Ratings based on 4,138 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great resort on the Beach!

Posted May 27, 2017
My family enjoyed our stay at Compass Cove. We had no idea it was 'Bike Weekend' during the latter part of our stay. So traffic was challenging to say the least at times. But luckily for us, there were plenty of things to do on the property without leaving which was awesome. 2 water slides, 2 indoor pools, several outdoor pools, hot tubs, giant chess snd checkers games. We even took advantage of their free DvD rentals. You could rent one dvd at a time from their redbox-like kiosks. I noticed you got the most selection of movies in the morning and midday. If you tried in the afternoon or night, all of the new/popular movies were gone. They have 2 restaurants, a Tiki hut snack bar, and a mini Starbucks on site. We only tried the food at the Crowe's Nest and it was decent. I was not impressed with the over priced, watered down adult drinks. Overall, we definitely enjoyed stay and would come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a good price.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: It was convenient to get in and out of from the parking lot. The facility itself was nice and clean.
We felt the staff was mostly helpful and friendly. I did ask to use a conference room in the early a.m. hours where I could do my watercolor painting--while my wife and family slept upstairs in our room. But I was told it wasn't available due to meetings with bikers. Maybe it wasn't, but I really didn't think they staff and person making the decision, really wanted to be bothered with me. So, I painted each morning in the laundry room with good lighting. The accommodations could use some updating but overall we enjoyed our stay. Not sure we'll make it back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

This hotel has the nicest beach in the area.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: We like the room location we have had for the last two vacations. I like that there isn't partying going on late into the night. We love the pools.
Cons: Clean the bathroom. Make the sliding glass doors nicer and cleaner.
Location: We tried Broadway at the Beach, but most everything was horribly expensive. we like the Skywheel and the boardwalk near it. Angus steakhouse is great.
We stayed in this hotel in May...before the summer visitors. So the beach was clean, it was not busy and the hotel has an excellent access to the beach. Staff is nice and helpful. There is a free shuttle back and forth to the airport (which is only a few minutes away). Compass Cove is a family hotel so the Tikki Hut (food and drink and free water all day) closes at 7:00pm (in May). The outside swimming pools and area around them is excellent. It's clean and there are plenty of places for the sun and the shade lovers alike. There is one lovely restaurant for breakfast and brunch only. The buffet is wonderful there. The other restaurant is not fancy but I thought the food was good. This hotel, like all of the hotels facing the ocean, is older and shows it's wear. The bathroom was not so good. Tub, sink, fixtures need a good cleaning and there is dirt build-up in the corners. We stayed in one of the cabana rooms which actually sit closer to the beach and to the action. We requested the same rooms we had last year because it is so convenient for our granddaughter going back and forth between rooms and to the pools. For the price (in May) we really like it. The weather has been perfect both times. We will return next year for our week at the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston, south carolina

loved the pools, too many bugs in room

Posted May 18, 2017
My 4 year old loved the pools and lazy river. They needed to be cleaned on Tuesday. Room seemed nice until roaches came out. We killed over 10. Two were in my hair when I woke up, all around kitchen, lots in the bathroom. My daughter is still talking about them. :/ if the bug problem is fixed we would return. My entire family stays here, usually.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

You never have to leave

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Oceanfront balcony, all the water amenities, convenience to the airport
Cons: Have an area for adults only (hot tubs); update the rooms
Location: can walk to stores, we drove to boardwalk, few minutes from airport
Once you check in, you never have to leave with the Ocean steps from the door, 22 water amenities, hot tubs, 2 restaurants and more all on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Great place to stay.

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendly staff and restaurant.
Cons: Maybe parking.
Location: South Ocean Blvd. Most anything the beach has to offer was within a few minutes drive.
This place is superb. Something for everyone. Restaurant and grill with outside terrace is outstanding and relaxing. Actually walked off the terrace and left my debit card on the table. The staff found it and contacted my room immediately . This could have been a disaster but because of the honest staff, all is well. Will definitely book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
This hotel is right on the beach which is awesome and there is plenty to do in and around the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice hotel. Nice spot on beach. Friendly staff. Co

Posted May 10, 2017
Very happy. Would stay there again.Comfortable room. Good food in restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Statesville, NC

Nice enough hotel on the beach.

Posted May 10, 2017
Of course being on the beach always makes things seem better, but I would stay there again. Our room was clean. There was a coffee maker but no coffee. No big deal. Beds were comfortable. Nice ocean view. Close to everything you need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

It was okay

Posted May 10, 2017
Just like I like to meet people for myself before giving an opinion on them, I felt the same about this place. I read reviews and some were good, but some were not so good. So I took a chance and stayed. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. I found food in the fridge, the balcony door was broken and the only tissue available in the bathroom was a used roll left from the previous guest. I really don't like writing bad reviews, but I was disappointed. Next time I will pay more attention to reviews and I hope someone pays attention to mine.