Ratings based on 686 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Avg. hotel not close to the beach

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: not much
Cons: i would not of stayed there if i new it was under construction
Location: not close to the beach, right off the highway
most of the hotel was closed due to construction, it seemed most of the guests staying there were the construction workers working on the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunately

Posted Feb 7, 2017
First appearced showed mattress in the window. Construction work next to the main entrance. Bed had long rail sticking out from the the bed which i hit my leg on but did not report to the manager. Cost was ridiculous and hotel not valued for the stay. Construction workers started working early in the morning walking me up early. Not a good stay.hotel price should have been reduced !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Wanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently under a renovation of the guest rooms and I understand upon arrival seeing the construction trailers was not a great appearance. I hope you will come back and see all the upgraded rooms and give us a chance to show you all the improvements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good service, not very clean

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The desk people were very personable and were very helpful
Cons: The first room was not that clean. The carpet was badly stained (looked like red throwup in multiple spots) and was not comfortable walking around on it. The second room had no shower curtain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Online Customer Support, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry to see that you had issues with your guest room. I have addressed these issues with our Housekeeping Staff to ensure that we are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. I thank you for your input.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was not good, desk claimed I had called and changed my stay dates, I had not.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Unimpressive off the beach hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff including the employee that checked me in and the night manager were very nice and accommodating. The praise stops there!
Cons: New cleaning procedures and quality control from management is a must. For a hotel that is off of the beach, you must improve your standards.
Location: Near a Bob Evan's and the highway. There is a bar next door that never had any cars in the parking lot. A straight drive to the beach.
I arrived on the Saturday before labor day with my family. We arrived close to an hour early and the hotel had the room available with no problem. I already knew the prices were jacked high for the holiday weekend and I had no problem with how much I was paying; however the quality of the room and the common areas were a 1/2 star at best. The lobby was old, dated, and uninviting and the elevator was slow and made noise from one floor to the next. The pool was dirty or needed to be resurfaced and only 1/4 of jets on the hot tub were working and it did not get hot. There was mold all along the edges of the pool room along with garbage strewn about. The room: Please see the pics I posted to show the condition of the room. The furniture was dated and in need of cleaning and repair. The lamp shade was torn, there were numerous stains on the floor, the vent cover in the bedroom was broken, the bathtub was dirty, the cleaning fan was caked with dirt, there was a previous guest garbage left under the side table including a dental floss pick. The manager made it clear that they were sold out so there was no need to request to move. They did not provide sheets for the pull out bed and on our second day they neglected to bring towels and wash cloths. There is a sign when you first walk in indicating a future renovation. An old hotel is one thing; an old hotel that is dusty, dirty, moldy, and neglected is a completely different story. I would never stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by Lori Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We have reviewed the photographs that you provided and we are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and Maintenance staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winston salme

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Our room was dirty and I had to change my own room bedding cause it looked it wasn't change from the last guest that stay in the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Lori Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am very sorry to see that you had issues with your guest room. I have addressed these issues with our Housekeeping Staff to ensure that we are up to Country Inn & Suites standards. I thank you for your input.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lexington sc

mytrle beach daze

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
not the same as most country inns. breakfast was not good. fire alarm went off for 10 min.carpet coming up in hall way
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us and giving us your feedback. I am sorry to see that you experienced issues with your stay. I would like to get some additional information from you about the issues you experienced. Please contact me at your convenience. Either way I want you to feel your concerns have been heard and I appreciate you taking the time to give us your input.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thomasville NC

Nice hotel short drive to the beach.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Room enough for my family to spread out.
Cons: Couldn't change the thermostat, room was a little warm.
Location: Easy access to the beach.
Enjoyed our stay, good space for the money. Enjoyed having the space to spread out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Lori Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for your input. Most of our guests will agree that for the little extra cost, the suites are the best value. The extra living room area is a nice place to relax after a fun filled day in Myrtle Beach. I wish you would have mentioned to the Front Desk Attendant that you were having issues with your thermostat as we would have been happy to assist you. I thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Nice ,convenient to attraction

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel was clean but the immediate surroundings are not attractive and thete is not a lot of parking. The hotel itself is nice. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Close to attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Lori Beth, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.