls as we are diligently working to be the best Resort on the Strand. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back to Compass Cove Resort in the future
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the beach, but that's it

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Stayed at this resort Sunday thru Friday in mid July 2017. Resort is directly on the beach but the hotel facility and staff are not what we were accustomed to. Staff was courteous but did not follow through on any requests, even basic necessities like towels. The hotel facility is very run down and dated. Our family has made several trips gulf coast area and had a much better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

1st time there & would go back

Posted Jul 23, 2017
A very busy place and I can see why. A must for families with a great kids atmosphere for infants on up. Large variety of pools for everyone, lots of seating and lounge chairs, and of course it's right on the beach!! All in all a very pleasant stay for a family of six adults with one infant in one of their 3 bdrm condo's.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Basic hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Positives Room was clean and convenient with all the required amenities. Kitchenette in the room was convenient. Fresh towels were replaced every day. Closer to the beach. A number of pools for all ages. Negatives Check-in was slow. They couldn't find my Expedia reservation for a long time. The hallways had uncollected trash from every room. A/C units blew hot air onto the hallway, making it unbearably hot in the summer. Hallways have a rundown appearance. Be prepared to wait a long time for an elevator. It took a long time to get front desk on the phone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Never staying here again

Posted Jul 11, 2017
First of all, the person checking us in was rude and abrupt. She told me to be quiet so she could finish her information. The room was on the ground floor with a view of the public beach access, so we couldn't open the curtain without people looking in. If you strained your neck really hard, you could see just a small sliver of the ocean. The room had a horrible smell and it was dirty and mildewy. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. We had an emergency and had to leave, but the hotel did give us a refund for the second night. That was the best part. Other parts of the hotel may have been nicer, but we will never stay there again. I don't like to write bad reviews but I think people should know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facilities

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Only problem was getting in abd out of the restaurant for breakfast not enough help to seat and take check. Only one person doing it all. Great stay. Bed a little old but we love Compass Cove have stayed there every year since 2011
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location on the beach was good.
Cons: Management of hotel. Get more housekeeping staff. Clean the corridors. Upkeep of the rooms.
Hotel room was old and bathroom moldy. The rooms were not cleaned daily. Getting clean towels was a challenge, on one of the days it took 4 calls to the front desk, between 2pm and 7pm and finally a trip to the front desk and a talk with a manager about getting clean towels. Location of hotel was good and beach experience was good. The lazy river pool had mold on the inside part of the walls, ALL over. Will never go back and don't recommend it to others.