Ratings based on 2,234 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Red Springs NC

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Our stay was wonderful, enjoyed every minute of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love it

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Of course the water park for the kids, but the rooms are great also.
Cons: I would suggest a heated foot bridge between towers so you don't get cold in the winter when wet.
Overall I love this hotel, have stayed there several times.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
If I could give this hotel negative stars, I would! My family & I were absolutely appalled by the condition of this hotel. As soon as we stepped into the room, there was an odor coming from it. My husband went into the bathroom & saw there was mold in the bathroom & by the patio doors as well. He called the front desk to complain & they "upgraded" us. The 2nd room was just as bad, just as dirty & same situation w/the mold. He even took pictures. We spent our first day there going back & forth on the idea of cancelling our stay with them and booking at a better hotel. The staff told us they wouldn't be able to refund us since we booked through Expedia. When my husband called Expedia, they told us to open a case upon our return which we did & only to be denied BY Dunes so I feel like they lied to us. I would have much rather cancelled my reservation & found another hotel. That's not even the worst of it. My 1 year old toddler got sick & I couldn't even fathom putting her in the "crib" the hotel provided. It was a playpen that was absolutely FILTHY! It had stains of what appeared to be vomit & old milk. I asked for another one & they said they didn't have any more. My husband brought his iPad with him due to work related responsibilities & their WiFi wasn't working either. And the cherry on the sundae was a note that was left in the elevator of a prank caller trying to deceive guests in giving him their credit card #'s. We were targeted on our last night by a 7:20 am phone call.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisa va

It’s just ok

Posted Jan 8, 2018
So I went to the beach during record cold but a few things about the hotel interested me. First off I paid a very fair rate for my room which affects my review because had I paid summer prices I would have been very upset. The good things were that the view from the room was stunning. I had a balcony overlooking the water and it was amazing. The hotel was in a decent area and had a good sized parking garage across the street. The bad... the lobby was very shabby. It had broken tiles and there was only one person booking guests so we had to wait. The room was not dirty but seriously outdated. The kitchen was very small and the bathroom tiles were cracked. The shower would not drain properly as the plug would not stay in the up position. The towels were a joke. They were thin and not soft. I guess generally this hotel needs a repair man to go through the rooms and fix the problems. The walls are thin and due to the indoor water park there are a lot of children in the hotel. Our next door neighbors were quite loud one night and we could hear them like they were in our room. So this hotel is just ok. If you are paying the massive summer prices you may want to shop around. For the very discounted off season prices I stayed and was not uncomfortable just disappointed for a hotel on the ocean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel horrible linens.

Posted Jan 2, 2018
For what you pay a night, I would think they would take pride in the linens they have. Felt like I was sleeping on sand paper. I called three times to ask for different sheets, finally at 8 pm a lady brings me sheets, which were wrong size and she got mad at me, because she mixed up then laughed at me when I asked if I could have a comforter that wasn’t so rough like sandpaper, and looked like it had been there for years of wear and tear. Management also did nothing. Don’t know if I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Nice hotel friendly staff I will recommend to a friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Clean hotel with all amenities for kids to enjoy. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, Sc

Awesome service

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Had some minor issues with our room. The manager immediately upgraded us to a comfortable suite to accomodate the rest of the stay. The staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean. I loved that thos hotel was so kid friendly and accomodating. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville SC

Ocean view room

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Ocean view room is great as long as you get a floor high enough up. Otherwise the view is Interupted by a playground. The hotel staff put us in a higher floor room at an additional cost to resolve that problem. We didn’t go with kids do we wanted a more relaxing view. The hot tub also had kids splashing and playing around in it when we were trying to relax and that wasn’t enjoyable. In defense of the hotel though it is designed for families and not so much for couples looking for a child Free quiet and relaxing zone. The room was great! Hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby, a nice restaurant and bar as well. Staff was super friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Great family friendly place. Amazing ocean view! The place to be at!