Ratings based on 1,143 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great for families

Posted Aug 31, 2017
If you have young kids, this is a great place to stay. There are indoor and outdoor pools, the lazy river, water slides, and a full blown water park attached. Kitchen in the room was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Everything we needed xcept a safe. Many activities on-site for young and old. Pleasant atmosphere, quiet at night, a lot going on, beach access was right there. We enjoyed the whole affair. Parking was perfect. In our judgement it was the best location for us in Myrtle Beach. It may sound a little to good to be true but keep in mind a lot of people roll through there but still an ideal place for people with children on a budget. We were not disappointed. Would go again tomorrow. Kinda cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Great place to stay with kids right on the beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
My family and I stayed at the resort in August. We had a wonderful time. The lazy river would get a little cramped, kids swimming without tubes would be pushing through the people on tubes. That would be my only complaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice and relax for good vacations With friends and family
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maryland

Joe's Apartment

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Orbitz
If you don't mind roaches invading your space this is the place for you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

This is NOT a 4 Star hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The waterpark
Cons: Renovate the rooms and
Location: Family Kingdom is a short drive down Ocean blvd. Very nice rides and lots for kids to do. Too far of a walk from the hotel. Parking rates are $7.
First check in is across the street, didnt know that. If you book thru expedia you have to pay for parking. Once you unload you come to a room that does not resemble the pictures. The bedroom portion is what you see first (no closet door). The kitchen area is in center and it looks like it was updated but the bathroom was small and tight and the exhaust fans in the bathroom did nothing so their is no air in the bathrooms. After the kitchen area there is a living room area and balcony. Everything was mediocre. So not a 4 star. At night when we slept we could hear people in and out their rooms (slamming doors). The tub wouldnt drain. Took maintenance forever to get there, had to call repeatedly. The only thing good about our stay was the waterpark and beach. The only things Crown Reef did right. The hotel towels are small so bring your own. There is also a good restaurant right above the pool which is convenient. There is also a ice cream shop there next to the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

The Kitchenette is a Nice Touch

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: The elevator in the north tower
Location: There is parasailing and other water activities. Plus go to the Boardwalk, and you will find restaurants, shops, and things to do in that area.
We were pleased with our stay at the Crown Reef. We got a Double Room with two queen beds and a kitchenette for three nights. It's an oceanfront room, but I believe all the rooms are oceanfront due to the design of the three towers. I'm fairly sure everyone has a balcony. A large pool is behind the north tower, tower 1, a lazy river is behind tower 2, and the waterpark slides are behind tower 3. There are several pools and numerous jacuzzis. There are just too many pools to count. The kitchenette was special, as it had a full-size fridge and oven, as well as a sink, dish drainer, microwave, and coffeemaker. There were a few pots, a glass oven dish and a few large utensils for baking, and silverware, bowls, mugs, glasses, and plates for 4. There were a few negatives. The safe didn't work, even though we especially asked for a room in a tower with a safe. There was a urine smell, but I expect this would be an isolated incident and not the hotel's fault. (We did not mention it during our stay, and told them when we left.) The elevator in the north tower was a bit frustrating. It was slow and passed us by many times. There was one time that I counted it passed us five times. But none of these things would keep us from going again at the price we paid. We got a great deal for $169 / night + resort fees. Someone else in our tower told us that he paid $310 / night. I don't think he was happy to hear what we paid. We would go there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We pay 3 nights, but only stay 2 because the room it wasn't clean at the secund day. It was all mess and dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nc

Pool towels and room tubs

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We upgraded to the spa tub room. This was just a tub with jets and only half worked. Tub an inch from toilet in a tiny closet. Not romantic at all. So we woke up before the thousands of kids were in the pool and went searching for one of 11 sos tubs on site. Found one and enjoyed it till we wanted a towel. BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS!!!!! They make you sign out and sign in pool towels. Standing there shivering while she fills out a book then a slip of paper you have to hang onto while you swim. Says everything about thier patrons to be that worried about blue stripped hand towels. That BIG annoyance is enough to choose another resort. Even balconies suck here. The ac blows hot air onto the balcony. You get like a foot of space where the machines air doesn't suck the life outa your lungs. If you aren't here for children it's a waste of money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels