Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Heat system didn't work, they had to switch out the unit. We left the room early when we got back late that evening the door had been left open apparently by house keeping or whomever, when we reported to the office the didn't seem concerned at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

Good report, price/quality.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Very good location and staff always ready to help.
Cons: Quality of the fridge that they changed twice in 3 days. Cooking stove in poor condition. Cleanliness to improve.
Location: On the beach, and very good choice of restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mi

Very clean, and a very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The rooms were clean and well cared for. Had an excellent view and a very efficient and friendly staff. Nice pools and lazy river. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Got exactly what we paid for

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Pros: The grounds were great! The pools were fabulous and the lounge area by the beach were fabulous. The room was just a room, very standard budget hotel. If you don't plan on spending any time in the room, this hotel is perfect!
Cons: The rooms are very very basic, which is absolutely fine for the price.
Location: Location couldn't have been better. Easy to walk everywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 10, 2016
There was 4 of us for a ladies weekend getaway, the room was perfect for a short stay and the beds were very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from US

Good for the price

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Location: The location was great. Only a short walk to the boardwalk and haunted house. Central to shopping and dining.
The room was across the street from the beach so it was one of the lower rate rooms. The hotel lobby was a little confusing to find. The room itself was clean but older and the dishes in the room had to be washed before and after use. Overall it was a good room for the rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely hotel and stay but rude night clerk

Posted Nov 5, 2016
I always loved coming to the Dayton House as a child. However the very negative experience I had with the night clerk will cause me to not go back again. The hotel grounds and rooms are well kept. I always felt safe and the views were great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
It's Ok for a place to sleep but very dated and needs a lot of refurbishment . The staff were great at reception and inviting .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ypsilanti, United States of America

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: I liked that parking was close, we had a refrigerator, stove, and table as well as a balcony. It was not new but clean and comfortable.
Cons: That there was no instruction on how to get into the building, where to get ice, or vending machines. No first floor and it is not explained.
Location: We only had to cross the street to get to the ocean. Everything was nearby. But there was no parking on Ocean Front so we had to walk everywhere.
it was a disappointment at first. Hotel should have briefed us on the appearance. We are older ladies and was not interested in walking so this proved to be the best choice for us because we could park our car closer to the hotel than any of Dayton House buildings. But we could not find a door to go in because entrance to the building is an elevator. It is Ok because we could drive our car up to the door of the elevator and unload the car into the elevator. But we only discovered this after walking around the building 2 times (not liking the walk and exhausting ourselves). However the room was clean and for the price was wonderful. We ate most our meals at Joey's and again our building was the closest of the 3 buildings. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This was the greatest stress reliever

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The view in the morning and the peaceful way of the water
Cons: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Location: We were close to restaurants and malls
The room was perfect and made us completely relaxed To wake up to the sun rise was just beautiful